Reviews

Onkyo TX-NR787 9.2 Channel 4K Ultra HD Network AV Receiver


Sort

  • Easy setup.
    by

    from Etobicoke on February 8, 2020

    No problem hooking it up and connecting to our Samsung Q series. Note. Does not support a passive subwoofer. And if u use a Non Onkyo powered subwoofer you’ll need to look up the connection on the Subwoofers website. Other than that, no complaints after a week.


  • Fully loaded reciever for a Great price
    by

    from Alberta on January 11, 2020

    Pros: Easy set up out of the box , only a few pages to read and your up and running , I like how they didn't waste paper with a full manual . ( you can DL it though ) , and there is always the university of Ytube lol . A large selection of settings , so you can tweak for your room , preference. Cons : I haven't installed the App on phone yet , 3 or 4 versions , not sure which is the most stable , Have read a few issues with software up grades to the receiver itself , so will also wait until I read bugs are addressed . The speaker connections are a bit tight if your not using banana plugs , but it's just a one time thing .


  • Got a deal
    by Bjcoonbe25

    on January 3, 2020

    Found it openbox for under 250 man I would have paid the $470 if I know how great the receiver was!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Home theatre and Hifi
    by

    from Nelson on December 29, 2019

    Easy to setup. Great speaker optimization program. Enjoying music in different zones. Great upgrade from previous home theatre system. Got it on sale from Bestbuy and it arrived sooner than expected.


  • HDCP 2.2 issues
    by

    from Mississauga on December 23, 2019

    This is my third Onkyo receiver. All have had hardware issues and this one is no different. I connected all speakers and devices as I had configured with my other Onkyo with no issues. The issue is that all HDMI ports are HDCP 2.2 and there is a message "The content cannot be displayed on your tv (sub). please make sure HDMI connection on your HDCP 2.2 capable tv". It looks like the HDCP restrictions are causing the receiver not to display any video. This is from devices like by Bell TV HDPVR. I think I have no choice but to return this receiver.


  • AWESOME ELECTRONICS!
    by

    from Oshawa, Ontario on December 17, 2019

    This is my first purchase of a sophisticated AV receiver and so far I am impressed with all it can do. Set up out of the box was straight forward and the on-line manual is accessible and sufficiently detailed to answer any question so far. An upgraded speaker system will be in order to realize its full potential. Based on my limited experience I would highly recommend this product!


  • Great Receiver with a Secret Menu
    by

    from Gatineau on November 18, 2019

    PRO: Easy set-up right out of the box with the included quick-start guide and the mic. Plenty of power for all speakers. Sounds great even in a 5.0 configuration. CON: After getting the latest firmware upgrade, you will no longer be able to passthrough 4k YUV 4:2:2 12 bits Rec. 2020 60hz signal to your TV. That's Dolby Vision and HDR10. In order to restore the feature, it must be activated by holding the bd/dvd button on the receiver (not the remote) and pressing the power button.


  • One of my better ideas
    by Bob1102

    on November 1, 2019

    Works as described. Operation is intuitive and the downloaded instructions will get you through anything. Intigrated my antique VCR with no problem. Sound is fantastic. Speaker level setting with a test mic is a nice addition

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Very good upgrade for my home theater
    by kresh

    on October 26, 2019

    Old onkyo thx receiver finally bit the dust after around 13 years. Went with the current model as it seemed to have the features I wanted such as having a 7.1 speaker setup with 2 more channels for expansion. I've tested some of the capabilities of the new receiver such as playing different audio formats (Atmos, neural x, thx, etc) with 1080p blu ray video (including 3d) and it handled everything very well except having to turn off HDMI arc for the 3d playback to work. Also, HDMI passthrough works for the most part. If arc is turned off it slightly limits passthrough options (I was kinda forced to choose the most used HDMI source and set it to that). I have not used any of the audio streaming (WiFi, Bluetooth, etc) features yet, but the radio tuner works really well. All in all, so far this seems like a very good receiver and I am enjoying my purchase. I just wish I had 4k devices to test with the receiver. A couple more speakers to complete the setup would be nice too :)

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great for all uses
    by Austin

    on October 21, 2019

    This is a great receiver and I'm glad I didn't review it when I bought it because I just now added a zone 2 for my back porch and it works great!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com