Reviews

Polk Audio PSW10 10" 100-Watt Powered Subwoofer


Sort

  • Sounds great
    by Tommboy

    on November 29, 2019

    the sound of the Bass meets my needs the only problem is the lack of instructions with the information that you need to place your other speakers through this device to get a Bass sound

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great Sound and price!
    by Dave124

    on November 16, 2019

    Very happy with my purchase. It has been several months and this woofer has been a great addition to my home theater set-up. Really good base for the price and it had a great look.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • good for the price
    by

    from Manitoba on September 4, 2019

    This little sub is ok for the price don't expect massive booming bass but he quality is very good and with adjustment it is ok for movies and music, I would suggest adding a second if you have a big room.


  • Good unit!
    by JFMc

    on August 31, 2019

    It's a sub - woofer. It sits in the corner and makes loud thumping noises. The Polk does that very well. Mine is tied to a small bookshelf system, but does a great job of filling in where the speakers (bose cubes) can't reach in terms of sound. As the cubes don't have much at all in terms of bass, the polk does a great job at making up for the absence. It has widely adjustable controls, so you can get a clean thump or soften things out so it's more of a heavy sustained bass. Nice unit, particularly for what I paid. No problems at all with it or with setting it up, except that my wife isn't sure what it does... She's learning, though!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Amazed!
    by

    from Dollard Des Ormeaux on August 16, 2019

    For the price? Wow! I am impressed. Hooked up to my 80W rms sansui! Amazed!


  • Plesantly pleased
    by

    from British Columbia on July 26, 2019

    Like the look, but the install was problematic. I am using the sub-woofer as an addition to my stereo receiver rather than part of a home theater. Loads of hum and really mushy sound, very loud hum when the primary amp was off. Polk tech support was not much help and suggested that their internal amp was at fault and to return the speaker. Best Buy were first class and changed the unit. New sub-w arrives, same problem. Went on-line and found the solution. The stereo amp and the sub-w amp were on differently phased circuits, this required relocating the sub-woofer or running an extension across the room. Moved the unit and plugged it into the same outlet as the primary amp. Hum almost disappeared. Changed the RCA cable to a fully screened line. No hum. Take note of the phase switch. Really made a difference when I set that at 180 deg. Not sure if it would matter for movies but it stopped the sub woofer competing with the good base speakers in my towers. Surprisingly recognisable sound range so overall very pleased, it complements my existing speakers well. Thevolume control is also quite sensitive, a plus point for me. One problem is when I turn up the volume the grille jumps out of the mounting holes. Not sure about the auto function. no need for the sub woofer when listening to talk radio but the speaker comes on and sits idle. Keep it simple and turn on when required. I am moving house at some stage and will consider another , maybe the 12inch for the second zone.


  • Great purchase
    by Bitinha2019

    on July 18, 2019

    Quite powerful in my living room a bit bulky, but not too big. Box is very resistant I sat on top many times.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Very nice for $149. Couldn't resist it at that price.
    by

    from Sydney N.S on July 8, 2019

    Pleased with this unit. Wanted something smaller. But its going behind a false wall for built in speakers and should actually make even deeper.


  • Does the trick
    by

    from Montreal on July 4, 2019

    I build speakers and have built my own 5.1 channel surround speakers except for the subwoofer - when I saw this on sale I just couldn't resist, since it would be more expensive even to build a basic subwoofer in comparison, so I went with this one - took bass duty out of my tower speakers and integrated well with my home theatre system. I also use it for music in my kitchen/dining area with a small Dayton amp and 2 bookshelf speakers and it does well. It has speaker level inputs and RCA signal inputs so it is quite versatile. Overall, this sub offers excellent value for the money. Yes there is better but very hard to find at this price point especially when it is on sale.


  • Nice entry level sub
    by Bosson

    on June 18, 2019

    I use this for a pinball machine and it is perfect for my needs.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com