Reviews

ASUS Wireless AC2900 Dual-Band Gigabit Router (RT-AC86U)


Sort

  • Asus Router
    by

    from Windsor On on July 17, 2019

    I had a Netgear router and it kept losing connection. So far so good with Asus. Better coverage to all parts of house and outside. So far Happy with purchase.


  • Nice wifi coverage
    by

    from Montreal on June 29, 2019

    I have a small house 1000sqft and I have wifi in evey room and backyard. The configuration for the router with web browser was easy and the android app is nice. We watch a lot of video streaming in HD like Netflix and happy with the speed.


  • Died after 1 month and ASUS made me pay for RMA shipping.
    by

    from Kingston on May 31, 2019

    Died after 1 month and ASUS made me pay for RMA shipping.


  • Excellent Range, Easy to Configure, Nice Interface, Looks Nice
    by

    from Ottawa, ON on May 13, 2019

    I have to admit, when I read the reviews about poor h/w quality and poor customer service, i almost shied away from this router. However, I believe ASUS to be a good brand name and my experience thus far with ASUS has been positive. So, i bought this router (on sale) and i purchased the BestBuy 3-year warranty (given the h/w issues that some people have reported). So far, i'm happy to report that my experience with this router has been great. It was very easy to set up, and the WiFi range is superb. I have the router set up in my basement on one side of the house, and i am able to receive a WiFi signal on the opposite end of my house, two floors up. So the WiFi range is excellent, no pods or WiFi extenders required. I also have a portable hard-drive connected to the USB port of the router and i was able to easily set up the Samba server for file-sharing. I am able to easily access media files on my router, which is always ON. This is a nice addition to my media library. I have 25 Clients connected to my router, and it handles the connections and does the NAT with ease. I have read that this router uses excellent h/w for doing NAT and it is much speedier than the WiFi provided by the modem that Bell offers (ie. the HomeHub 3000) and so I use this router for all my WiFi connections. It definitely has better range than the HomeHub 3000. So, even if you have a modem which does WiFi (and, not to knock Bell, it's probably the same with Rogers) you might want to consider buying this router to improve the speed and range of your home WiFi. It's working great for me.


  • Great Performance...until it died 2 weeks later
    by

    from Halifax, NS on January 16, 2019

    Worked great out of the box, easy to set up, really improved the WIFI in the home and had a handy app to log into it with. had no problems until it just decided to stop broadcasting wifi, 5 minutes later it just started powering off and on, never regaining the WIFI or wired connection. Power cycled 5 times, hit the reset switch, couldn't log into the router with app or manually through the IP. So there's that. 2 Stars as it was great while it worked and -3 stars for dying 2 weeks after being opened.


  • Poor quality
    by

    from Surrey, BC on January 15, 2019

    The first one just went to out of service after 2 days running. it rejects connections even after factory reset. Then I made an exchange, it turns out the 5G network keep dropping packets, the user can not use the 5G network. Totally a waste of money, I need to go back for return.


  • Poor prioduct support
    by

    from Windsor, ON on December 14, 2018

    If you purchase a wireless router made by Asus be prepared to do without wireless service in your home when it stops working. I purchased the AC2900 router May 29th 2018. On November 13th 2018 it stopped working. What I wanted was to return the router to Best Buy in exchange for a new one. Best Buy would not do the exchange. I was told to deal with Asus. Asus product support told me that they would do some over the phone trouble shooting but if that didn't work I would have to send the router back to them for repair without a replacement while the repair was done which could take weeks. In my view, Best Buy should replace the router and deal with Asus themselves. So, heads up when buying products like this from Best Buy. They will not provide the support that you might expect.


  • Amazing when it works
    by

    from Mississauga, ON on November 29, 2018

    I bought this router on Black Friday. After setting up the router, the performance and features for the price was simply outstanding. I was also very pleased with the range (much better than my previous router). However, 5 days after I bought it the 2.4ghz band spontaneously died. Rebooting and factory resetting did nothing, so I went and exchanged it with another. After reading some reviews, it seems like this is a common problem with this router, but hopefully this new one isn't a dud like the last.


  • Works flawlessly now
    by

    from London, ON on November 18, 2018

    Similar to other reviews, I too had an issue with the router dropping the 2.4 GHz band entirely. I made sure the firmware was current, then I tried restoring to factory setting which returned the 2.4 GHz band but only for a day they it would drop again and you can’t get it to come back. Reached out to ASUS, filled out their online form (model number, serial number, firmware version etc. etc.), ASUS was quick to respond only to send me an electronic form that asked for the same info (which ticked me off). Took the unit back to Best Buy and exchanged it for another unit (I really wanted this unit to work). No problems with exchanging at Best Buy. The second unit woks flawlessly, I’ve had it for 2.5 months now and no problems. All features are great… I particularly wanted the built in VPN client, that’s why I wanted this unit to work (there are very few routers with VPN client) and it does, but obviously there are some issues with hardware on some units.


  • Worked well from Sept 17 to Nov 6
    by

    from Kingston, ON on November 9, 2018

    It worked great for about a month and a half. Upgraded to this router from a cheaper ASUS model. Had strong signal everywhere I wanted in the house. I came home on November 5th from work to find the router turning on and off repeadidly every 10 seconds(you can see videos of this on the internet). I wasted 2-3 hours on their rescue mode procedure for firmware restoration. Process worked but the router still did not. So I decided to RMA (which I understand will take 20-25 days). They are forcing me to pay shipping to them. I will RMA but I will never buy ASUS again. I do not recommend anyone to buy ASUS. 270 dollars for a router and it lasted 1.5 months? POOR DESIGN ENGINEERS.