Reviews

ASUS Wireless AC2900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router (RT-AC86U)


Sort

  • RT-AC86U Review
    by

    from Markham on February 5, 2020

    This is a great router. Much better than my old RT-AC68U. Pros: better range, faster speeds, easy set up Cons: none. The entire set up for the AIMesh was quick and easy. I would recommend this product.


  • Excellent router
    by

    from Windsor Ontario on December 16, 2019

    Excellent router. Quick easy set up, I currently have 100MBPS internet at home, my old router if lucky would give me 16MBPS in the basement. With this Asus router I get 101MBPS. Worth the $200 I paid for it and would highly recommend it.


  • Pretty good, once you get used to it
    by

    from St Catharines, ON on December 15, 2019

    This router runs well, until it doesn't. Then it runs well, until it doesn't. I found myself constantly trying to keep the modem engaged with my laptop, when it wasn't in use it would disconnect itself and i'd have to manually reconnect. It didn't like my VPN at all. But in the end its been running good for a few weeks, its fast and great for keep multiple devices connected at top speed. 4 stars instead of 3 because i'm not too phased by technology needing to be babysat.


  • Stay away
    by

    from Hamilton, Ontario on December 4, 2019

    This product is absolute garbage. Still drops wifi even with the latest patches/upgrades and recommended configurations. I would not recommend this router to anyone. ASUS should be recalling this hardware and reimbursing money! Bad, bad, bad product!


  • Fast and easily configurable for PVPN
    by

    from Brampton, ON Canada on November 30, 2019

    Fast, very good wireless range, easy to setup for PureVPN, extensive feature set. No issues so far. Replaced my previous ASUS router after ten years on the job.


  • 5G band problem
    by

    from Calgary on November 28, 2019

    I am a big fan of ASUS routers, but this model is just not good. The 5G band is very unstable and stops working after 1-2 hours. If it is in Smart Connect mode then all devices just jump to 2.4 band and never go back, but in a normal mode, with 2 SSIDs, all devices connected to 5G just stop seeing the network (but still staying connected to 5G). Merlin firmware doesnt help as well. Ended up returning it. And btw, honestly i didnt not see any coverage difference between this one and AC68U.


  • No problem so far
    by

    from Montreal on October 26, 2019

    This being said, not really impressed by QOS, failed at making web traffic a priority while downloading games


  • Drrrrrrops a lot
    by

    from Peterborough on October 24, 2019

    I love Asus products so when I saw this was highly recommended from many sources I jumped on to it. Worked well for about two months then couldn't hold a signal to anything, it kept dropping the 5ghz band. So after troubleshooting, factory reset, tweaking setting in the app, there was no resolution. Glad I bought a warranty and got store credit back. I'd hold off on this one.


  • Initial Impression - Fantastic Performance
    by

    from  on October 16, 2019

    After much Googling about routers,I decided to purchase this model RT-86U. Primary reasons for my decision were : 1. Scalability _ Ability to create a AiMesh should need arise in future. 2. Newer Dual Core processor and Wi-fi Speeds 2. App Based Router Management I have only had this set up for a few days.. so this is an initial impressions type review. Very well packaged product,and most information about features is right on the box. I was surprised to find an actual Quick start Manual (not just one sheet - which is also included). Prior to purchasing this Router,I was using the Rogers Hitron CODA 4582 router + modem and had spotty wi-fi coverage in some areas of my home,and freezing _ buffering issues while streaming on hardwired and wireless devices. I also had approximately 25 devices connected at any one time including VOIP (some hardwired through Gigabit Switches). To say the least,the Rogers Hitron modem_router combo could not keep up (despite it having top notch specifications - which I think are software locked by Rogers!). My Rogers Modem _ Router is located in an open area on the main floor of the house not int he basement. Ever since I have added this router,I am clocking over 300MBps on 5Ghz channel in the same room as the router (before adding this router I was getting max 28MBps in the same location) and over 180MBps in areas that had spotty coverage before. On the 2.4GHz channel,I am clocking over 115MBps in far corners of my home. I have tested AmazonFire TV on 5GHz channel and there is no buffering and freezing issues (which were a problem before adding this device). I have 26 devices connected to this router right now and each and everyone is working flawlessly. Super Happy with the product right now and hoping this performance does not go down as time passes. Only one gripe.. there is new firmware and the procedure to update it is in the online manual. But it does not clarify if I should be hardwired to the router or if I can do this on wi-fi. I think they should clarify the best option.


  • No problem so far
    by

    from  on September 25, 2019

    After reading a lot of reviews I ended up going for this model. It's top rated on many websites including ConsumerReports. Apparently many bad user reviews are due to problems with 2.4ghz band. I took a chance,hopefully this issue has been solved via software/hardware update. Synology RT2600ac was my second choice but it was not as easy to find and I needed a new router asap. Quick expensive for a router. I think there are some cheaper options that are also good such as TP-Link 2300.