Reviews

Platinum Series Tripod/Monopod Kit (PT-TPM665-C) - Only at Best Buy


Sort

  • Love the tripod, very solid and worth every penny!!!
    by

    from Abbotsford, BC on January 12, 2018

    But, where can I buy a replacement mount plate? Mine fell out of the bag while on vacation and now the unit is useless :(


  • Great Quality
    by

    from Coquitlam, BC on August 12, 2017

    One of the best products Platinum has put out! Great job!


  • Broke after 3 months
    by

    from Toronto ON on July 5, 2017

    Handle to tighten the top where the camera sits on broker after 3 months. I'm currently going through a nightmare between BestBuy and the manufacturer for warranty issues. One sends me to the other and vice versa. In short, do not buy this product. Do not buy anything from BestBuy as they cannot handle warranty issues speedily with minimum time wasted by the customer.


  • Great value for the price
    by

    from Calgary, AB on May 26, 2017

    Ive had this tripod for about a year and a half and travelled with it quite extensively. Its pretty solid and worked with it storm chasing, aurora chasing and for general landscapes and hyperlapses. Im not going to lie Ive beaten the heck out of it and while I've had a couple of issues and a couple of new screw put it back to mint condition. Pros: - Solid (added a Joby ball head) - Solid finish Cons: - Small screws wiggle loose - Rubber feet come off in cold weather (-30 0r lower) - A little on the heavy side I replaced the stock connection screws with heavy duties and its solid, I also ended up screwing the rubber feet to the legs so there is no chance of them coming off. All in all, 5 stars for a budget tripod, you could look at manfrottos but be prepared to drop 500 bucks plus. Ive also modded it for intervalometer connections, its pretty easy to work with.


  • Wicked Good
    by

    from Lethbridge on March 10, 2017

    I use the tripod and monopod. I have used my full frame camera plus flash plus lenses up to 600mm and have no problems. The movement is a bit stiff at first but it will loosen up without the use of lubricant, which I DO NOT recommend as it tends to collect dirt & dust as do all lubricants. EXTREMELY PLEASED!!! I would give more stars but that's all that were available. As a semi-professional photographer I would give it a 9 out of 10.


  • Platinum Series Tripod solid!
    by

    from Armstrong, BC on October 27, 2016

    It is pretty hard to find a heavy tripod with these kinds of features for this price. You have to look in the mid [price]. I use mine for a fairly heavy spotting scope and it performs amazingly.


  • Perfect gift
    by

    from Toronto, ON on September 24, 2016

    Gift for my husband, he is very happy with it.


  • Great
    by

    from Sudbury, ON on September 12, 2016

    I recently purchased this tripod to be used with my T5i. It supports the weight of my camera no problem. It stands nice and tall for a good eye level shot. The horizontal movement is smooth and consistent. The quick release is also good feature. Recommended!


  • Solid as a rock!
    by

    from Belleville, ON on February 13, 2016

    Very sturdy, comes with padded case and bonus centre comes out as monopod...got it on sale for [price]!


  • Great Product
    by

    from Nova Scotia on January 20, 2016

    Bought this during boxing day sales and saved [amount]. My family is just a bunch of amateur photographers but this tripod does the job. It's very sturdy and easily adjusted to any position you need. Very versatile.