We’re here to get you what you need.
Shop online for pickup or delivery, or visit a store for a safe shopping and service experience.Learn more

Customer Reviews

Acer Nitro 5 15.6" Gaming Laptop - Black (Intel Core i5-9300H/512GB SSD/8GB RAM/NVIDIA GTX 1650)

Rating Breakdown

5

10

4

6

3

2

2

1

1

9

Reviewer Recommendation

46%

Of the 28 reviewers who responded, 13 would recommend this product.

Sort

  • Excellent for gaming Bad Battery Life
    Reviewed by  - August 29, 2020

    This laptop is excellent for gaming. However the battery life is not as advertised. It is advertised as 8 hours, but when using it on battery I get 1 hour to 1:30 hour of battery life when gaming and 2 to 2 and a half hour when browsing the web. The GPU is really good (GTX 1650), but consumes a lot of power. The battery needs to be more larger in future models, otherwise newer laptops are going to have worst battery life. Otherwise everything is great. The display is stunning, the speaker is loud enough, and the keyboard depth is just right. This is suitable for my needs in programming and gaming.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (35)

    Not helpful (27)

    Report

  • Works well
    Reviewed by  - August 29, 2020

    Used the laptop only for a couple weeks so far but seems to do everything we wanted it to do for browsing, gaming, streaming and video conferencing.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (23)

    Not helpful (5)

    Report

  • Acer Nitro 5 15.6" Gaming Laptop - Black (Intel
    Reviewed by  - August 9, 2020

    Bought this for my son's birthday and he couldn't be more happier. Works great. Would highly recommend the purchase.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (66)

    Not helpful (25)

    Report

  • Poor build quality
    Reviewed by  - December 16, 2020

    As stated previously the hinges are poorly designed and as a result the the back of the screen case will inevitably crack/break. Computer is randomly shutting down requiring a hard boot to restart. Acer used to be decent quality but not any more.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (5)

    Not helpful (1)

    Report

  • Horrid build quality - intentionally so
    Reviewed by  - October 16, 2020

    Hinges in the ACER Nitro 5 series - every model - are not screwed to the frame. When they inevitably break and force your laptop lid open on every open/close, the damage is not covered by warranty. Acer is well aware of this problem, which is why they don't cover it. In addition, more than half of these laptops' mousepads are DOA. Absolutely atrocious build quality. No Nitro 5 is worth even half the sticker price.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (15)

    Not helpful (21)

    Report

  • Great buy!
    Reviewed by  - October 7, 2020

    Performs exceptionally at this price point. Way smoother than my previous computers. If you are going to run a lot of software at the same time, I recommend upgrading the ram to 16-32 gb.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (8)

    Not helpful (7)

    Report

  • Garbage
    Reviewed by  - October 3, 2020

    All the reviews of this laptop are from acer company. This laptop preforms worse than my family’s 12 year old Mac. Even when gaming. There is soooooo many issues happening every second. Suddenly your headphones disconnect or your fan is going at an insane speed. 100% get a desktop instead. 0 / 5 stars

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (11)

    Not helpful (26)

    Report

  • Great Product
    Reviewed by  - January 12, 2021

    Received exactly what I expected. Great build quality, easy to upgrade, and shipped very quickly. Very impressed.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (1)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Not worth it
    Reviewed by  - January 19, 2021

    So I bought this piece of work about 2 years ago. I got suspicious right when I started it and it took A LONG time to load, a good 15-20 mins. I shrugged it off, perhaps it did it since it's new. Well, that didn't improve. You need to access a file really quick on it after you turned it on? Too bad, it will take another 15 minutes. And god forbid you want to open a task manager to end the agony, it will take you another 15 mins. Any interaction takes way too long. It says that it's a gaming laptop which is somewhat true. You can run basic games on it but anything on a heavier side will give you lag. I purchased it to be able to work with Adobe suit software and you might guess how well this laptop handles it. Any photoshop file larger than a gig will slow down the laptop to the point when you just can't work with it anymore because every stroke takes a solid minute to load. On top of that it randomly shuts down and reboots. Battery life is much shorter than described. So unless you're planning on using solely microsoft exel and word and maybe play a game of solitaire I strongly do not recommend getting this machine. I got lured by a cheap price and decent specs but unfortunately, a stingy person pays twice.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (0)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Will last Max 12 months
    Reviewed by  - November 13, 2020

    Owned this for 6 months and did nothing but play 5 games from 2013 -2016 and the thing is completely useless. Task Manager freezes then hard shuts down. If you have any intention of using this for anything more then Notepad you're absolutely wasting your money and it is not as advertised.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (7)

    Not helpful (19)

    Report