Reviews

Acer Spin 5 13.3" 2-in-1 Laptop - Silver (Intel Core i5-8250U / 256GB SSD/ 8GB RAM / Windows 10)


Sort

  • Acer Spin 5
    by

    from Ontario on July 11, 2019

    I love the size, speed, weight and simplicity of design of my new Spin 5. There are no negatives (yet??? lol)


  • So Far So Good
    by

    from Alberta, Canada on June 7, 2019

    So far I'm impressed with the speed and capacity. Found a couple little things that I don't like eg. printing info to a PDF file but once I get used to it and learn more about it, everything should be good.


  • Excellent Laptop for Students
    by

    from Winnipeg, MB on May 11, 2019

    Honest review of this laptop. This laptop is excellent for students who are in school or needing a laptop for school. The laptop is lightweight and easy to carry around in a small backpack since this laptop is 13.3". The laptop holds up pretty well in my first year in university. Majority, I used this laptop for browsing the web, watching Youtube videos in general and, working on assignments/taking notes, using Microsoft Office applications like Word, Outlook, OneNote, etc. The battery life is good, you can get a good 8-10 hours, depending on what you are using the laptop for. Acer says" this laptop can last up to 13 hours in battery life" but I don't think that is the case. The IPS screen display is excellent, audio is good, touchscreen feature is great and, the light up keyboard is a plus. I have not tried this laptop out for gaming but, looking at the specs, this Acer Spin 5 can only handle the light stuff, so don't expect anything too crazy. The main selling point of this laptop is the 2-in-1 feature. This laptop can be converted into a tablet and does come with a Stylus Pen that Acer makes/provides. I rarely use this laptop to covert into tablet mode or in display mode.The only complaint I have with this laptop is the low storage of 256 GB of SSD (Solid State Drive). I got this laptop on sale, for a premium price tag laptop I would expect at least 500 GB of SSD, I guess that is the standard GB for most 2-in-1 laptops in the market these days. I would recommend to get a external hard drive if you care about GB storage. Last of all, the noise in this laptop for me is not a problem and, I have not encountered loud fan noise running consistently yet. There have been some reviews that the fan can be very noisy but, for me in my 1 year of using this laptop, it has been all but quiet so far. The only time I heard the fan noise crystal clear, is when I was updating Windows 10 & updating the drivers for this laptop. Overall this laptop is a buy but, I strongly recommend to get this laptop on sale, not full price.


  • Bad
    by

    from London, ON on April 5, 2019

    I used and It smell like butthooooooo.


  • Good laptop with a few issues
    by

    from Cambridge, ON on March 3, 2019

    I have had this laptop for 5 days. I got this laptop because my old laptop was slow. This laptop has been great so far Pros: - Sturdy metal build - Thin and light - Touchscreen - Quad core i5 processor - Backlit keyboard - Included stylus works great - Good fingerprint reader - Loud speakers - 2 in 1 function - Great screen - Decent battery life (I leave the house at 7:10 am at 99%, I lightly use the computer for google docs (2 hours), watching 1080p YouTube videos (30 min) , surfing the web with chrome (1 hour), playing light games like GTA SA (30 min). I use the battery saver mode and keep my brightness at the lowest and I come back home at 3 pm, with 64-67% battery left. Cons: - Some bloatware (Wild tangent) - Fans are very loud during setup. I had the laptop plugged in when I first set it up, and the device got very hot and put its fans on full blast. When you are unplugged and are on battery saver, this isn't an issue. You could use XTU and NoteBook FanControl if its a big issue for you. - Hinge is a bit more loose than I'd like - Sometimes the backspace key has weird click sound and feel when you press it. May just be my model.


  • Good laptop
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on January 22, 2019

    I owned 4 Dell laptops but switched to the Acer spin 5 because of its specs and value. It's an excellent machine. I've used it for a year and my wife has used her's for 9 months. We're both very happy. Pros: speed, stability, battery life, multiple types of ports, format versatility, slim and light styling, smart touch pad, soft-touch keyboard, and excellent VALUE Cons: only one ... the goofy cluttered bilingual keyboard which there seems to be no way around in Canada. I have never been so satisfied with a laptop, ever.


  • Best laptop I've ever purchased
    by

    from Toronto, ON on January 12, 2019

    It's been over a year since I bought this laptop and its never let me down. My laptop hasn't died once yet, which is amazing for a uni student with long workdays. Super fast, I have it connected to multiple displays at home and it can multitask with ease. The pen is amazing, I use it to take notes for all my classes now.


  • Loud Fan Noise
    by

    from Oakville, ON on January 10, 2019

    Recently purchased this unit and will return immediately. If you are sensitive to noise you will not appreciate the loud fan noise and the heat from the battery. As soon as I connected the laptop for the first time less than 10 minutes in the fan came on at max speed and the unit heated quickly. Too bad, I really liked what this unit had to offer. Deal breaker for me.


  • Awesome for School
    by

    from Saskatoon, SK on December 12, 2018

    Bought this laptop for university and so far its been great. Battery life is amazing, 10 hours of use (on best battery life setting, 50% brightness) without a problem. The 2 in 1 feature is really nice to have, works great with OneNote. Pen tracking when taking notes isn't like the apple pencil but it still does an awesome job. Great for doing practice problems or highlighting eText's. Overall an awesome product.


  • Great laptop, IDEAL for students.
    by

    from Guelph, ON on December 2, 2018

    Bought this laptop a week ago, haven't had any issues whatsoever and I love it. Great keyboard and speakers, very fast. I have used it extensively for schoolwork since purchasing and I have had no issues with overheating or the fan being loud. Its lightweight and great for on the go, would definitely recommend, especially for students.