Reviews

ASUS Wireless AC2900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router (RT-AC86U)


Sort

  • Initial Impression - Fantastic Performance
    by

    from Aurora, ON on October 15, 2019

    After much Googling about routers, I decided to purchase this model RT-86U. Primary reasons for my decision were : 1. Scalability / Ability to create a AiMesh should need arise in future. 2. Newer Dual Core processor and Wi-fi Speeds 2. App Based Router Management I have only had this set up for a few days.. so this is an initial impressions type review. Very well packaged product, and most information about features is right on the box. I was surprised to find an actual Quick start Manual (not just one sheet - which is also included). Prior to purchasing this Router, I was using the Rogers Hitron CODA 4582 router + modem and had spotty wi-fi coverage in some areas of my home, and freezing / buffering issues while streaming on hardwired and wireless devices. I also had approximately 25 devices connected at any one time including VOIP (some hardwired through Gigabit Switches). To say the least, the Rogers Hitron modem/router combo could not keep up (despite it having top notch specifications - which I think are software locked by Rogers!). My Rogers Modem / Router is located in an open area on the main floor of the house not int he basement. Ever since I have added this router, I am clocking over 300MBps on 5Ghz channel in the same room as the router (before adding this router I was getting max 28MBps in the same location) and over 180MBps in areas that had spotty coverage before. On the 2.4GHz channel, I am clocking over 115MBps in far corners of my home. I have tested AmazonFire TV on 5GHz channel and there is no buffering and freezing issues (which were a problem before adding this device). I have 26 devices connected to this router right now and each and everyone is working flawlessly. Super Happy with the product right now and hoping this performance does not go down as time passes. Only one gripe.. there is new firmware and the procedure to update it is in the online manual. But it does not clarify if I should be hardwired to the router or if I can do this on wi-fi. I think they should clarify the best option.


  • No problem so far
    by

    from Montreal on September 25, 2019

    After reading a lot of reviews I ended up going for this model. It's top rated on many websites including ConsumerReports. Apparently many bad user reviews are due to problems with 2.4ghz band. I took a chance, hopefully this issue has been solved via software/hardware update. Synology RT2600ac was my second choice but it was not as easy to find and I needed a new router asap. Quick expensive for a router. I think there are some cheaper options that are also good such as TP-Link 2300.


  • So far so good!
    by

    from Ottawa on September 16, 2019

    Just installed this router and it's working like a charm. A lot better range and speed than I had before but the last router didn't even have antennas so I guess that isn't saying much. Still, it was easy to setup... did the update immediately and it was up and running straight away! The interface is great, easy enough for the beginner out there and advanced enough for the pro's too. Overall, I really like it but it's only been a week that it's been installed so can't really say much about the reliability factor yet. I'll give a shout back in here if it starts to want to be rebooted anytime soon.


  • Great router
    by

    from Calgary,AB on September 15, 2019

    Really great router if you wanna boost coverage around the house. I was on the modem/router combo given by shaw and was on the internet 300 plan that was supposed to be 300mbps download but I'd only get max 50 up in my PC room. I bought this router and I get the whole 300 now. The setup was easy and the app is convenient. Also got a great deal during the labor Day weekend sale.


  • Crapped out after a year
    by

    from Calgary on September 10, 2019

    Stopped working just after the warranty period. Stuck in endless boot loop, seems to be a common problem and firmware updates don't seem to fix it


  • Asus RT-AC86U AC2900 Smart Dual-Band Gigabit Router
    by

    from Vancouver on August 24, 2019

    It provides built-in network protection and great throughput performance with excellent controls in regard to prioritization. It is very easy to configure manually and working in smart dual-band. The only drawback is must be sit vertically (no horizontal mount).


  • Rock solid
    by

    from Montreal, Qc on August 24, 2019

    Used to have a d-link ac-1750 and we'd lose wifi in the home 1-2 times per week. I kept blaming our ISP, but when I changed router, I realized it was the d-link at fault. I've had this Asus for 2.5 months now and ZERO downtime.


  • Worst Router I Have Ever Had
    by

    from Calgary on August 20, 2019

    Stay away from this router. It is hard to configure and when you make any changes to the settings they don't take and you have to reboot the router. Then..... you have to work at it to get it back and running. I rebooted mine last night (24 hours ago) and it still is not starting right, I see the lights on for wifi but no network can be found in wifi networks. If you do get one, DO NOT update firmware. I did and basically bricked it and I had to do a rescue procedure to get it back. With the cost I would have expected more.


  • Asus Router
    by

    from Windsor On on July 17, 2019

    I had a Netgear router and it kept losing connection. So far so good with Asus. Better coverage to all parts of house and outside. So far Happy with purchase.


  • Nice wifi coverage
    by

    from Montreal on June 29, 2019

    I have a small house 1000sqft and I have wifi in evey room and backyard. The configuration for the router with web browser was easy and the android app is nice. We watch a lot of video streaming in HD like Netflix and happy with the speed.