Reviews

ASUS ZenBook 14" Laptop - Grey (Intel Core i5-8250U / 256GB SSD / 8GB RAM / Windows 10) - Open Box


Sort

  • Nice stuff
    by

    from Mont-tremblant, QC on April 24, 2019

    Wella wrapped. Pc's Working well


  • Glitchy screen. Broken when arrived
    by

    from Victoria, BC on January 26, 2019

    I have a older zenbook an wanted another. When the screen worked... it seemed to be a fantastic computer. Screen worked intermittently, either would not work or worked for a while and shut off. Geek squad certification was not up to par. Bestbuy return was no problem.


  • Worst online shopping experience of my entire life.
    by

    from Prince Rupert, BC on September 11, 2018

    I am sure this laptop would have been fine but due to the absolutely terrible website experience after placing my order and the mess, which they call customer service, that followed, I ended up cancelling my purchase before my card was ever charged. Two days later my card was still charged and they still sent me the laptop, even though I had already purchased one elsewhere. 11 days after my original order was placed and 8 days after my card was charged, they still have my money. My first ever experience with best buy and also my last. If I was allowed to give zero stars i would.


  • Great Laptom
    by

    from London, ON on September 5, 2018

    Someone complained on loud fan - I have used my laptop for a couple of months and never heard any fan or any other noise. It is as quiet as tablet computer. Amazing battery life (12 hours). Very good wireless network card. Handling Full HD Video rendering software very well - my older i7 crashed but not this one.


  • Only 3 months Warranty on Open Box
    by

    from Toronto, ON on June 30, 2018

    BB website listing for the open box ASUS zenbook says that it comes with full one year warranty, but when I tried to register the product, I only got 3 months from ASUS. It also doesn't include accidental breakage warranty that is offered for new products. I hope BB honors the warranty as stated in the listing. Otherwise, this is a huge misrepresentation by BB. I don't know if this the same for other manufacturers, but if you want full factory warranty for an ASUS product, don't buy open box.


  • The screen DOES get very bright!
    by

    from Ottawa, ON on May 11, 2018

    *sigh* Does no one think to Google an issue before returning a product they otherwise like? Turn off auto brightness - press 'Fn + A' or uncheck 'auto brightness' in the 'Display' settings. The screen gets very bright (in fact, it can be TOO bright in a dark room - I have to turn the brightness down). People leaving one-star product reviews for their own user errors must drive manufacturers batty...


  • Perfect Laptop: Bright Screen, Quiet, Light Weight
    by

    from Prince Albert, SK on May 11, 2018

    Bought this computer 3 months ago and still is everything I was looking for in a laptop. It actually meets all my requirement. It's compact and lightweight, backpack friendly. I read reviews that the screen was not very bright. Yes, the screen was a little low in brightness the first few days a had it and I was about to return it. But I went to display settings and brought up the brightness. Now the screen is more than bright enough...and movies are displayed in brilliant 1040p HD. Sound is great, too, with its Harmon/ Kardon audio and great speakers. I find there's more than enough power with its 8th generation i5 CPU for light photo and music editing. And with its solid state drive drive, its operation is quick and nimble, and it starts up and shuts down fast. Keyboard is tactile and easy to use, especially in backlit mode. I've read reviews that it had a loud fan. My Zenbook is totally silent. I looked long and hard to find this kind of computer. This is the best investment I've ever made.


  • Good computer but brightness wasn't as good
    by

    from Victoria, BC on April 7, 2018

    Awesome computer no damage and good condition only problem was the brightness on max it still wasn't bright


  • poor quality display
    by

    from Victoria, BC on March 21, 2018

    Returned the laptop this morning, because the laptop display was not bright even at max setting. I liked the feel of the laptop, light weight and did not have any physical damage.


  • Geek Squad more like Dumb Squad.
    by

    from Richmond Hill, ON on March 18, 2018

    I had this laptop for all of two weeks - it died one day before my last day to return it. To be honest, I was starting to really like this laptop: the picture quality was really nice, I enjoyed the fact that the screen was matte and the laptop was lightweight. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no number pad (my personal issue). What made no sense was how could this particular model that I had been Geek Squad Certified when it couldn't last more than 2 weeks? The day before it died and never revived, the fan got really really loud (the first time I heard it this loud) and wouldn't stop even when I wasn't doing anything on the laptop. If you are looking for a nice laptop for everyday use (browsing, Netflix, Microsoft Office), this is a nice laptop but don't go for open box. Get the real deal - pay the extra bit because it will be worth it. Geek Squad just isn't worth it.