Reviews

Lenovo Smart Display 8" with Google Assistant


Sort

  • Great Google Assistant smart display
    by

    from  on October 16, 2019

    The sound is really good on this smart display,plus it seems like every month new features are added to this smart display. It's one thing to own and use a smart speaker. But since this can do everything a smart speaker can do. Only this can do a lot more,and it's bring the true definition of a picture is worth a 1000 words,especially when you ask for some information,and you get some graphical information or a chart as well as the voice response. It's better when you want to check for lottery tickets. Restaurant and menu information,and a lot more. Not to mention using your voice to play your YouTube videos is pretty cool.


  • Nice display
    by

    from Toronto on August 11, 2019

    Love it


  • Great as a smart speaker, and makes an even better smart display.
    by

    from Mississauga on June 25, 2019

    I love that I can use nothing but my voice to play YouTube videos. I also heard recently that I will be able to do the same with Netflix in the future. Can't wait for that to happen. I hope more 3rd party app support will be added in the future. Other than that it's a great smart display.


  • Love it
    by

    from Ontario on April 23, 2019

    Love the operating system. Works well with google home. I also like having my pictures shown when I'm doing things around the house. Video calling is pretty cool too.


  • Great display, felt the need to review after seeing these reviews
    by

    from London on April 18, 2019

    It's a great smart display. Even has a camera as opposed to the Home Hub which does not. Speakers are nice and loud, and screen is really nice. The updates are handled by Google, so there's nothing wrong software wise.


  • Is great ...when it does what you want it to
    by

    from Burlington, ON on April 9, 2019

    Had this for about a month now. It is a fun little unit and we enjoying being able to see what it is playing and looking at the weather details etc. Using it as night stand alarm clock. Issue, if you have the time display on then the screen has to be on and it, even at the lowest dimming, emits far too much light, it lights up the entire half of the bedroom so we must tell it to turn the screen off which of course you can then no longer see the time. Also, if you set a music alarm and it loses wifi during the night....no music plays...there should be a back up alarm for such occasions. So we turn of the screen at night, and only use the google home alarm to wake us up. Not exactly what we had in mind. Hopefully when Lenovo's Google Alarm Clock comes out, these issue will be resolved and we will relocate this unit to the kitchen where it's full functionality will be better utilized. Other then these few quirks, it s a fun and interesting addition to our home.


  • Amazing
    by

    from Barrie, Ontario on March 27, 2019

    Hooked up so easily. Sound is great. Google home is greatly enhanced. Hooked it up automatically to our smart doorbell. Streaming of all network programs is amazing. Great addition to smart home. Best part of our smart home devices. Highly recommended. Best on the market.


  • crap product don't buy
    by

    from Beaumont, AB on February 17, 2019

    The video display no longer works! I just bought it in December. I'm not a happy costumer


  • Buyer beware
    by

    from London, ON on February 6, 2019

    Earlier reviews - same issues... Works great - when it works. Google doesn't support this device .


  • Don't Buy
    by

    from Kingston, ON on January 23, 2019

    I never write reviews but felt obligated to leave one today. I bought the smart display over the Christmas holidays and it worked fine for about 2 weeks then shut itself off and won't turn back on. After doing some digging on the internet found out this is a pretty common problem so buyer beware. Contacted lenovo and they would honour the warranty but I had to mail it to them. Not paying for shipping when I can simply return it. Lucky for me it broke while I can still return it, you might not be so lucky.