Reviews

Brother MFC-L3710CW Colour Wireless All-In-One Laser Printer


Sort

  • Great--but massive--home business printer
    by

    from Best Buy US on October 2, 2019

    The Brother MFC-L3710CW Wireless Color All-In-One Printer is a beast! Which, unfortunately, means some good and bad things—though mostly good. This is a very large printer, that is suitable for a home office, but probably overkill for a regular ‘family’ printer (though it would work great for that too). Because the printer is so large, obviously the box is huge. There is a ton of padding around it so there’s not much danger of it being damaged in shipping. You will need to be careful lifting it out of the box, however, as it is also very heavy. For that same reason you'll want to make sure it's in a very sturdy resting spot. Unpacking takes a bit of time, as everything is taped down for protection, and the four print drums have protection on them that must also be removed. Finding a spot for a printer this large may also be a challenge depending on your situation. The footprint is quite bit larger than most home printers, particularly the height. There are several drawers for paper, and the print cartridges for this type of printer are the ‘drum’ type, and they are massive compared to normal print cartridges. The advantage to this is that it should mean you will not have to change them nearly as often as a regular inkjet printer. Set-up from there isn’t too difficult, though there was an annoyance or two that I ran into while setting up: First, I ran into an error with the machine telling me that my times didn’t match (turned out to be that it simply hadn’t updated after I’d connected to the internet) and then I was annoyed that it wouldn’t give me a ‘back’ button on the screen from the error. The home key only beeped at me, so I finally figured out to press the button below it—being colorblind and in a dark room I couldn’t make out what the symbol below the home key was. From there I had to download the software from brother’s homepage (my computer, like a lot of recent computers, has no disc drive)—fortunately it was very easy to do. Once the software was installed there was another ten minutes or so of updates to the firmware and software, and then I was all set. It’s pretty standard save one or two little hiccups. This printer is fast! Pages print quickly, and there is a ton of room for paper-storage so even with large print jobs you shouldn’t have to replenish paper very often. The prints themselves look great. I’ve tested large documents, photos large and small and other things here and there and they look perfect. I’d guess I’ve printed 100 pages or so at this point and the ink levels are still very good as well. The drum replacement for these costs more than standard printers, but they last a lot longer and it should prove to be more economical in the long run. If you have a need for a solid business printer or an overkill family printer—and you have the space for it-- then this is a terrific choice!


  • Excellent SOHO Printer
    by

    from Best Buy US on October 2, 2019

    This Brother color laser printer has been a step above the laser printer it is replacing in a number of areas. It has a slightly larger footprint and is quite a bit heavier - this is a solid printer. Once lifted into place and powered on, however it is an absolute pleasure to use. Setup was a breeze. I was able to plug in, power on, connect to WiFi and start a test print in less than five minutes. Mobile device support has been excellent for both Android and iOS. Every print job I've run through it so far has been fast and quiet and the color copies are exceptional. I was also extremely happy with the scan to computer capability and, just like printing and copying, it worked quickly and quietly. It handles card stock well through the single-sheet feeder but does not do auto duplex printing or scanning so if you need easy two-sided printing, copying or scanning this might not be the printer for you. It's not a deal-breaker for me, especially at this price point. I don't have any plans to use the fax capability, so I can't speak to that feature. I'm removing one star for the lack of duplexing and the weight but those are minor quibbles for me and I would definitely recommend this printer for its print quality, speed and quiet operation.


  • Office Pro
    by

    from Best Buy US on October 1, 2019

    Brother - MFC-L3710CW Wireless Color All-In-One Printer The MFC-L3710CW printer is a beast of an office printer. Setup: Took maybe 5 minutes to unbox I opened it up took off all the tape and plugged it in and was ready to start printing. On the LCD screen I selected my Wi-Fi network and entered the password. It was immediately showing up on all my computers and phones to print to. Printing: Once you selected a document to print it printed off in about 10-15 seconds after receiving the data over the wireless network! Quality: The quality was perfect as it showed zero smudges or marks. The color printing was bright and vibrant. I tested it out by printing 100 different types of documents from graphs to papers to calendars. All showed the same quality we come to expect from an office printer. Overall: I highly recommend this printer. It fits perfectly in an office and gets the job done with its scanning,copying and printing capabilities!


  • Good home office/small bus color laser printer!
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 30, 2019

    Print quality is very good (note this is a color laser printer, not an ink jet) and prints just under 20 pages a minute either color or B/W. Copying is also fairly quick and renders nice crisp professional looking copies even in color. It scans quickly and accurately either via the auto feeder or the glass and allows you to push the scan from the printer directly to your pc from the printer onscreen menu. WiFi setup was quick and easy. It’s cartridges are 3 color toner cartridges and 1 Black cartridge that can be replaced individually. Holds a whole ream of paper at 250 sheets and allows for envelopes and manual feeding as well. It weighs about 50 pounds and fits perfectly on a filing cabinet (see pics). Only cons I found were that it doesn’t handle either duplex scanning or printing. (Upgrade to the next model up - the MFC-L3770 if you think you’ll be scanning or printing lots of double-sided things) Overall pleased with this multifunction laser printer and scanner.


  • Perfect workflow
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 27, 2019

    Before I even get started with this review, I have to quickly say how quiet this machine is. It's unbelievable how it barely makes sound even when printing several jobs in a row. This unit really is an "all-in-one" unit for any small office or home business. Having the ability to print over the wifi network just opened up the possibilities for my work flow. I can have clients review work and contracts on a tablet and simply print over the network to this printer. What's even better is that I can take other documents and scan it directly to my phone using one of web services included on the printer itself! This makes it so much easier to quickly email signed papers to a client. The color quality is spot on as far as accuracy, this is NOT a photo printer meant for photography or high resolution graphics. HOWEVER, it does a perfect for color coded spread sheets, color invoices, company logos, brochures, and other small business products like business cards, letter heads etc... I am very happy with the performance of this machine, Brother truly is the only real printing solution!


  • Plenty of features, wish it offered auto duplex
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 26, 2019

    The MFC-L3710CW is a decent low-range all in one color laser printer – it can copy, scan, print and fax. At first glance, it’s quite a large size for what it offers: measuring approximately 16”x16”x18” and weighing about 50 lbs. It connects very well to my home Wi-Fi and setting up basic settings with my PC was very easy. It even came with an installation CD (which I am still able to read on my older desktop PC). The copy function was easy to use via the touch screen. There isn’t much to say about it other than it worked as expected. Additionally, since I do not have a land line I was unable to test the fax function currently. Printing on the L3710CW is fast and easy. Although Brother advertises a print speed of 19 pages per minute, in my tests I managed to print approximately 10 ppm via printing wirelessly from PDFs of both my tax returns and a chunk of my thesis. I would rate the print quality of text fine and image quality as just OK (as would be expected with most color laser printers). I was expecting a higher quality of animated/business graphics, wherein the print quality looked somewhat flatter than a higher-end office laser printer, yet still better than an inkjet on standard stock. The touch screen on the printer unit is user friendly and has the option of customizing it by adding some shortcuts to its screen. There are also a number of add-ons and apps that can be used to make using a printer more convenient – for example you can scan a document and have it sent to your mobile phone by scanning a QR code on the screen (this routes you to a URL on Brother’s servers which allows your phone to download your document from). For the size and price of this printer, one might expect automatic printer duplexing and scanner duplexing but those functionalities are missing from this unit. It’s not a deal breaker but it would have been a nice to have. On the software side, the iPrint&Scan application that gets installed with the software is a barebones program that lets you manage the printer without the fuss of many inkjet all in ones that bombard you with too many options. One nice option here is that iPrint&Scan allows you to set up scanning workflows (to save to PC, scan to cloud service, open an app or attach to MS Outlook) from within app and send them to the printer. To add more-advanced workflows (say scan to an email address, to a network drive or FTP server) you must set this up via a web service hosted on the printer. Of course, to learn how to do this requires going online and searching Brother’s online services, as their documentation does not make mention of this. I have also installed the brother iPrint&Scan app on my smart phone and have been able to control my printer (print, scan and manage) from my phone while on the same Wi-Fi network. If you do need more control, there are additional configuration programs that get installed by Brother, but I haven’t found the need to use them. On the printer box, Brother advertises the use of its Creative Center for artistic/creative projects. It’s a website that has simple creative projects like designing birthday cards, invitations, calendars and banners. It’s not a deal maker but it’s a nice service to have access to if you’d like to make quick and simple (personal) projects for holidays, birthdays in addition to business templates for letterheads, posters and brochures. Barring the few cons listed above, I’m so far pleased with this printer. There are a few interesting features that I haven’t had a chance to try – some even accessible via the touch screen connecting it to a cloud service like Google Cloud Print service or Dropbox or even printing from my mobile phone while on a different network. I’m pleased that I now have a decent laser printer and will no longer have to throw out old ink cartridges that dry up and get clogged.


  • Easy setup, fast, great configuration options
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 26, 2019

    So I've come from a very aged Xerox color laser printer and was ecstatic about the new printer. Setting up the printer was a breeze. Aside from a little too much tape and packing material, the overall setup and configuration was completely painless. A side note about the orientation of the printer. In order to get to the toner cartridges, the entire top tilts backward, which means you need about 5" behind it in order to reach them, you cannot put this flush against a wall or cubicle or anything of the sort. In terms of configuration, I chose to configure it to connect to my wireless network (as a side note, it will only connect to 2.4GHz wireless networks, so no Wireless-AC support on this device). Again, connecting went without an issue. It was then a simple matter of clicking the add new device button in Windows 10 and it was there and with a single click was added to my machine. The configuration menus are shockingly smooth for something like a printer, and navigate easily with gestures. The print quality is what you would expect out of such a machine. Colors are crisp and precise, text is clear. The printer is fast and wakes on demand without issue. Scanning is an interesting foray. In the options menu it gives you a choice of many ways to get the scans to your machine including directly (using the drivers) or via FTP or even cloud options. The FTP works great as I've already got a local FTP server configured for such functionality. Scans are clear and work without issue. The sheet feeder is an added benefit. This is an excellent printer and I would readily recommend it to anyone.


  • Quiet, Good Quality, Great For Small Business
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 26, 2019

    This is a good quality printer, great for a small business/office. It's very quiet, fast, and printing is good quality, and the machine has a small footprint. I especially like the touch-screen menu, it's very user-friendly. The setup requires downloading of software and if any scanning at all is going to be done, I highly recommend downloading the optional PaperPort software- it's great for manipulating scanned images. The wireless setup was quick and easy without any issues and has integrated seamlessly into my home network. The cost of replacement toner cartridges is competitive for this class of printer, and less expensive than some. So far I haven't experienced any paper jams or other malfunctions. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone who does printing, scanning and faxing.


  • Great All-In-One color laser printer.
    by

    from Best Buy US on September 26, 2019

    My girlfriend and I (mostly her) work in real estate so we are always printing. Having a mix of laser and ink jet printers thru the years this is one of the quietest I’ve had. The printer was easy to setup, which is nice since I’ve dealt with my fair share of printers that will make you want to pull your hair out, especially the software. Brothers software was very easy and straightforward, from unpacking to completely up and running it might have taken 30 minutes. We do a lot of scanning documents into the computer so the automatic document feeder was a must and we couldn’t be happier with its performance. The automatic feeder is fast and the software organizes everything perfectly so we don’t have to search were it is on the computer. Printing from an iPhone/iPad is easy with AirPrint built in. I had another brand that had AirPrint but it would never work right, so it’s nice to have a printer that can do it, especially a color laser printer. Only thing this model is missing is automatic duplex printing, though you can still do it manually. The touchscreen is the best I’ve used on any printer short of an expensive commercial/professional unit. If you don’t need automatic duplex printing this unit is an excellent printer for the price.


  • Great printer
    by

    from Best Buy US on August 30, 2019

    Great printer for my classroom, it will be used often