Reviews

Insignia USB Bluetooth Adapter (NS-PCY5BMA2-C) - Black - Only at Best Buy


Sort

  • Not plug and play on Win10 64bit 1809 and 1903
    by

    from  on September 7, 2019

    but yet was plug and play on Win 7 64bit,I'm really disappointed that Insigna Products site doesn't provide appropriate drivers for this thing! What version of Windows 10 are people on this review using!??? I tried on 1809 and 1903 both of which fail to find any drivers through windows update / microsoft update. I even searched the Microsoft Update Catalog by Hardware ID to no avail. After hours of deep searches for BCM20702A0 I eventually found the following HP hardware forum dating back to 2015! https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hardware-and-Upgrade-Questions/BCM20702A0-Windows-10-64-bit-drivers/m-p/5316250#M199744 Driver download link: ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp74501-75000/sp74543.exe Installed the HP sp74543.exe,then manually checked Device Manager,update driver...and eventually found the drivers cached in c:\SWSetup\SP74543... Very annoying how I had to rely on a 3rd party driver archive to make this work: "This package contains the Broadcom Bluetooth driver for supp". I'm wondering if there is different hardware revisions of this thing out in the wild where drivers install no problem,and others not so much!? Anyways,now I can finally pair up my PS4 controller and cell phone for direct file transfers,use Bluetooth speakers,etc!


  • Cuts out intermittently
    by

    from Nova Scotia on July 15, 2019

    Used this to pair my surface keyboard with my desktop. It seems like the dongle goes completely unresponsive after small periods of inactivity, so I would often need to hit keys to "wake up" the dongle before anything would be registered from the keyboard. You could visually tell when the keyboard wasn't going to be responsive, because a small blue light on the dongle itself wouldn't be illuminated. After getting an Asus model the problem did not persist.


  • It’s good!
    by

    from Saskatoon on May 9, 2019

    It is amazing but if you have a custom built pc, you need to look up, intel bluetooth driver latest and when it is installed, it will work.


  • Wish I replaced my built-in Bluetooth adapter a lot earlier
    by

    from Winnipeg, MB on March 19, 2019

    I didn't give it 5 stars because the flashing Bluetooth light is annoying. But it blows away what was built in my Acer desktop. I can't believe that it actually even sounds better! And I can go so much farther before it drops out. Super easy installation on my computer. Picked up driver right away. Wait until the computer says "restart". It takes a few minutes for the installation. Restart the computer. I wonder with all the bad reviews that whoever makes this for Insignia fixed the previous problems. Anyways mine works amazingly well!


  • Doesn't work
    by

    from Toronto, ON on March 4, 2019

    it won't work with any of my peripherals at even close ranges. Headphones lose signal and microsoft surface mouse loses connection constantly.


  • No driver support
    by

    from Montreal, QC on February 8, 2019

    Was expected a plug and play type of scenario. Didn't even find a Windows 10 supported driver online when the packaging mentions support for Windows 10. Their website don't have any drivers available for any OS. Spent 15 minutes digging into forums to find I'm not the only one with struggles to find drivers. Gave up and refunded item. Not recommended, a lot of people online have issues with drivers.


  • Beware of scam
    by

    from Cambridge, ON on February 7, 2019

    Product is a scam. Beware.


  • Total waste of money
    by

    from Kirkland, QC on August 13, 2018

    Against my better judgment, I ordered this from Best Buy online. It took me two weeks to receive it by mail (which was forever considering there is a shop only a 30 minute drive from my house), and it doesn't even work. It cannot pick up any of my Bluetooth devices, and I have tried multiple workarounds using Bluetooth and Intel drivers to no avail. Total waste of money. I should have bought a different product from a different vendor. Best Buy has a history selling sub par electronic brands like Insignia to customers, and I should have tread more carefully while picking this out. I plan on returning my purchase as soon as possible since they basically sold me garbage.


  • Works without any issues!!
    by

    from Edmonton, AB on April 21, 2018

    This adapter was recognised by Windows 10 instantly and picked up my USB 4 device for my Dell VR controllers


  • Driver not found for Windows 7 64-bit (Solved by digging through forums)
    by

    from North York, ON on March 14, 2018

    I had a problem finding the driver. The official Insignia site was of no use, and I could not find the matching driver on the Broadcom website. Searching through the forums I was able to find a compatible HP packaged driver that works on my custom built desktop. It should therefore work for anyone. ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp74501-75000/sp74543.exe Hardware seems to work, but it's unacceptable that Insignia does not include instructions on getting drivers in the package or even the website. https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hardware-and-Upgrade-Questions/bcm20702a0-bluetooth-driver/td-p/5930521 1-star removed for no drivers included in the package (Packaging on back says device is compatible with WIndows 7). 1-star removed for no drivers on official Insignia website. 1-star removed for lack of instructions on drivers in the package 1-star removed for having to use drivers from another company TL;DR; Wasted my time hunting for drivers, but ultimately it can work.