Reviews

Acer Nitro 5 15.6" Gaming Laptop -Black/Red (Intel Core i5-8300H/1TB HDD/256GB SSD/8GB RAM/GTX 1060)


Sort

  • Read this review before buying.
    by

    from Toronto on July 25, 2019

    For the price its a phenomenal value. Only problem is you need to disable turbo boost for the cpu because it thermal throttles. But other than that, it runs every modern AAA game at great frames and high settings as well as being VR ready. The 144HZ is a lovely touch too.


  • Great one but LACK in cpu
    by

    from Mars on June 27, 2019

    Graphics Card is great, but it’s 2019 now and you have better choice of GTX 1660 or 1660ti, or even RX 590; CPU is great but it’s 2019 now and you have better choice of i7 8700 or even i5 8400; Lack in memory, I add an 8 gigabytes one; SSD is fast but not quite fast enough. Generally it worths its price. I use it fairly well. If you have enough money, go and buy 1660ti or 2060; it’s the best in this price.


  • :)
    by

    from Mississauga on June 21, 2019

    The laptop is really really good. Its very cheap for the specs that it has. Very happy with it


  • Good Laptop
    by

    from Ontario on May 25, 2019

    I purchased this on sale, and I earnestly think this laptop has the best specs for the price. A GTX 1060 in a laptop this cheap is rare. I also appreciated having both the SSD and the HDD as it gave quick boot up times along with lots of storage. 144Hz screen is also nice (although good luck trying to get a consistent 144fps in games, as that's rare.) Cons: -Track pad feels cheaper than other laptop's I've used in this price range, like the Acer Swift 3. -Like most gaming laptops, it's quite heavy and bulky -Not quite as powerful as I expected. I figured the GTX1060 would get a consistent 120fps in Fortnite, but that isnt the case (even on low settings). I can get a consistent 60fps on high settings however. -No Touch Id, which is unimportant but would have been nice. Overall, this is a good laptop and I'd recommend it.


  • Gaming on the Acer nitro 5
    by

    from America on May 19, 2019

    What FPS do you get on fortnite and what settings


  • avoid best buy laptops and service with all cost!!!
    by

    from vancouver granville on May 18, 2019

    i bought a smiliar product from best buy last year and paid 1200 for acer gaming laptop. I had issue with the hard drive and it failed on me so I had to replace it with a SSD. I bought Geek Squad service and paid 200+ for the serive so they can replace the SSD. That was May, 2018. Later in June, I bought a new and most advanced gaming laptop from Costco. I started using it everyday. I have only used the one I got from best buy for about 5 times in the past year. However, in April, this year, I could not turn on the computer so I brought it in and asked Geek Squad to check the problem. It was so disappointing. They told me that the mother board had issue and needed to be replace for 400 dollar. Yet there was no part for it!!!! basically, best service sucks ! the prodcut sucks! it is the worst experience ever! I will never ever buy anything major from best buy!!! customers be ware


  • FPS
    by

    from India on May 16, 2019

    How much FPS on fortnite and what setting


  • Good bang for the buck
    by

    from Ottawa on May 13, 2019

    Have been in the market for a new laptop for a while and this one is actually a great deal and should for the most part be future proof to an extent due to the GTX 1060 (got it @ 1199 on sale). The basic Nitro 5 had a pretty bad display, this one seems to be using the same 144hz display as the Acer Predator Helios so quite a good upgrade ~85% sRGP.


  • Acer nitro 5
    by

    from Medicine Hat on May 7, 2019

    Great computer , fast powerful and got 300 off of it...shipped here fast ss well...definately revommend. 5 stars


  • Terrible customer services and bad quality
    by

    from Montreal on May 4, 2019

    I bought this model on sell and I was trapped by an Internet connection issue. I called the customer services, waiting 30 min , and they told me: if I don’t have Internet with Microsoft Edge, I should call Microsoft because it is their product. Terrible attitude! I bought a brand new laptop, it has a problem, and they are telling me to solve it myself? A brand new product is supposed to help me, not get me into more trouble like this??? And their staffs are terrible. Never buy it again