We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Breville Barista Express Espresso Machine (BES870XL) - Stainless Steel

Rating Breakdown

5

713

4

88

3

22

2

5

1

11

Reviewer Recommendation

97%

Of the 761 reviewers who responded, 736 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality: Excellent

Value: Good

Ease of Use: Good

Sort By
  • DO NOT BUY!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!! ZERO STARS!!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by FormerBrevilleCustomer - July 27, 2020

    I first purchased a Breville at BB#20 in Cedar Rapids, IA in March 2019. Within one week, that machine failed to pump water through the group head, so no espresso for me. I contacted Breville support, and they agreed to advance ship a new-in-box replacement or a $700 credit card hold. No worries, I thought, and the hold was released after I returned the defective unit. The replacement unit itself failed within six months, and wouldn't produce steam or hot water. Contacted Breville support again and another replacement unit was sent with the $700 hold and release. This third unit (second NIB replacement) has now failed again, after 10 months, and will not produce steam or hot water. Upon contacting Breville support, they now want $239 for me to send my defective unit for a repair, with no replacement, and this is after not responding to my support case for two weeks; but only after I initiated an online chat with support. The case seems clear to me, Breville cannot make a product that will last because of an obvious defect in one or more critical components, and refuses to stand behind their products.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • My husband loves it
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Rosalia - July 25, 2020

    Great gift for my husband. Loves his morning coffe and it’s easy to use.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • From whole bean to espresso coffee it does it all
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Tallstar7 - July 24, 2020

    This Machine grinds the beans, makes single or double shot espresso coffee and even froths the milk with its steam wand. It IS pretty much automatic but, needs effort to tune it. But if you do invest the time, you will be rewarded with excellent coffee. Every part of the process is highly configurable especially the grind size and amount of coffee used. The pressure gauge provides absolute feedback as the coffee is being produced and you can make adjustments for the next cup. Very happy with it!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • My Wife loves it!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by DanN - July 24, 2020

    My wife uses this every day. It is a bit noisy with the coffee grinder and milk frother but she gets a better cup of coffee for way less than she would spend at Starbucks.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Great machine
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Camalex - July 24, 2020

    Has a slight learning curve but works great one you have it all dialed in. I would recommend!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Great machine. Does all you need for home use.
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Chilegolf - July 24, 2020

    The machine does take some time to master. Once you have got the hang of it it is wonderful. It does not get a five star from me due to price. I am past that and enjoy using the machine everyday.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Excellent espresso machine!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Chris - July 24, 2020

    I was looking for an upgrade on a home espresso machine that made drinks like at coffee shop and this here is an excellent machine for that! Totally a money saver on the long run and i can make my drinks how i like them in minutes! Super convenient and easy to use.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Love it!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Very - July 24, 2020

    So far excellent machine great coffee taste easy to use, I couldn’t be happier!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Saving us $$$
    Verified BuyerReviewed by biggred19 - July 24, 2020

    my wife uses this machine 3 times a day and it has already paid for itself. No more Starbucks trips for us.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Excellent
    Verified BuyerReviewed by dboys - July 24, 2020

    Very happy with purchase of Breville espresso machine

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)