Reviews

Brother MFC-L3710CW Colour Wireless All-In-One Laser Printer


Sort

  • Competent but lacking one major option
    by Justjohnne

    on October 22, 2019

    This is a solid laser (LED) printer. I had no idea it does not utilize a true laser mechanism until I started using fully read the setup/manual. As with most entry level units this is heavy weighing in at just over 49 lbs. Setup was easy, straight forward however there is no ethernet option. Despite the lack of ethernet I was printing from my PC and phone within minutes. It took me longer to remove all the shipping protection, which is good, kudos to Brother for ensuring the product is secure and will not be damaged. Features are what you would expect at this price point except for in addition to the above-mentioned duplex printing and scanning. Really the last two would be deal breakers for me, nothing worse than trying to manipulate paper the correct direction to get a double-sided print. For an additional $50.00 you can get a Brother with those options in addition to NFC printing. Print quality is excellent even though the cost per page seems a bit high in comparison, although it may add up over the life of the printer the acquisition cost of a high-end laser may be prohibitive. I like the on-screen menu and options, easy to read LCD with the options you really need. I did not experience the problem others describe with the auto feeder being off center. I use a good quality paper which I spend a little more for, but it often will avoid finicky problems such as this. The per month paper duty is likely enough for most personal use and some small/from home type business. In conclusion I would recommend but look at the next model in the line for some features I really feel are worth the $$. All that said I would recommend at the price point particularly of some of the other competition. I gave 4 stars for the print quality. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Good Quality Printer
    by kb124

    on October 13, 2019

    The Brother MFC-L3710CW Wireless Color All-In-One Printer is my first Brother printer, and it’s a good one. It is not the best I have ever owned, but not the worst either. I believe some things could be better; however, for everyday work, it does everything a printer should. It offers many useful features, like wifi, high-resolution scanner, and color printing. I have both Canon and HP inkjet printers, and this Brother does mean I don’t have to buy ink but, I do have to buy toner, and from what I can tell, this printer is going to use a lot of it. The toner cartridges, I believe, will cost about two times the cost of ink for my Canon; however, I still hope it will last two times as long. The Brother is much bigger than a basic HP ink-jet when I say that I mean taller but uses about or a little more stand space as my other two printers. The Brother is a bit noisier than the others but not so its a big deal. Print speed I found to be very good for most documents, about 16 pages per minute. I like the fact that it holds 250 sheets of paper, you can print a lot longer without having to load more paper in the machine. I found for color printing, it also does very well, as far a speed, though I cannot say how many pages per minute, I sense its as good as any ink-jet printer, as well the quality is as good. It's not as good as my Canon Photo printer, but that is in totally different classes. I believe it’s a respectable black and white printer, suitable for that small office work or a home that does a lot of printing and adds some bells and whistles that you don’t get from an ink-jet. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Feature packed Color LED printer
    by Idoc

    on October 9, 2019

    The Brother MFC-L3710CW is an LED printer with 50 pg ADF for copy, scanning and fax and Prints 19ppm. This is an entry level color LED printer with a lot of features. LED's (Light Emitting Diodes) are used instead of laser to bond the toner to the page. Connectivity is by USB for direct connection, Wireless for network devices and WiFi Direct for non network phones and tablets using Air print, Google cloud print or Brother Iprint and scan. If you want to use USB you will have to purchase a USB print cable as it is not supplied. You can scan or Fax receive to many of the cloud services like Google drive and Dropbox and others. The scan and fax functions work well, No problems with either. The ability to store, print, forward, email and save document to network or cloud locations makes this MFC device very flexible for any circumstance. There are many other apps available. Setup is a breeze, just follow the onscreen prompts on the printer LCD or setup utility on your computer. Choose the WiFi network and enter the password and it connects without any problems. The WiFi connection is stable and I have had no problems printing from any of my network devices. This is a good entry level color MFC printer. I would have liked to see auto duplex printing and scanning, these features are available in other manufactures entry level printers. Brothers own MFC-L3770CDW is avalible for about $50 more which also includes an Ethernet port. Ethernet connectivity is not a deal breaker for these printers, in fact I prefer the wireless now. WiFi allows placement of printers in many places without a wired Ethernet port. Printing costs are a little high BW costs about 2.6 cents each and color prints will run about 15.5 cents each, based on published specs. There are printers that will output color at a much lower cost but the upfront cost is higher. High yield cartridges are available. I had some color banding with solid color printouts, 1 out of 10 test prints. Overall the color prints are good quality for business output but not presentation quality. The color will probably be improved a little with firmware updates and settings tweaks. Overall this is a great Multi function printer for a home office or a small business that does not need duplex printing. If you need the duplex function then the upgraded MFC-L3770CDW is a great choice. Brother printers are a great value offering a lot of features and outstanding build quality for a great price. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Glad I Upgraded!
    by Balboa3

    on October 7, 2019

    My wife and I are in education and have a small home office. We have been meaning to upgrade our old all-in-one printer for a while. After finally just doing it, we are wondering why it took us so long. I am not gonna say that it is whisper quiet, but it is much quieter than the old one we had for a few years. It’s quick, and we love that it is easy to setup and print to it wirelessly. One of my favorite things is that it was super easy to setup and print from my iPad. I have been trying to work primarily from my iPad Pro, and it is super convenient to just pull up the document and send the print from my iPad to the printer. Scanning, and scanning to a file is equally painless. We have also enjoyed the cloud services that are available in the menu system on the actual printer. After we initially set it up, the printer had to perform 2 updates back to back, but those were also fairly quick and easy to get done. If you have been looking to updating your printer situation, this should definitely be on your short list. Compact, quiet, speedy, and easy to setup. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • A Good Color Printer/Scanner/Copier
    by Indiaj0nes

    on October 7, 2019

    Whats in the box ————————— Brother MFC-L3710CW Wireless Color All-In-One Printer CD-ROM All Drivers/Software Quick set-up guide and User's guide Starter Black/Cyan/Yellow/Magenta toner cartridges (approx.1,000 pages each, ISO/IEC 19798 (Letter/A4)) Pros —— 1. You can use generic cartridges !! 2. Very Fast, Excellent quality color pictures 3. Easy setup, Wifi capable on 5Ghz 4. 50 paper document feeder and 250 paper tray 5. Solid build quality 6. AirPrint, Google Cloud Print, Brother iPrint&Scan, Mopria, Wi-Fi Direct support 7. Windows 10 detects the printer on network automaticall.y Cons ——— 1. Heavy and its big 2. Duplex printing 3. A bit pricey? Review ——— SETUP Setup is straight forward, first make sure that the toners are fixed correctly and the toner protective covers are taken off. These are the orange tabs on the toners Just click on the wifi button and then select the wifi and setup using your wifi password The printer integrates with popular cloud services like one drive, dropbox, google drive so that you can upload your scanned documents. The cartridge that is provided allowed for printing 1000 pages, based on my research this one is not chip protected so you can buy generic cartridges once you are done. PRITING The document can be fed from tray or from the document feeder. The printing itself is pretty fast at 19 pages per minute. Window 10 automatically deters the printer on network on my computer and no setup is actually needed. Google Cloud print is supported as well as AirPrint, I could print directly from the iPad or android phone which is a good convince feature. SCAN & COPY Due the document feeder the scanning and copying feature is a breeze. You can feed document and scan directly to google cloud or to an email or to a computer that is connected to a network Coming from a wired black and white canon printer, this one is a big and a valuable upgrade for me, to be able to wirelessly scan, copy and print… I recommend this. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great modest priced home/small office all-in-one
    by rockhunter

    on October 6, 2019

    I have had the Brother MFC-L3710CW digital color all-in-one printer for six days and so far it has been a very good color laser printer. The MFC-L3710CW is a well built printer with very solid construction and a nice attractive exterior but it weighs just under 50 pounds so it is mobile but not portable. It took about thirty minutes to remove the printer from the shipping box and remove all the shipping tape and shipping restraints from the printer and toner cartridges. It only took a couple minutes to connect to our WiFi network once the printer was unpacked and prepared for operation. The drivers, utility software installation and firmware updates took about another fifteen minutes. I think the MFC-L3710CW prints mono or color text and presentations with as good or better quality then the inkjet printers I have had and prints faster. The big advantage the MFC-L3710CW has over any inkjet I have tried is that the inkjet ink cartridges dry out in the dry desert environment in southern New Mexico the toner powder isn’t affected. So a laser printer in addition to being generally faster than an inkjet printer generally is much less expensive per page in the long run. The Brother iPrint&Scan software utility works well on Android, Chromebook (as an Android app), Windows 10, and Mac IOS. iPrint$Scan provides easy to use flexible control of the printer for printing or scanning printed media through the local network, or via the internet. I almost never use the internet option but print email and media from a web browser almost weekly from any location in our house not just at my desk. Brother has had a reputation of manufacturing excellent printers for years and of the three Brother laser B/W printers I have used none have disappointed . I recommend the Brother MFC-L3710CW to my friends and family as a good candidate for a medium cost home or small office all-in-one printer especially those who live in a dry desert environment. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great AIO Printer
    by KYTwinsDad

    on October 6, 2019

    I haven't bought a new printer in over a decade & my last one was a HP AIO that had a lot of cool features. That one is such a great printer that used they sell for $400 & new, unopened they go for $1000. This was a printer that was $400 brand new back a decade ago. I give you that background to lay the foundation of my review. Because based on that wonderful HP printer, I am largely unmoved by most printers. Also, because it has been a decade since I bought a printer and set one up I am a little rusty when it comes to them. That said I am Info Tech person and have a really good understanding of technology. Unboxing (Packaging & Design): This things packaging was very sturdy. It is a rather large printer, but standard size for an AIO of this caliber. The packing material & its easily market tape for keeping everything secure during transport was great. A+ on packaging and the design of the printer itself. Setup & First Impressions: Getting this AIO set up was a breeze. I input my WIFI network name and went to my Windows 10 Desktop machine. Windows 10 easily found the printer & I even did a test print to see how it would do. Printing speed was great. Admittedly I only printer a one page paper but printing from its standby/sleep mode was quick. Scanning: I did scan a sheet of paper that I filled out so I could then scan and email it. I scanned it to with upping the DPI and the scanned result was very light. So default with 600dpi was light. I haven't tried it on the default 300dpi but I suspect I'll have to do some testing and settings tweaks to get the right color & everything. That said it was quick on scanning. I did install the Brother software before scanning to take advantage of some of the in-depth features that I am sure I will need in the future. Firmware: For some reason my machine isn't actually installing the firmware update that I keep telling it to install. I am using the wizard on the machine itself and it acts like it is updating but just keeps going in the loop of updating when I go back to settings, tell it to scan for updates, tell it yes do the update, machine does its thing, powers back on, scan for updates, tell it to update, etc. I am unsure why it is doing this and will have to do more in-depth looking to see what the problem is. Faxing: I haven't had an opportunity to use the fax machine portion as I don't have a landline phone. So I can't say how good or bad it performs for that. That said, for a SOHO this would be a really great all in one. Conclusion: This is my first laser jet printer. I have always been an ink jet user as they are cheaper to buy and maintain. I am blown away by the speed of printing of this thing and the fact that the ink is dry on the page when it comes out. I have never gotten that with inkjet printers and always had smudges unless I let the page print and sit for a while. Great change for me! All in all I really love this printer. I know the ink will run me some $$ but the fact that it can print lots of pages before needing ink really was why I requested this product. I am happy I did as this is going to be my go to scanning machine once I get the brightness/darkness of the scans figured out. I would definitely buy recommend this machine and already have to a few friends. Great AIO printer! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Awesome printer
    by HUNTER

    on October 4, 2019

    I love this printer. I use it for school and work documents. It is super fast and great print quality. For the amount of use it’s a bit more then what I need but if you have a small office or work from home and have to print a lot of documents this is the printer for you! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Suited for very small business or home office
    by SonyCameraGuy

    on October 3, 2019

    Setup: The printer has a USB and Wi-Fi connections only (no RJ45 Ethernet port). In a small office environment, all computers using the printer must be within Wi-Fi range of the printer or the printer must be connected by USB to one computer and then shared with other computers on the LAN. Setup must be initiated with one or the other. Switching between USB and Wi-Fi confuses the software setup software. Also be sure that the .Net Framework software on the computer you are using to setup the printer is up-to-date. The software installer (and likely other components as well) rely on it. The MFC-L3710CW requires about 10 inches of clearance in the back to leave enough room to use the rear output tray. More is better to allow easy access to the levers that must be manually toggled to change the paper path for stiffer stock (e.g. envelopes, labels, and card stock). One would think that clock would be automatically set using the date/time information on the computer used for setup. It is not. The time had to be set manually using the printer’s touch-screen panel. Design: The hardware design is good with the exception of the need to manually set two levers to divert the paper path to the rear output tray. Printing and scanning are fast (even in color) and the printer and scanner feed mechanisms work well. The MFC-L3710CW will perform OCR and render PDFs searchable. It did a good job with the document that I used, but this capability was not tested against dedicated OCR software. The bottom tray holds about half a ream of paper (depending on its weight). There is a manual feed slot just above the bottom tray that can be used for single sheets of paper or other stock. If the stock is relatively thin, it can cycle through the printer and go to the front output tray (below the scanner). If the stock is thick (e.g. envelope, card stock, labels, etc.) it will not be able to make the internal bend to the front output tray and the rear output tray must be used. This requires dropping the rear access panel and flipping the two gray tabs on either side. This allows the manually fed stock to take a straight path through the printer. Even after self-calibration (setup -> toner -> calibration), the color was not very accurate. Grays were skewed toward magenta. A manual color profile had to be created in the printer options settings of each computer (red: -1; green: +2; blue: -1) to get colors to print correctly. The menu system on the printer’s touch screen is customizable to the extent that you can add shortcuts. This is a nice feature if you have tasks that you perform regularly (e.g. scan to PDF, scan to FAX, etc.). Wireless connectivity extends to mobile devices (tablets and phones). Pairing with Android devices is easy with the NFC capability built into the printer. iOS devices can be connected manually. The User’s Guide contains information on five different models with similar looking model numbers and with different features and functions. It was difficult to keep track of which model number the instructions were referring to. With modern publishing methods it would have been very easy to have separate User’s Guides for each model. Overall: While the printing and scanning mechanisms are robust enough for larger environments, the MFC-L3710CW is only a good option for a small one- or two-person office environment. Wi-Fi printing is inherently limited in range and the network-shared USB setup requires that a computer always be attached to share the printer over the LAN. The manual feed slot will take only one sheet at a time and the rear output tray must be manually configured. Coordination with anyone else using the printer is required so that jobs using the different paper paths don’t collide. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great Printer for Small Business
    by callmeageeth

    on October 3, 2019

    I am attorney at a small firm, and while we have a commercial grade printer/copier, we needed something smaller (cheaper than second commercial copier) that could handle similar tasks. This Brother all in one was up to the task and I am very pleased with its performance and relative ease of use. I would even recommend this for home use if you print/copy/scan in high volume. Only concern for home use is high cost of toner IN THE BOX Pretty minimal, you get the printer, power cord, CD with drivers/software and manuals. I wish it would have come with a USB cable since I plug mine into my computer, but I had an extra one. SETUP I consider myself pretty knowledgeable with computers and most things tech. But printers have always flummoxed me. For whatever reason I struggle with getting them setup properly and having to download all of the necessary software and drivers. I can say that the Brother printer was relatively easy. I plugged in the power cable, plugged in the USB and went to add printer on my computer and bam. I was off and printing. At that point I could copy and print without a problem. The scanning function, however, needed the drivers. At this point I put in the CD that came with the device (if you have a laptop with no CD drive, I'm certain you can download everything from the Brother website). I then installed everything, which much to my dismay, was a lot of extra programs. I'm a minimalist and don't necessarily like having a bunch of extra programs on my computer. I get it, some are necessary such as the scanning function but the other icons and what not installed on my computer is almost junk to me. I did, however, like the Brother Creative center, which is a link to a website with free templates and design ideas for business. It's not necessary for my work, but I could see that being very beneficial for a small business owner who needs to market or sell products. After the software was installed I was truly off and running (mostly, more on that in a sec). I could scan documents either through the 50 sheet feeder or on the scanning glass tray. On the printer when scanning, I simply use the touchscreen to scan to my computer and voila, a PDF appears in a folder that automatically pops up. For me, I then rename the folder and put it where I need it to be. I guess my only minor grip is that it saves the PDF in a weird folder, rather than just my Documents folder. From here I wanted to add the printer to my Wi-Fi network so my staff could use it as well. It was pretty straightforward to join a network from the touchscreen on the printer. After that, my staff could add the printer and download the necessary software to their computer to use just as I do with it attached via USB to my computer. All-in-all, the setup was pretty easy. FEATURES This all-in-one has some pretty robust features. Sure, it copies/scans/prints and faxes, but what I'm talking about is how you get the scans to where you want them to go. For my work, we simply save them to designated folders on a specific computer, but there are other ways to get documents to whatever device you need. If you need to save it directly to your phone (say you need it that moment and you're leaving) you can do so. You have to scan a QR code with your phone on the touchscreen, but then you're sent to a link that allows you to download that document to your phone or tablet on the spot. Something I wouldn't use a lot, but it would come in handy when you need it. You can also scan documents directly to a Sharepoint folder. You just need to go through the web management site to establish those "links" on the printer itself. Bottom line is that there's an option for everyone depending on your workflow. I would think Sharepoint would be awesome if I had a co-worker working out of the office remotely and needed a document. I could even have my staff scan me a document directly if I was out of the office. I'm usually more prepared and don't need this type of function, but it is nice to have during those "one off" times. PRINT/SCAN/COPY QUALITY/SPEED For high quality and fast printing, laser printers are always the way to go. This color laser printer doesn't disappoint. First, printing black and white text documents look great. Whether scanned or copied, there's no discernible difference. There's no, that document was scanned look. I was very impressed with the scan. Color photos look good, but I don't think many scanners will be able to replicate photos to look the way the photo itself does. But that's my personal opinion. I'm not generally printing or scanning photos so that doesn't matter to me. But I do like some documents to be printed in color when i change the font or print PowerPoint slides. Again, I'm impressed. The speed in which the Brother prints is pretty great. It can print a 50 page document in less than 2 minutes. I didn't count so don't hold me to it, but point is, you want be sitting there thinking it's taking a long time to print. And I found virtually no speed difference between B&W text and full color sheets. I do also want to add that the paper tray holds about a reams worth of paper which is nice. It doesn't help much if your printer can print lightning quick but can't hold much paper. CONCLUSION This is a great printer to be the center of any small business. To get the most out of it, I would recommend using it for high volume scanning/printing and multiple people using it (otherwise you might find a cheaper alternative). You don't have to worry about the print quality, it's fantastic and so far, I've been impressed with its reliability. I haven't once had to pull any stuck paper out of it, whether i was scanning or printing. The only drawback to a printer like this, and it exists with every color laser printer, is the sky high costs of toner. But that's something you'll never get away from. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com