We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

ASUS Wireless AC2900 Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi 5 Router (RT-AC86U)

Rating Breakdown

5

26

4

9

3

1

2

4

1

13

Reviewer Recommendation

20%

Of the 5 reviewers who responded, 1 would recommend this product.

Sort By
  • Unstable and Unreliable
    Reviewed by  - July 16, 2020

    Admin web interface crashes frequently (httpd process) and must be restarted via SSH command line (service restart_httpd), or reboot the router. in fact, the web GUI is an unstable mess and only gets worse with each new firmware update. which brings us to the real crux of the issue with Asus routers: their software engineers are absolute amateurs at coding stable, reliable and secure firmware. I do own other Asus routers, but cannot recommend this Asus RT-AC86U, it's just not ready for the real world.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (2)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Absolute garbage
    Reviewed by  - July 5, 2020

    This is an absolute piece of trash router. Save yourself the headache and money and don’t buy this. The 2.4 ghz band has known issues and I unfortunately didn’t know about this before I bought it. I have 1 gigabit internet from my ISP and my wifi was getting called at 60mbps upload and download on the 2.4 ghz network, meanwhile the 5hz band was totally fine and getting speeds upwards of 700 mbps. I updated the firmware, restarted the router, factory reset it and even exchanged it for another router and to avail the router had the same issue and was not giving me speeds higher than 90 mbps upload and download. I would not buy this router, as you are going to be guaranteed a headache. I ended up going with a Linksys EA9300, and that router has no issues of getting up to 750 mbps on the 2.4 ghz band. If you need a router, get the Linksys EA9300. I will never buy asus routers again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (4)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Unstable router.
    Reviewed by  - July 3, 2020

    Bought this router 2months ago. Signal has dropped 4 times since I got it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (3)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Replaced Bell Hub3000
    Reviewed by  - May 31, 2020

    Really pleased. Bell home hub 3000 had terrible coverage and slow speeds even in same room. This set up immediately with my bell ID and password, connected to the hub and turned off bell home hub wifi (still have TV). I was shocked at how easy it was. Great coverage and speeds

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (4)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Very Happy with the router
    Reviewed by  - April 4, 2020

    I bought this router despite all the negative reviews as it was on sale on black friday and it had all the features that I was looking for. I'm very happy with the router and haven't had any issues with it. I've had the router for 6 months now. I have no problems streaming 4k video to my TV.

    Helpful (1)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • 5G band problem
    Reviewed by  - November 28, 2019

    I am a big fan of ASUS routers, but this model is just not good. The 5G band is very unstable and stops working after 1-2 hours. If it is in Smart Connect mode then all devices just jump to 2.4 band and never go back, but in a normal mode, with 2 SSIDs, all devices connected to 5G just stop seeing the network (but still staying connected to 5G). Merlin firmware doesnt help as well. Ended up returning it. And btw, honestly i didnt not see any coverage difference between this one and AC68U.

    Helpful (2)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • No problem so far
    Reviewed by  - October 26, 2019

    This being said, not really impressed by QOS, failed at making web traffic a priority while downloading games

    Helpful (1)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Worst Router I Have Ever Had
    Reviewed by  - August 21, 2019

    Stay away from this router. It is hard to configure and when you make any changes to the settings they don't take and you have to reboot the router. Then..... you have to work at it to get it back and running. I rebooted mine last night (24 hours ago) and it still is not starting right, I see the lights on for wifi but no network can be found in wifi networks. If you do get one, DO NOT update firmware. I did and basically bricked it and I had to do a rescue procedure to get it back. With the cost I would have expected more.

    Helpful (1)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Great Performance...until it died 2 weeks later
    Reviewed by  - January 16, 2019

    Worked great out of the box, easy to set up, really improved the WIFI in the home and had a handy app to log into it with. had no problems until it just decided to stop broadcasting wifi, 5 minutes later it just started powering off and on, never regaining the WIFI or wired connection. Power cycled 5 times, hit the reset switch, couldn't log into the router with app or manually through the IP. So there's that. 2 Stars as it was great while it worked and -3 stars for dying 2 weeks after being opened.

    Helpful (2)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Poor quality
    Reviewed by  - January 15, 2019

    The first one just went to out of service after 2 days running. it rejects connections even after factory reset. Then I made an exchange, it turns out the 5G network keep dropping packets, the user can not use the 5G network. Totally a waste of money, I need to go back for return.

    Helpful (2)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report