Reviews

Canon EF70-200mm f-4L IS USM Lens


Sort

  • Great out the gate!
    by

    on February 16, 2019

    With very little experience with shooting photos, I didn’t know what to expect with this zoom lens. It is definitely a lot of money to spend blindly. I have no history to allow a comparison with other lenses but, I will say I was pleased with the results of my 1st experience using this Cannon Telephoto Zoom Lens.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Super Sharp Zoom that won't break your back
    by

    on January 25, 2019

    I've owned the Canon 70-200 4.0 IS since Christmas 2019. The lens is really super sharp at all focal lengths and not really heavy. The 2.8 version is 1 f stop faster but it is heavy to me and in my view, a 1 f stop advantage is not worth doubling the weight of a vacation lens. It likely is for a wedding/pro photographer but with modern full frame cameras with fast sensors I believe a one f stop advantage, while valuable, is less critical to many hobbyists. This is a superb lens with superb sharpness to the edge and excellent contrast. As other reviewers have noted the lens stabilization does generate noise which can be picked up with in camera mics during video. If you buy a small stereo clip mic and attach to your shirt, you will eliminate the problem. Another alternative is to buy the new version of this lens, V2, which costs about $200 more. I understand that the material difference of the new model is the quieter IS.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Must Have for you camera bag
    by

    on December 30, 2017

    Simply put, I love this lens. I think everyone should have one of these in their bag. It is my every day carry lens, its so versatile!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Best lense I have
    by

    on May 2, 2017

    No color fringing, on distortion. It even autofocuses with my 2x teleconverter. Clear, sharp images. The f4 L is great for most things making it unnecessary to pay the extra money for the f2.8. Just crank up the iso.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Love this lens
    by

    on January 23, 2017

    I bought this lens because I wanted a quality lens other than the kit lenses. This was definitely worth the money. Provides excellent pictures and isn't crazy heavy/large like the 2.8.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Perfect Lens
    by

    on October 10, 2016

    I always wanted the F2.8, but it is double the price. So I got the F4. Did some zoo photography and it is great!!!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great. But...
    by

    on April 13, 2016

    So I have tried a fair variety 70-200 lenses so far, such as the Tamron 70-200 f2.8 VC DI USD, Canon 70-200 f4 USM, Canon 70-200 f2.8 IS USM. Now I tried this one and so far image quality is great, razor sharp images, very quick auto focus(unless your indoors, in the dark), light weight, feels very nice in the hands and very smooth zoom ring. The bokeh is pretty decent too, doesn't melt the backround too much, but its still pretty good. All of it seems very much worth the price, but the only thing that makes me give it a 4 out of 5, is the IS motor noise, very annoying...It grinds a lot and its pretty loud, you also have to turn off the IS to get rid of the noise. On that note, this lens is not ideal for video if your using on camera microphones, it should be ok if your using something wireless near your subject.You would think this could be an easy fix for canon, but despite that the lens is good overall, did some test shots indoors with some cheap lighting equipment on my cat, turned out really good. Bottom line, if you can ignore the noise and are not doing a whole lot of photography that requires a lot less noise(like a quiet wedding reception in a church), then this is a good lens. For me though, I'll dish out the extra hundreds of dollars for the Canon F2.8, despite the weight, or the Tamron version.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Incredible Lens
    by

    on February 20, 2016

    The EF 70-200 f/4L IS has surpassed my high expectations. Really a fantastic lens.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Excellent lens
    by

    on November 14, 2015

    So easy to use takes excellent pictures. Image stabilization works so good even on auto.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • A must-have lens
    by

    on August 8, 2015

    I use this lens with my 5dmark3 and Rebel T6S. It produces really crisp sharp images on both cameras. I use it mainly for photographing outdoor portraits and wildlife. It is a lot lighter than the f2.8 IS version and also hundreds cheaper.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com