We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Insignia Portable Air Conditioner - 8000 BTU - White/Grey - Only at Best Buy

Rating Breakdown

5

97

4

70

3

12

2

9

1

19

Reviewer Recommendation

86%

Of the 180 reviewers who responded, 154 would recommend this product.

Sort By
  • Huge noise
    Reviewed by  - June 30, 2019

    I bought danby 14000bpu and insignia 12000 bpu ,set up in a large apartment. run them at the same time, so I can tell difference. Danby is far more better than insignia. Danby runs smoothly and quietly, but when I started up insignia I felt the apartment floor is shaking! Sorry I will have to return insignia.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • will never suggest someone to buy
    Reviewed by  - July 18, 2019

    Bought this 1 month back from Coventry location and now it heats the room up instead of cooling. Just garbage for 340 dollars. I tried to contact the company for replacement but no use. was never expecting this from BestBuy. please don't waste your money on these. I am really disappointed with this product best buy. will never trust your products.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Loud and heavy
    Reviewed by  - June 22, 2018

    This thing is LOUD, even for portable AC unit standards. I tried some tricks I read online to reduce the noise but it did not improve much. It's also HEAVY, more than other brands. You shouldn't buy this online if you won't be at home to receive it. Best Buy sends it by Canada Post and it will require you to pick the package up at a local post office; it weighs 24 kg and it's no fun task to carry it back home yourself.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • This is absolute trash. Made room hotter!
    Reviewed by  - July 29, 2019

    This is garbage. It literally made the room Hotter! My poor older dad had to sweat his guts out all night until the Best Buy opened for me to exchange it. I’m so annoyed. Terrible.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Cheap accessories!
    Reviewed by  - May 8, 2020

    The exhaust hose and window panel are very cheap, the exhaust doesn't fit securely in the window panel, also every time you move the unit the hose falls apart, the window panel is just over 4feet 3inches fully extended (which it states on the box) the remote is very basic and the unit doesn't seem to turn off fully( still lights up), unit has a low and high fan setting, which are pretty much the same and are both loud and pretty weak. the good thing about this unit is that you can direct the airflow,

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • It’s a fan not air conditioner
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Izzy - May 3, 2020

    This make no difference in our home. It’s a fan that moves air. Even on Cool, High Speed with the temperature turned down to 65, the air is not cold and the room doesn’t cool off.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Great Air Conditioner
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Happy30 - May 2, 2020

    I brought this AC for my granddaughter. The central air went out. She's happy and cool so I'm I.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • works great for small rooms
    Verified BuyerReviewed by JoseMunguia24 - November 22, 2019

    It works very well for small rooms, it cools very well, I do not recommend it much in bedrooms because the internal compressor makes a lot of noise

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Great for small rooms!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by GoRays - November 13, 2019

    This unit works very well in a small bedroom here in FL during summer. Remote is extremely handy and has good range. Easy to install and set up.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Amazing
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Julio1971 - November 13, 2019

    Easy to use, perfect for traveling and in case of an emergency, it covers the established area with great precision

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)