Reviews

Logitech G815 Backlit Mechanical Clicky Gaming Keyboard - English


Sort

  • End game level keyboard
    by Manalow

    on October 12, 2019

    I have had many mechanical keyboards. From the k95 platinum to the k70 rapidfire to custom built $300+ keyboards. This keyboard beats all of them. It is so satisfying to type on. I saw it in the store and knew I had to have it. Even tho there is no wrist rest, one is not needed because of how thin the keyboard is. The clicky switches are perfectly loud. Not annoying or anything. Highly recommend this board.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • AMAZING
    by Bueno

    on October 12, 2019

    Comfortable, fast, programming is amazing, color changing, Metal construction, worthhhh

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Awesome, smooth, few drawbacks
    by Anonymous

    on September 9, 2019

    I've always wanted the smooth typing that mesh keyboards gave, though I wanted the tactile feedback that mechanical gave also. This is the best of both worlds. It's well built, I can tell this wont get damaged easily in the years to come. Though the drawbacks, which can be adjusted to, were easily noticed from the beginning. The G keys are closer to your pinky than you think. I found myself disabling them in some games because I'd press them constantly. The instructions are useless. Download the Logitech G Hub for setting up the keyboard. And lastly, Logitech doesnt believe in wrist rest. Buy The Rocat wrist pad if you need to elevate your wrist. That's still something thats a lowkey importance if youre used to it.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Fantastic Keyboard!
    by Decima

    on September 8, 2019

    I thought about buying this keyboard for a bit. I bought the Razer Huntsman a few months ago, so I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend money on another keyboard. They ended up having one on display and I gave it a shot. The keyboard went right into my hand and purchased right away. For it being a clicky keyboard, it's not super clicky which is nice, but the keys have a distinct feel to them. The keyboard itself is sturdy too. It has a nice weight, and doesn't slide around my desk. I'm honestly thinking about getting a 2nd one for work. I would highly recommend!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Non-stop colors...
    by Chuck

    on September 4, 2019

    I decided to test the Logitech G815 gaming keyboard because I still game quite a bit and I wanted to try a mechanical gaming keyboard. Right out of the box, it's easy to see that this keyboard is built for use. The body is a grayish/blue aluminum that makes the keyboard quite a bit heavier than my previous non-gaming keyboard. This was a bit surprising, especially since the G815 looks smaller than my original keyboard because of it's flatter, streamlined design. The nice thing about the additional weight is that the G815 stays put, where my previous keyboard would sometimes slip on the keyboard tray. For the most part, I'm pleased with the design of this keyboard, but I have had a few issues with it. My hands are kind of big, so getting used to this keyboard has taken some time, especially when using it for work. I tried using the programmable G-keys located on the far left of the keyboard for a few work related functions, but I found myself hitting them accidentally when trying to hit the Tab or Shift, so I wound up having to disable them when I'm not in a game. One other thing I discovered is that the secondary character labels (on the num-keys, etc) are difficult to see at night without a lamp on; occasionally I work in the evening without a light on, and although I know where the characters are that I want, sometimes I look at the keyboard out of habit... only now, those labels are too faint for me to see. Not a show-stopper, but something that I didn't expect. I also miss the wrist rest that was on my previous keyboard (again because my hands are kind of big). I assume Logitech wanted to reduce the footprint of this keyboard as much as possible, but I wish they had least made the wrist rest an option, so the user could choose for themselves... surely a wrist rest wouldn't have added much to the production cost/end price of the product. For gaming, the keyboard is a homerun. The action of the keys are short and precise, so you know when you've actually pressed the key. The ability to completely customize the color of the keyboard, down to an individual key, is extremely useful when you need to highlight certain keys and/or ignore others. You can also download pre-programmed settings for particular games or use pre-set animations... all using Logitech's GHUB software. Some of the animations are quite amazing. Although it has taken some getting used to, I'm quite pleased with this keyboard. The only ding I would give it is the absence of a wrist rest, but other than that, it's a very nice product that seems to be built for alot of use. I would recommend this to anyone in the market for a nice gaming keyboard. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • A fantastic keyboard for all!
    by stangapds

    on September 3, 2019

    I'm in love with this keyboard! I've used my fair share of different mechanical keyboards over the years, but this one by far is my favorite for build quality, design, key feel, sound, and more! The build quality blew me away with this keyboard. It's extremely low profile, has a good weight to it, and just feels like it's built like a tank. There's a nice metal plate the runs the entire surface of the keyboard, and the buttons have a great response feel to them and the audible click sound is different from everything I've heard before and is very pleasant to the ears. I found myself wanting to keep typing more and more just to keep experiencing the feel and sound of this keyboard. I'm also a fairly fast typist and find myself making less mistakes on this keyboard since it feels like my fingers are almost just floating above the keyboard and dancing on the keys. It's such a different feeling from all the other mechanical keyboards I've used in the past. You'll definitely get the most out of this keyboard by downloading the Logitech G-Hub software. The software allows you to fully customize the lighting and create as many profiles with macros as you want. This allows you to setup your 5 macro "G" keys on the left hand side of the keyboard relative to the specific task or program at hand, allowing the macro keys to automatically morph to what you're doing at the moment. Gone are the days the keys can only be programmed to do a single thing. You can program each G key to do a specific thing depending on what profile or program you're running, really opening up the options. The software easily updates itself and makes updating the firmware for the keyboard quick and painless as well. Overall, I'm just impressed. There's almost nothing I would change on this keyboard. I prefer a hardwired keyboard, although there is a wireless option if you want that. The media volume roller could use a physical index bump so you knew how much you were scrolling, but it's not a big deal, it's just my preference. In terms of unboxing, one side note there as well was the wire twist ties wrapping the cord. I was unable to untwist with my fingers and needed pliers to get them off. Whatever machine they use to put those on should be a little less aggressive. All in all though, I'm extremely satisfied with this keyboard and can't wait to keep typing and using it moving forward! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great Gaming Keyboard
    by abl001

    on August 28, 2019

    The Logitech G815 is a very nice and satisfying keyboard to own. Out of the box, it's aluminum finish top feels very substantive. While the bottom half of the keyboard is made of plastic, the entire thing still has some weight to it which is kind of a nice thing. Being a wired keyboard, it's not expected that you'll be running around your living room with it, but that it will sit somewhere fairly regularly. For performance, this wired keyboard performs as expected and on par with other wired gaming keyboards. This keyboard comes with 4 macro settings and 5 programmable keys. The Logitech G Hub software allows you to set pre-programmable settings based on program so you don't even have to pick a macro setting. It will automatically activate based on the program that opens. Another nice function is that this keyboard will deactivate keys that you determine if you desire should they be problematic during game play (think the windows key). The keyboard RGB lighting is fully programmable per key which is not particularly unusual for a high end gaming keyboard, but is still very enjoyable to experience. Another great feature is the volume scroll wheel which is a bit large for my taste, but some may find this an added benefit. It's more like a scroll log than a scroll wheel, but it serves as a nice way to quickly adjust the volume. Finally, the keyboard comes with an added USB port which can be plugged directly into your keyboard. The keyboard USB cable splits at the PC end which is where the two accessories separate. In conclusion, the Logitech G815 is an excellent keyboard for gaming. It does come with a high price tag which may deter some buyers, but for those who are serious about gaming and value the quality and precision of their keyboard, it won't. Pros: -Quality build -Aluminum top -Customizable gaming keys and macros -Key travel (long) and responsiveness -USB connection directly from keyboard Cons: -Price -No built in wrist rest [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Everything I Need
    by glspark2007

    on August 27, 2019

    For me, this keyboard has everything I need...and then some. I love the slim design and overall look. It's a sleek design and feels very well made without being clunky or over the top. The programmable keys are second to none in terms of other keyboards I've used. I feel like the simplicity of setting everything up puts the G815 over the top. For the most part, I've had no issues with connectivity, although the Logitech G HUB is not my favorite set up, it works. It isn't a big enough complaint for me to take off a star for what is an incredible slim and durable keyboard that meets all of my quality requirements. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Clicky goodness.
    by TechnicallyCorrect

    on August 27, 2019

    So I’ve been using the G815 for a week and I am impressed. The first thing you will notice is the heft of the product, it is solid and heavy weight. Personally, I like a gaming keyboard with some weight to it because it does not slip under aggressive typing - it definitely makes a difference. While the keyboard is solid, it is very thin coming at less than an inch with the keys and about half that not counting the keys. So let’s talk about the most important factor a keyboard, the actual typing. I used it in 3 scenarios, everyday typing, gaming and photo editing. In any scenario, the typing is a pleasure. Very responsive and the keys have that fulfilling positive click with that tactile response one would expect in a gaming keyboard. In some ways it reminds me of the old IBM keyboards but with a lot less travel required for a full keystroke. For gaming , the reaction is instantaneous - there was no lag whatsoever. Movement is precise and very fast. If you are a gamer , you know it is all about actions per second and with the low travel and short keys; this is about as good as it gets. The keyboard has programmable “G” keys on the left side of the board. While that is a nice feature and it can help with quick actions, it does add some width to keyboard. I did find myself shifting the keyboard over when using the mouse. It’s not the end of the world but it was noticeable. On the right side is the media controls and top notch. The volume scroll wheel is metal, smooth and precise with a very high quality feel to it. How does it hold up to other brand? Overall, pretty well. The Logitech G815 is very similar to the Corsair K95, even down to the media center. The price is at the upper range of most of the gaming keyboards and I think at $200, it is bit overpriced when you can get a great keyboard for $70 less. You will notice that most of competition has a wrist pad that is included in the price while the G815 does not . At this price point, it should have one. Wrist pads are not expensive but I like the ones that the competition has because it is customer for the keyboard. Minor complaint but one that should not be overlooked. I am not going to go into the details of the LED lights and syncing with mouse lights. It may look good at first but who cares about that when you are in middle of the game. In summary this is nice , well built, top of the line keyboard that you will not be disappointed in ; provided you can get past the price. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Logitech and choices
    by Reddog

    on August 24, 2019

    Logitech - G815 LIGHTSYNC RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard with GL Clicky Switch The Logitech 815 is a new design I have not seem from Logitech before. It is clearly a gaming keyboard with it individual RGB lighting, macro keys and ability to defeat the windows key. It also includes a USB passthrough and some very easy to use multimedia keys. The new design is the thin low profile format that is both modern looking and a departure from the standard designs we have had forever. My current gaming keyboard has a padded wrist rest. The logitech with its low profile doesn’t need a wrist rest which is nice and frees up room on your desktop. An interesting feature is also the G815 can be had with three different types of Logitech’s GL mechanical keys. The version I have is called the GL Clicky. This has a pleasant audible click and tactile feedback. They also offer GL Tactile with a bump when pressing down and a GL Linear that is claimed as completely smooth. I do like the Logitech GL mechanical keys and I use one daily in my office. If there is one thing I wish Logitech would have changed is the need to use up two USB ports. Some smaller computers might not have the extra USB port. And it also makes the cable thicker. I have another Logitech keyboard with full RBG lighting that works just fine using one USB connection. I suppose the second one is needed for the USB passthrough.The Logitech G815 looks great, has some of the nicest mechanical keys of any manufacturer and is a pleasure to use. The price does put it at the higher end level although, I am a big proponent of using quality peripherals for computers and especially gaming. Your keyboard, mouse and monitor are mostly what you interact with on a PC and can really make a difference that a slightly faster CPU might not even be noticed. And can also last through several upgrade cycles so choose them carefully. With Logitech products you almost can’t go wrong and now the options are even better. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com