Reviews

ASUS 14" Laptop - Star Grey (Intel Celeron N4000/64GB eMMC/4GB RAM/Windows 10 S) - English - Only at Best Buy


Sort

  • Best thing ever
    by

    from Fonthill on January 23, 2020

    This is the best laptop I have ever had it's good for doing school work on it or playing games or watching YouTube it loads fast buy it.


  • Better then expected
    by

    from Montreal on December 31, 2019

    This was a really Good buy. Although I will say it depends why you need a computer, if it’s just for school minor tasks even YouTube videos this will get the job done and it itle get it done good


  • Great Laptop
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on December 19, 2019

    Lightweight. Well built. Fast. Perfect size. It's a great companion on the road. Very happy with it!


  • Limited use
    by

    from Ottawa on December 14, 2019

    There are many restrictions to what software can be used with this notebook.


  • GRRREEEAAAT!!!!
    by

    from Vancouver on November 26, 2019

    powerful fast and reliable... all major functions provided, served every aspect of relevant use beautifully.


  • Effective Small Laptop with Long Battery Life
    by

    from  on September 27, 2019

    I bought this because I needed a portable laptop with long battery life. I was using a more powerful laptop which would only last 90 minutes with significant use and 3 hours with light use. This one will go 10 hours with light use and at least 6 with heavy use. The laptop will slow down with heavier programs but I stick to Windows Store apps and stay in S mode. That preserves battery life and Windows Store apps work quite nicely with this level of processor. Security is very strong as only Windows store apps can install and the machine supports Core Isolation. TPM,Data Execution Prevention and Randomized Memory. All in all,this laptop would be a very tough nut to crack from a security standpoint. Speed of operation is reasonable for Office and Productivity apps. The Edge browser can be slower at times but improves over time. The laptop supported the 256 Micro SD card and I can store my OneDrive files locally and move major apps to the second drive. 64GB is limited for the the main drive but with between moving OneDrive to the Micro SD card and moving non system apps as well,the eMMC drive has enough room for the system. Expect that the system will be slow until it does all of the Windows updates and installs all of the key apps. Day 2 and 3 will be much better. Summing up - for basic productivity,portability,security and battery life,this is a great buy. Just delete all of the games and stick to S Mode and Wndows Store apps.


  • Really Good
    by

    from 3 on July 22, 2019

    This laptop is very good for it's price. You should buy it.


  • its a cheap beauty
    by

    from Vancouver on June 25, 2019

    I read some of the other reviews for this laptop, and really, some of these people are too dumb to own a computer. Here's the deal with this latop. 1, Its very inexpensive. 2. Main storage is small 3. Tends to be slow for big file manipulation, but its a dual core celeron so what do yu expect. It is adequate. 4. screen is a little dim. 5. Internet card is very fast,,,,,,,,, Here is what you do, get a micro 128gb card and plug it in for your main storage, thats what i did. Download a program called Gamma Panel, and use it to sharpen and brighten up the screen. If you are using internet, videos, or Microsoft office, this is all you need. HERE IS THE BIG SELLER. There is no fan, so it is completely silent. All in all for the money, its a big win. No nothing inside can be upgraded. I already looked, 5 stars anyways. Get one.


  • Bad for price
    by

    from Toronto on May 19, 2019

    No space, battery life is weak. Not worth the money.


  • Amazing laptop for the price.
    by

    from New Westminster on May 15, 2019

    I've read the prior reviews about connectivity and I don't find this the case. I bought this for my wife fit business purposes, and it's more than 10x paid for itself in the last month. It did give me a scare in terms of being an S, but you can easily convert it to normal Windows 10 with a quick Google search for free/built in. What's amazing is it comes with office pre-installed for 1 year! I only have 1 reservation about this laptop and that is the space on the HDD. If you're only using this for office applications/surfing the internet/streaming then you wouldn't really need the space. If you do need space, then just buy an external HDD. I just hope in the future Asus can double the HDD space for the same price. Lastly, the battery life is amazing. Only had to charge for about 2.5 hrs and gives ~14 hrs of computing time. Great laptop for what you pay.