Reviews

DJI Ronin-S Essentials Stabilizer Kit - Black


Sort

  • Solid Workhorse.
    by Jonny

    on January 21, 2020

    Used this gimbal for a year at work before I finally bit the bullet and purchased one for my own side projects. Very smooth handling of video, so long as you’ve calibrated correctly and practice (this is key to getting outstanding footage). Have mounted heavy gear, the heaviest being an a7iii + 85GM with no issues. Definitely recommend to those who need something solid, reliable and is capable of heavier payloads.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great gimbal
    by Tony

    on January 20, 2020

    This gimbal is priced really good and also works wonders and makes filming easy .

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • tough to figure out
    by slida

    on January 16, 2020

    Expect this to take some time to figure out --once you do it works well.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Love it. Better than the Crane 2
    by Brandon

    on January 6, 2020

    Better build quality. Can handle more weight. I shoot this with my 5D iv and 24-70 L 2.8 lens with no problem.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • A serious tool and its built like one
    by Producer

    on December 30, 2019

    First things first, if your a YouTuber and your just looking for the fasted possible way to Vlog, stop here. Get a Canon M-50 or a GoPro and put it on a table top gimbal and call it good. If, however, your looking for a professional tool that is made to last past the first gear cycle, your in the right place. The design and build quality are outstanding and the battery life is made to last through a complete day of production or wedding and it easily does. Most times I never actually turn it off. The Essentials kit is really the best deal going and the difference between the outfits is basically a plastic tripod stand verses a metal one and a few of the connection cables. The connection cables make more sense just to buy the 'one' you need for your camera from DJI direct, as they are only 20 bucks. The tripod is built like a tank, even the plastic one and you'll probably want the plastic one to reduce the overall weight anyway. This is built to carry more weight and larger setups than most other gimbals and that's a big deal if you have your camera inside a camera cage and don't want to take it out to use the gimbal. This can handle it with ease. Its surprisingly easy to balance after reading all the comments about it. I think its just using common sense and holding the other arms while balancing each one separately. I had no trouble at all with a Nikon Z6 inside a gage. Just be sure to balance with the lenz at the focal length your gonna use FIRST. Its SO much easier to just find and use a good quality quick release on top of the included area Swiss plate. That way, you can just pop it on and off after you balance it. The 3 programmable buttons are a life saver in real world use scenarios. At first I thought that having all the options on a little screen ( like the Moza Air 2 or Aircross ) made more sense....until I used them. In practice, its nearly impossible to actually make all those changes in real time on a busy shoot or wedding. Having the 3 programable buttons ( actually 4 with the mode controlling sports mode on the fly ) is way more than enough. and way easier to remember when you run and gun. There are a ton of aftermarket handles and accessories if you want to use it like a Crane 2 and much cheaper. The new firmware update Brough a TON of new features like gimbal control with your Xbox or Playstation controller, real subject tracking, and a host more stuff. DJI has real support too and a working online community that's a great resource. The others I tried were actually a nightmare to deal with after the sale.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • To basic of a kit
    by SummitRover

    on December 30, 2019

    To basic of a kit. There were not even enough components included to charge and use the gimbal. I had to return it and purchase the standard kit.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Superb Stabilizer
    by Jaime

    on December 27, 2019

    I’ve tried different camera stabilizers and this one out does them all! Works really good and has a comfortable grip. Definitely worth the price.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Outstanding gimbal with a ton of pro features!
    by Cuddy

    on December 21, 2019

    This gimbal is extremely well built and the battery life is just as promised (12 hours). Although, I haven't had a chance to completely deplete the battery, it has definitely carried me through multiple recording sessions with only a small drain on the power. The grip which is the battery has a strong sturdy feel with a rubber coating for extra grasp. Combined with the lower stand to give you ultimate control of the stabilizer. The joy stick is solid just like what is expected from DJI drone products. It gives you full control of the gimbal movement and is sensitive to the pressure applied to it as you would expect (a slight push moves the gimbal slowly in that direction). Set up is also relatively easy once you understand the balance adjustments based on the size and weight combination of your camera and lenses. Took me about 15 minutes to balance it out the first time, but now I can do it in a few minutes. Especially when I have to change camera accessories which throughs the balance off. You will get fast at it. Flashlight mode is an awesome feature allowing you to rotate the camera around its Z axis giving you some very interesting shots. Couple that with the free Ronin app (Apple and Android) on your phone or tablet and you have a lot more control over the parameters of the motors and axes, and displaying the balance and power distributions stats on your phone will give you a better idea of how to adjust each axis accordingly. Granted, you do not need the app to balance or change some of the settings, but it definitely makes it much easier process. All in all, I don't have any gripes as of yet with this fine piece of equipment. It has impressed me and most importantly, has giving me buttery smooth footage bringing it much closer to the professional quality I seek. I purchased the essentials kit because the price was better and I really don't need the rack focus knob on the side. I still prefer to use the autofocus on my camera or just adjust the lens focus ring. The case if also very sturdy made of hardened foam and has a stiff latch to prevent it from opening. If you are serious about stepping up the quality of your films, this is a must have accessory.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Good peice of kit
    by Johnny

    on December 17, 2019

    I've balanced both a A7RII, and a BMPCC6k on this gimbal with minimal issue. The BMPCC6k will need to be offset, and a weight added. One thing that would improve the kit would be include extra handles for more points of contact, and better control.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Easy to stabilize
    by Itami

    on December 7, 2019

    Easy to stabilize, great rotation, light weight, good grip

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com