We’re here to get you what you need.
Shop online for pickup or delivery, or visit a store for a safe shopping and service experience.Learn more

Customer Reviews

KitchenAid 2.0 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (YKMHS120ES) - Stainless Steel

Rating Breakdown

5

483

4

99

3

10

2

4

1

16

Reviewer Recommendation

95%

Of the 612 reviewers who responded, 583 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality:
Value:
Ease of Use:

Sort

  • Full featured microwave looks amazing, works well
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Chris - September 12, 2020

    We finally got our hands on this new KitchenAid model a couple of weeks ago and I really like these features already... the white LED clock is really bright and easy to read from across the room (no nightlight needed) and the chipper tune the unit makes when the cook timer is done is easy to hear over standard room noise but not annoying. The Add 30 second cool feature is still my most used function for most cooking, but there is so many other cooking options that it may take me a year to try them all. The interior is roomy and efficient while the exterior glossy black doo and stainless steel frame looks great mounted in my cabinets.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Kitchenaid Again
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Buggc - December 20, 2016

    This is third kitchenaid microwave we have owned. Have downgraded a bit with this one because we have had browning and grilling capable as well as convection capable units before but never used these functions. Wife does like the interface on this unit as well as 16 sensor buttons. Last one had touch screen..This unit gave us a scare second day in use the display went out,the unit worked but no screen. Later that night came back on and not happened again.Also like the large dish.I notice the smaller wattage of 1000 compared to our last witch was 11000.Because of glitch with screen and lower power this unit gets 4 stars.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Nice looking,great cooking
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Casualcook - February 27, 2016

    Bought this to replace a 10 year old Frigidaire that was a bit smaller. I like the way this looks and feels-the door feels solid and the interior has a nice finish. It is VERY quiet when cooking, and there have been no issues with cold and hot spots or spattering that were common when using our previous microwave. I disabled the extended "beepity beep" that sounds when food is done heating as it was kind of annoying to me. I've used the sensor cook option and it has worked well for heating frozen entrees. This is not the cheapest option out there, and it is a cut above the more utilitarian models I've had before.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Great for this 1st month!
    Verified BuyerReviewed by CHtraveler - January 15, 2019

    Microwave only been installed a month, so not too much experience with it yet - & it will be some time to take advantage of its many features! So far, it's been great, though as stated, there are lots of cooking/defrosting/warming options yet to be put to use. This oven replaces a Samsung microwave that served us extremely well for about 6 yrs - util it just stopped! Followed Consumer Reports evaluation on ovens that contained all the features we loved on the Samsung, & this KitchenAid came out on top, though it's bit more costly than the Samsung was at the time. Hope in a year or so I can give this KitchenAid a 5-star review, but just don't have enough experience with it yet.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Unexpected Benefit
    Verified BuyerReviewed by BoldSolar - August 28, 2019

    For most of us a microwave is pretty basic.But there are many on the market that have the push button levers in the front that you use to open the door. Then you push the door closed. I appreciate the handle that KitchenAid designed. I often would get my finger nail caught on the body of the microwave if I was not careful pushing the lever that opens the door. It was rare but happened a few times over my life. There is no chance of this happening with my KitchenAid. All the features are all on point. I especially love the sensing function that automatically gauges how long to blast frozen entrees. The end of cycle alarm is very pleasing and unlike any I've heard in the past. Even my guests notice it. :)

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Awesome Wave & Great Quality
    Verified BuyerReviewed by AmyLynn - July 26, 2017

    By far the best appliance purchase. Recommend help installing due to weight and placement but besides difficult install by yourself, very nice wave. The door closes smoothly and has all the features you can possibly imagine. The only negative thing I might say and likely more an issue of where we have stove in relation to wall, the wave light seems a little too far on back side. It lights well, but highest illumination is on stove controls. Not really a problem considering it's perfect aside from that. Heard evenly, versatile, multiple light & fan speed settings and I use the kitchen timer for everything. By far a much higher quality product. Sure wish I had purchased all my other appliances by Kitchenaid.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Looks nice, heats well
    Verified BuyerReviewed by panking - July 21, 2017

    I purchased this model as it had some of the best reviews. It is everything the reviews said it was. Works good. I installed it myself in the space I had a previous over the range microwave. It went up very easily. Had to enlarge the vent hole in the upper cabinet and modify the vent to roof but all went well. Only one issue so far and that is that twice I have walked up to the unit to find the display off. Still had power but could not use any of the buttons. Hour later all working and the clock was still at the correct time. Will have to watch that while still under warranty.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Great microwave
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Mike - September 4, 2017

    I bought this to replace a over-the-range microwave in our new condo that was not working. Taking the old unit out and preparing the site for the new unit was straight forward with the templates provided. Hanging it was also pretty simple. The unit looks great and functions well. It is a bit taller than the previous unit so it makes the range a bit harder to see at my height (6'4"). That is no fault of the unit, I should have plotted out the dimensions before buying. People have been asking what the inside looks like so I took a picture. It is a specked metallic grey.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Failed twice in less than two years!
    Reviewed by MattressMan - August 29, 2019

    I would not buy this again and would not recommend this product to anyone. Purchased it and installed it. In less than a year the main magnatron died and had to be replaced. Fortunately it was under warranty so it was not cost to me. Then, just after the warranty expired, the door latch gave out so the microwave will not work. There are must less expensive options out there that do the same thing. I will never buy another electronic item from KitchenAid/Whirlpool. Plus, it was difficult to install as it did not fit like my previous microwave did.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

  • Microwave quit working after two years!
    Reviewed by Vicky - October 5, 2017

    I bought this microwave after I replaced all my appliances with Kitchenaid appliances. Unfortunately I didn't buy the warranty as I've never had a microwave quit before so figured I didn't need it. I did buy the warranty on the refrigerator, dishwasher and ovens. I had a repairman out for the refrigerator and he said the sensors had probably gone bad. To replace them would cost $450! Unbelievable! To think I paid $519.97 for this microwave to quit in two years blows my mind! If you do buy this microwave, BUY A WARRANTY!!!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.