Reviews

Roku Express Media Streamer with Remote


Sort

  • Plug&Play, no problems
    by

    from BC on August 26, 2019

    Easy to hook up and worked like a charm right off the bat.


  • Works Great for such an inexpensive product
    by

    from Alberta, Canada on July 28, 2019

    Super good price for a media streamer that works with Prime, Kanopy, Acorn and Netflix, as well as some free services. Set up was easy, although I haven't figured out how to make the screen image slightly smaller so I don't miss some of the headings when I scroll through Netflix. All you need is WiFi, an email address, passwords and a television.


  • Only for Netflix and YouTube
    by

    from Toronto on July 23, 2019

    This product is great for watching Netflix and YouTube on your television, but that's about it. I'll still give it two stars due to the fact that it's easy to use and I haven't had an issue with it yet. Honestly, just get a Google Chromecast.


  • Good price and works
    by

    from Ontario on July 21, 2019

    Works as it should, Roku has always been simple for me and functional. Good price too considering you can buy a bigger TV and add this product to it instead of buying a smart TV with Roku in it already for much more.


  • 5 Stars
    by

    from Edmonton  on March 30, 2019

    Great for Netflix and YouTube, steams beautifully and the price is Great!


  • Good Price & Value
    by

    from Ottawa, ON on March 10, 2019

    This Roku works great on my 50" TV that is 1080p which the player is also with no lag even with 25/5 Internet. I would suggest 50 or 75 mbps Internet and maybe getting free TV from VMedia for 6 months for more channels with no contract if you live in Canada. Roku has the Roku Channel which has free content with commercials which is just like cable TV, plus you can add your Netflix, Youtube and even Twitched Zero (Twitch channel unofficial but same). This does not heat up really hot at all like the stick sometimes does in your computer and you can put it anywhere near your TV with WIFI, so I think it's a better option then the stick if you have an older TV that is 1080p and you choose to get a Roku.


  • Not Ideal for Canadians
    by

    from Ottawa, ON on February 7, 2019

    The Roku is pretty useless if you live in Canada. There are no good apps available on their app store except for Netflix and YouTube, because no Canadian streaming apps seem to be developed (or are being developed) for Roku. So basically, this is an overpriced Netflix and YouTube streamer, that will only keep getting more useless as developers instead shift their focus to the Chromecast. For the same price, I highly recommend avoiding the Roku and instead going for the Chromecast. Loads of Canadian-friendly apps are now Chromecast compatible and that number is quickly growing (Sportsnet, TSN, CTV, CBC, etc., none of those are available on Roku). Very disappointed with this purchase and I wish I did more research beforehand.


  • Works great but creates interference with wifi
    by

    from Ottawa, ON on January 23, 2019

    Have had a old Roku XS. Decided to get a newer model. Wrong choice. Yes, it is faster, sets up easily (unless you say both units are in the same room, which confuses roku.com). The issue is that it broadcasts a wifi signal on the same channel as the one used. They do this in an attempt to increase the throughput. This is against the standard, and affects devices with a weak signal. Just realized that I could not return the issue as it has been more than 30 days.


  • Great Value
    by

    from Orillia, ON on January 17, 2019

    This little box is awesome! Very user friendly and works quickly... does not seem glitchy like my Apple TV, and it is a quarter of the price.


  • Love it!
    by

    from Victoria, BC on November 15, 2018

    Only took about 10 minutes to set up. I love that you can download an app on your phone to use it as a remote!