Reviews

August Wi-Fi Smart Lock Pro + Connect - Dark Grey


Sort

  • Upgraded with no regrets
    by Khan777

    on January 12, 2020

    I had the first generation August and I love this one because of how quiet it is!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Easy to install and works well with Apple HomeKit.
    by MnBill

    on January 12, 2020

    Easy to install and works well with Apple HomeKit.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Love this smart lock
    by Yungranza

    on January 11, 2020

    Simple & easy to use ! I love the Auto Unlock feature; it’s great for when I come home with groceries I don’t hVe to worry about fumbling with my keys. If I ever forget to lock the door when leaving the house, or can’t be sure if I did, I can always check the app & lock it from anywhere. It’s a great peace of mind.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great
    by Babcock

    on January 11, 2020

    Great item and fast shipping. Worked like a charm no issues

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Solid Lock!
    by Ranger9704

    on January 10, 2020

    Nice reliable lock! Works very well with the August app.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • life changing
    by MRyo

    on January 8, 2020

    this smart lock has changed my life. Had an issue with connectivity but as soon as I changed the wifi connection to the 2.4 band it solved all the problems.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Junk
    by Cloonane

    on January 6, 2020

    Might work might not , kind of like a kid might lock the might not depends on its mood most of the time it doesn't work . Waiting on a diffent lock to arrive then will be returning this Recommendation do not buy

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Love it
    by RoyIII

    on January 6, 2020

    Easy to install and easy to maintain. Thanks.....

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Easy to install and use!!
    by SamandSteven

    on January 5, 2020

    It was super easy to install and then using the app is extremely easy! Also, the safety features are the greatest. A truly great product all around.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • The lock fails shortly after warranty expires
    by randy

    on January 5, 2020

    I purchased a second generation August Smart Lock. It worked fine for about a year and a half. It then jammed up and could not be made to turn completely to lock and unlock the door. When I called August, they did a short check and immediately said it was bad and had to be replaced. Oh yes. And it was out of warranty so I would have to be purchased a new one at the full retail price. Thanks a lot!!! Since I did like the functionality, I decided to pay out of my own pocket for a new August Smart Lock Pro. It worked fine for 13 months. Then it jammed and I couldn’t get it to work. I guess since it was closer to the warranty limit, they decided to try and get it to work so they wouldn’t have to pay to replace the lock. They made me send them a video of what the lock was doing. It showed that it was jammed. Clicking instead of turning the lock to lock or unlock it. They sent me a video showing the procedure to “reset” the lock. Basically turn it all the way to the left and all the way to the right, hearing the motor the motor make noise as you push it past where it is calibrated to stop at. Then do a calibration and after installing it back on the door. This made it work for a little while, then it jammed again. When I called back they made me send them a second video of the lock not working. They then had me go through the reset/calibrate procedure again. Again it worked for a little while, then jammed again. This time they demanded a video of me doing the reset and caliber procedure. Holding the iPad to do the video, phone to operate the lock, and operating the lock was challenging, and I didn’t get it all filmed. I did get the lock reset/calibrated so I reinstalled it again. When it jammed a few more times, I did the reset/calibrate procedure again. Hoping that it might continue working after one of the resets. But of course we all know the definition of insanity. Doing something over and over again and expecting different results. Well apparently August and I are both insane. Because after having it jam up, resetting it, and re-calibrating it probably 10 times it still jammed up. I called them back and of course they demanded I send them a video of me going through the reset and calibrate procedure. I created the videos and sent them to August. They then emailed me that they watched the videos and saw that I was doing the reset and calibration correctly. However the they said that the video didn’t show that the lock was jammed up and not working after the reset. They said that they needed me to send them a video of the lock not working. I guess the two videos I had sent them already of the lock not working were not good enough. Basically all this come down to that when the second generation August lock was six months out of warranty it was easy to not even try to get the lock to work and just say it was out of warranty, so I have to buy a new lock. When the Smart Lock pro stopped working, barely out of warranty, it was harder to say it wasn’t their responsibility. So they tried very hard to get the lock to limp along until they can say it is out of warranty and not their problem. Avoid this lock. It fails shortly after the warranty runs out and they don’t support their product.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com