Reviews

Google Pixel Slate 12.3" 128GB Chrome OS Tablet With 8th Gen Intel Core i5 Processor - Midnight Blue


Sort

  • Zippy with tiny learning curve
    by Oskie

    on January 28, 2020

    I had my reservations at first but later learn to love the Pixel Slate after days of usage. Battery life is spectacular! Speakers are loud and crisp. I'll admit, tablet mode is not the greatest experience. It works good, just not well. I haven't experienced any over heating only a few hiccups with the notifications. With every Chrome OS update the device feels polished and refine. Android apps are not really that good. Chrome web apps look nice and clean and are a HUGE part of the OS experience.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • love it
    by Kiddo

    on January 16, 2020

    i love this chromebook. its fast and smooth. although it could improve on the smoothness a lil bit.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Incredibly buggy for a 1 year old product
    by Scotty

    on January 11, 2020

    I purchased this on sale during the holiday season, and I will say it was worth the price of roughly half off. However I am dumbfounded by the amount of bugs the Slate has. Many Android apps crash, or cause a system crash. I have had bluetooth pairing issues. The touch screen can get laggy and unresponsive. The onscreen keyboard is atrocious. You'd think the company that created the fantastic Gboard keyboard, would migrate over the features to ChromeOS. That is NOT the case. When I turn the tablet on, and it asks for my PIN, sometimes there is a popup that blocks some numbers. You can't get around it! Periodic flickering issues. More unexplained reboots/crashes. Font sizes in Android or Linux are not carried over from ChromeOS, so they default to super tiny. The list goes on and on. And yet I'm keeping it. Here's why. I can work through these issues and I feel more will get resolved with time. I also didn't spend that much, so it's a "toy" for me. Not a necessity. Using Chrome browser is phenomenal! You get the full desktop experience in a tablet. Unmatched and far superior to an Android browser. Access to Android apps, when they work, is truly a bonus. Access to Linux (beta) has great potential, and another techy tool to play around with. The screen is stunning! Watching any media is fantastic. And speakers sound full and all around really good. Bottom line, I'm using this for viewing content. I won't be using it for productive tasks at this time. I am disappointed Google has so many bugs on this device, but if it wasn't for them supporting ChromeOS on this device for another 6 years, I wouldn't have bought it. Second Bottom Line. Only buy this if you get a great deal. Not a good deal. A great deal. And know what you're getting into.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Heartbreaking
    by Pfpf

    on January 6, 2020

    I wanted this to be my One Device, the screen to rule all others. It’s mostly a hot mess.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • This new revamped edition of the Slate is a wonder
    by Tochtli

    on December 29, 2019

    Ignore the reviews from a year ago. This latest and least expensive edition of this device sports a full-on Intel i5. Gone is the Celeron, 16GB RAM & either 64GB or 128GB of onboard memory. The screen is amazing and the apps universally show no lag. The stylus is good and the keyboard, though a little wiggly in the lap, is still great for typing on a more-or-less even surface (even a bed). It is lightweight and runs Linux and Android flawlessly. What more could one ask from such a reasonably priced unit? (I did get this on Cyber Monday).

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • awesome first chromebook
    by Diggz

    on December 11, 2019

    the pixel slate is the first Chromebook i ever owned and second tablet. As a 2 in 1 it works great for me as i can use it for schooling checking emails,typing and reading documents in any orientation. i tend to use it during my off times for entertainment watching videos, searching the web or sometimes drawing. The slate as a bright big screen and great speakers. I want to say i was like a lot of you who took the reviews serious and seen this a total flop, but after using it can say that this is a pretty neat device that should have been great from the start. i only held off cause of the price and i rather stay within the google ecosystem than get an ipad (im not an apple fan) or even a surface book since they are both good choices depending on your preference. Maybe it was the software or the price range the held it back but now i think we should give it a shot.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • way better than the early reviews claim
    by terrys

    on October 18, 2019

    I guess waiting for the right price, and for the chrome os to get updated a few times was the way to go. works great no issues.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Solid Chrome OS tablet with a learning curve...
    by drklbc

    on September 25, 2019

    The Pixel Slate is a great step in the right direction when it comes to Chrome OS hybrid tablet/laptop alternatives. I found the Chrome OS interface a bit confusing and does require some time to learn the functionality of the OS... I didn't find it to be as fluid as other interface like Android and PadOS then again this is truly a hybrid OS. Be prepared for a learning curve that is very achievable. The built quality is top notch with a high quality look and feel. Display is a high res (comparable to the iPad Retina display), speakers are much better than the iPad Pro (I believe there's a dual setup on the Pixel), battery life is up to par with comparable devices (10-11 hours with my prefer settings). 128GB is enough to download plenty of movies ahead of time for long trips/getaways. WiFi speeds are very fast (would be better if it had an LTE option as well). I truly believe the Pixel Slate is a great entertainment tablet, productivity can be done but it will also require a bit of an adjustment. Sadly, the keyboard ($199) and pen ($99) are separate and third party accessories are hard to come by. Overall, if you're invested in the Google ecosystem, this is the perfect iPad Pro substitute. Thanks. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great for home use not ready for business!!
    by rickygordon

    on September 21, 2019

    I went all in on this device, bought the tablet and both the Google Folio case and the Brydge Bluetooth keyboard. I wanted to use this as ny meeting and travel computer, both portable and powerful. So to the review, hardware is amazing, great screen, fingerprint reader, slim, great speakers etc, oh but for the software it would be a slam dunk. The software is simply not ready and the best example of this is Hangouts meeting a Google developed product, that if used on this device will literally use all the resources of the tablet until it’s unusable and you need to reboot. This is one of many examples and for the price this should not be the case

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Powerful and Quick
    by MrSJ

    on September 8, 2019

    I love how quick it is gets the job done whether its for my personal business or just scrolling through social media. Switching to Tablet mode is a breeze and the screen is huge.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com