Reviews

Philips Digital Air Fryer - 0.8 kg - Black


Sort

  • convenient
    by

    from Ontario on June 3, 2019

    Pros:: cooks without oil although keep a stainless steel bowl handy and squirt a bit of oil and toss it to coat the foods for extra crispness Easy to clan. removable pieces go in the dishwasher or just soak with hot soapy water Extra rack is handy for grilled cheese, meats, etc. Google has air fryer food ideas Takes up little countertop space Never have to worry about “ leavng the stove on” Cons: Add bit of water to basin if cooking bacon and other greasy food to prevent white smoke Don’t overfill basket to prevent food touching the burner (just above basket area) Depending on food being cooked, it sometimes leaves a greasy smell


  • health concern
    by

    from Edmonton, AB on July 11, 2018

    when operating the oil splashes on to the heating element, and there is no way to clean off the oil. Next time you operate it, it then smokes a lot.


  • good but slightly hard to clean
    by

    from Mississauga, ON on March 29, 2018

    Food comes out very good, but the bottom of the net is a bit hard to clean. One trick is spray it with my sink hose. preferably with a bit pressured water. soak the net in vinegar, breaks the food bits off. If you like cleaning, this is definitely not for you :)


  • Not Good!!!
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on December 29, 2017

    Non-stick coating on bottom of the fry pan starting to bubble and tear off after 6 months! Scary for the possible poisonous material.


  • Knowledge IS Power
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on December 11, 2017

    Too bad I did not read the reviews here before I bought it! Yes, really hard to clean. Air is the new oil for Philips and it really like air, oil goes everywhere in the unit. Mission impossible to clean it up! Smoke alarm rings every time it is used. It is like a steam train when frying chicken. Give up!!!


  • Most loved appliance in the kitchen
    by

    from Toronto, ON on November 24, 2017

    My wife wanted one of these for Christmas last year, and it had to be a Phillips Air Fryer. I admit I was pretty dubious at first...I thought it was 'gimicky', and I'm not the biggest fan of 'deep-frying' ! Was I ever wrong !! This thing is AMAZING !! Fish, chicken, pork roast, veggies, and yes fries come out perfect every time. Oven baked on the outside, but moist and fresh inside. Chicken is cooked all around...no sitting in juice or grease ! Here's the other thing for us...we NEVER use ANY oil. The only time would be a little with home cut potatoe fries. Most of the negative points made in other reviews seem to revolve around smoking and difficult cleanup...due to oil. I suspect these folks are using too much oil. As I said, we never use it, and have never had a problem. Also, cookiing time is greatly reduced. For a couple, or small family, it is fabulous. For a big meal with a lot of people, you'd probably need to partner with an oven to keep food warm and air-fry the 2nd batch. We're getting another one for the cottage,


  • Very hard to clean
    by

    from Delta, BC on November 21, 2017

    The output vent is at the back, not reachable nor cleanable. Oil accumulate there causing lots of bad smoke


  • Really Bad
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on November 20, 2017

    Oil stick to hard to clean areas. After 3 months, food burned when smoke cannot get out from the back. Waste of money.


  • a great concept but lack of maintaining
    by

    from Toronto, ON on July 25, 2017

    Although I love the concept behind the Philip. I would not recommend this unit for the following reasons: 1. it's hard to clean the elements inside. 2. it triggers carbon monoxide every time I am using 3. the filter in the back it's locked. you can't clean it. overall, it's a good concept but no way to main the units.


  • Exahust gets stuck with oil
    by

    from Burnaby, BC on June 10, 2017

    The design of exhaust at the back causes all the burnt oil accumulating at the back and cannot be cleaned. The unit gets very smoky after a few uses. The smell of burnt oil fills the kitchen in no time.