We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Goal Zero Yeti 400 Solar Generator - 396 Wh

Rating Breakdown

5

84

4

17

3

5

2

3

1

7

Reviewer Recommendation

91%

Of the 107 reviewers who responded, 97 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality: Excellent

Value: Excellent

Ease of Use: Excellent

Sort By
  • Great backup power for camping.
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Jamie606 - June 19, 2020

    Have had this for 2 years and still going strong! Coupled with solar panels this thing goes forever.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • 3 years and still going!
    Reviewed by Tim T - September 4, 2019

    I purchased this 3 years ago as a backup power supply, and use it almost every day to charge my phones and tablets. I use a 100 watt solar panel when the sun is out, but AC the rest of the time. I've also used it for portable ham radio use, and it works great.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Battery didn't even last two years! Out $99+ship
    Reviewed by Laur - August 21, 2019

    Am really disappointed about having to purchase another battery - the first one died about 15 months after purchase. There has to be a better unit out there.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Awesome!
    Reviewed by Tcbranger - July 29, 2019

    I lived in a 5x8 travel trailer for 6 months and this was the only power supply I had. I had LED lights, iPhone, iPad, and little usb fan hooked up all the time. Used the Boulder 100 to keep it charged. If the weather called for a few cloudy days, I would take it into work for the day and let it wall charge. Haven’t had a problem with it so far.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Awesome until the AC output died
    Reviewed by bigwoofie - May 23, 2019

    We bought the Yeti 400 to run a CPAP in remote areas which it did beautifully as it is designed for medical equipment with the sine wave output on the 110AC, lasting the whole night (without the humidifier). Loved the design. Used it for about ten nights total. Then the AC output died. It ramps the current up and shuts off every time i try to power it up without anything plugged in. The other ports still work, but the AC is permanently dead. Hoping someone posts a better brand to use here. I'll check back. Funny that "Short Life" is a con button on the review form. Must be a real problem. Could get a powerwall from Tesla for not much more.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Reviewed by ShredDh - May 22, 2019

    My dad left my goal zero in the rain while we were floatin a river for a week and it filled up through the top 4 bolts! The screen was full of water, everything really.. bummer but I dried it out by opening it up and blowing a fan on it.. still works 100 percent! Maybe even better than before. I have lived in a truck for 2 years so this thing has endured some pain, sleeping all winter with temps below 0F, litterally 10* wow. No charge controller or inverter BS just plug and play! Makes life easy, I added an extra Yeti 400 batt and this thing keeps the fridge going 24/7 + computer charges etc etc

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Storage???
    Reviewed by Indigo - April 18, 2019

    I bought this and found it does not store power well at all. Also highly doubt it holds 400watts. For example: charges I-Pad from 26%-100% and Sony a7II DSLR camera battery top off new purchase, draining 40%. And for being so outdoor & “green” friendly, it was disappointing that 12v charger cable for expeditions/journeys is NOT included. Glorified power adapter for solar power access! Very disappointed! Was hoping this could store power for various small draw expedition needs at night. Not. The handle is very nice for comfort carry.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Not solar
    Reviewed by  - August 29, 2018

    If I have to plug it in to charge it up,then it is not solar powered.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Goal Zero yeti 400 linthium
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Justanother106 - July 20, 2018

    This is hands dr own the best portable battery backup available, I love this thing!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Great Assist for Emergency Prep!
    Reviewed by calipac - June 3, 2018

    I use my Yeti to charge my phone daily, and other devices sporadically. It is important to keep keep it charged and also use it regularly. Just like the battery in your car. If you do not use it and charge it, it will prematurely expire and be of no use. My Yeti will be ready for an emergency because I use it and keep it charged.

    Review originally posted on goalzero.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)