Reviews

ReTrak Utopia 360 VR Headset with Bluetooth Controller


Sort

  • Cheap Piece of crap
    by

    from toronto,on on July 26, 2018

    Everything about this device except the head straps is cheap and flimsy.


  • Not good if you wear glasses
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on August 15, 2017

    I hardly need glasses for distance. I read the reviews that this wouldn't fit with glasses on but I also read that the unit adjusts in moving the distance between the lenses and distance from your eyes to the screen and that this is usually enough to focus the picture. It isn't. If you wear glasses for distance even if you hardly need them, like me, these two adjustments won't be enough. Do yours lf a favour and buy one where you can wear your glasses. I haven't tried the Bluetooth remote yet, I'm in the process of jigging something that'll let me wear my glasses .while I have this on my face! PS: I'm giving it 3 stars, not sure why the page doesn't let me give it any stars


  • Not good if you wear glasses
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on August 15, 2017

    I hardly need glasses for distance. I read the reviews that this wouldn't fit with glasses on but I also read that the unit adjusts in moving the distance between the lenses and distance from your eyes to the screen and that this is usually enough to focus the picture. It isn't. If you wear glasses for distance even if you hardly need them, like me, these two adjustments won't be enough. Do yours lf a favour and buy one where you can wear your glasses. I haven't tried the Bluetooth remote yet, I'm in the process of jigging something that'll let me wear my glasses .while I have this on my face!


  • Such a waste
    by

    from Richmond, BC on May 3, 2017

    The headset may work fine for others, but it was incredibly frustrating trying to get it to work on my iPhone. The action button at the top didn't work, even though I *knew* it was touching the screen. Plus, the remote never worked either, even when I connected to bluetooth. Oh, plus I had to exchange the original because it didn't work, but the new one I got had the exact same problems. So it was pretty useless not being able to play any sort of games. Don't buy this garbage.


  • DO NOT BUY
    by

    from Richmond, BC on March 17, 2017

    NOT REFUNDALE AFTER EVEN JUST OPENING TO LOOK AT IT THE PRODUCT IS BAD


  • Reasonably good base model
    by

    from Langley, BC on January 28, 2017

    I got this as my first exposure with an untethered VR, even upgrading my smart phone to an iPhone 6 to gear up for the experience. At 4.7" screen size, it's about the smallest size that would fit this VR unit. I'd recommend a larger screen size smart phone - at least the iPhone 6+ for larger (better) viewing area. Pros: good quality - well built; controls function as required. Easy to setup and place the smart phone ready for viewing. I'd recommend this over the cardboard version for longevity. Once the movie starts and you're okay with sound, it works well. Cons: As others mention, a bit front-heavy for wearing longer than 15 minutes, making it uncomfortable. There were issues with the remote - although the sound was controllable, the other buttons did not function well. I found myself having to open the front compartment to get at the phone's touchscreen control (stop, play, rewind, change movies, etc). With the headset on it was like fishing in the dark with one eye to see where the 'play' symbol was on the screen. Playing movies seemed to be in a lower resolution than what I expected. Scouring the internet, there doesn't seem to be many quality movies available, yet. All-in-all the headset provided a good glimpse of the VR experience and I'm ready for a major upgrade and/or the next evolution.


  • Do Not Purchase.
    by

    from Kitchener, ON on January 9, 2017

    Not at all happy with my purchase. Yes I understand it's 40 dollars, but that doesn't excuse it from turning my phone of almost constantly (using a galaxy s4) with it's stupid clip design. Not to mention it feels less of a VR headset and more of binoculars. Not impressed at all, and I do not recommend purchasing. Find a better headset.


  • Do Not Purchase.
    by

    from Kitchener, ON on December 15, 2016

    Even though I bought this on sale, it was still not worth my money. The controller absolutely does not work, the padding to hold your phone in constantly powers down my phone, and you get massive tunnel vision (feels like you are looking through binoculars, not a VR headset. The ONLY saving grace on this product is how comfortable it is, and even that is lessened by the fact that it is very much front-heavy and can be straining on the neck after while. All in all, do not purchase. Oh, and to make matters worse, because I opened it up to test it, and THEN found out that it's broken, I can no longer get a return. Will never be buying anything from Retrak or Best Buy ever again.


  • It's okay but the remote is useless
    by

    from Thunder Bay, ON on December 4, 2016

    This VR headset is actually really nice, I highly highly recommend it over other ones for more, it's the best one for the price, however I strongly recommend getting the cheaper model of this that does NOT include the remote, it's useless, I thought I could use it as the "tap screen" function, I was wrong, the only option you have as this is to use the thumb stick as a mouse pointer, but then it only shows up on one eye at a time giving you a headache after use, the remote is also horrible quality and when on mouse pointer mode, it tracks across the screen on it's own so you constantly have a mouse pointer moving by itself across one eye at a time and eventually it makes it's way all the way to the other side and opens the statusbar/navibar and then you can no longer "tap the screen" using the remote, it's an awful experience. The headset itself is actually quite amazing, the quality is better than I was expecting for the price, it's really comfortable and I could wear it for hours without issue, it's super light but still feels quality, but like I said, buy the one that does NOT include the bluetooth remote and save your money, it's cheaper and you get the good part thats actually worth your money.


  • Great for the price
    by

    from Brampton, ON on November 18, 2016

    I've tried PS VR, Gear VR and this. The best mobile phone vr headset is the gear vr, but for the price this headset is pretty good. It's light weight and comfortable to wear which is very important for anything more than 15 minutes. The remote is wroth the few extra bucks - you will need to set it up to use it the way you want and it has a bunch of modes.