We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Samsung 7.5 Cu. Ft. Electric Steam Dryer (DVE45M5500P) - Platinum

Rating Breakdown

5

266

4

83

3

9

2

7

1

15

Reviewer Recommendation

95%

Of the 372 reviewers who responded, 353 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality: Good

Value: Good

Ease of Use: Excellent

Sort By
  • Great Dryer
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Karla - May 8, 2020

    Best Dryer I have ever bought! Easy to use! I love how my large bed sheets fit and there's still extra room for more!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Nice Looking, Poor Quality, Samsung Support Lacks
    Reviewed by CinciCheek - April 15, 2020

    We bought a nice matching washer / dryer pair - DVE45M5500 dryer, full stands, etc. I really wanted to like it - it looked nice, and seemed to dry well. First caveat is that the stands are too short to be useful at all. For almost the price of the washer / dryer itself, you'd think they'd at least hold common bottles (e.g. Clorox, etc.) - but too short. Got past that, and seemed to work OK until about a month ago. Yesterday, the dryer wouldn't turn off unless door was opened, unplugging / opening circuit breaker for any length of time didn't stop it. Happened once a couple of months back, but a couple of power cycles and it came back. Dryer is 1 year 3 months old, definitely hadn't expected common problems to start erupting yet. Two calls to Samsung yielded the same results, "We can either send a repair person out to fix it, or we can give you the number to call, but it'll be on your dime since the warranty is expired". I get it - it's a one year warranty, not 1.25 years, but it really demonstrated the type of customer service and reputation I can expect from Samsung. Also didn't see the rationale to spend $450 to fix a $600 dryer. First and last time customer, will enjoy relaying this story for years to come. If the electronics are already going south, this dryer won't last long. My Duet ate bearings and heating elements, but the electronics (i.e. the expensive bits) lasted it's entire life, which was a tough one in a house of 6. Took the top off, took the control board out, did the "tap the relays" thing with the handle of a screwdriver, and it's working now (for some time anyway). I'll order the new relay and replace next time. Save yourself some heartache and either get a different brand or pony up for an extended warranty (and a lot of inoperative time).

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Gas Dryer
    Verified BuyerReviewed by ltovar - March 28, 2020

    Love this dryer. It works perfectly and fast. Easy to clean.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Dryer Won't Stop Running
    Reviewed by Kayla - February 17, 2020

    great until after 14 months it would not stop running. only way it stops is with the door open of the unit unplugged. controls and power button won't do anything.

    Review originally posted on samsung.com

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • 14 months old and broken!
    Reviewed by Wireless - January 28, 2020

    This dryer, although it looks real nice and is quiet, has problems drying things like comforters. My old GE dryer that was over 15 years old did a better job. Even after all that, I still kept the Samsung because it was stack-able and matched my washer. After only 14 months of use, the dryer failed. It will not stop running, even if the dryer is off. I have to either leave the door open, or disconnect the dryer from the outlet to get it to stop. I called technical support, and because the dryer is out of warranty, I have to cover the labor costs to repair it. Is this the quality I should be expecting from Samsung going forward?

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • 14 Months old and its broken!
    Reviewed by Alonso - January 28, 2020

    after only 14 months, it failed. it doesn't stop! i have to leave the door open or disconnect the dryer. is this the quality i should be expecting from samsung? [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

    Review originally posted on samsung.com

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Definitely large capacity.
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Michelle - January 25, 2020

    Had for over a year & still works as well as when I got it.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Dryee
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Mickey - January 17, 2020

    We love our new addition to our family! It works really good and the color went perfect with our Landry room!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • During 1st year ownership 2 Major Service Problems
    Reviewed by DrMA - January 8, 2020

    I've had my Samsung dryer for just over a year and it already had 2 very major mechanical issues. First the entire drum stopped turning, and a warranty repair was performed fixing the issue. Presently, 2 days ago, the dryer wouldn't stop running, even when the power button turned off. The only way to stop it was unplug it. I checked on-line, and apparently many other Samsung dryer models have had similar circuit board issues, not allowing them to shut off either. During the 14 years I owned my last dryer, made by Bosch, I didn't have even one mechanical or electrical problem. I wouldn't purchase a Samsung dryer in the future based on my experience.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Do not recommend - be aware!!!
    Reviewed by IChris - December 31, 2019

    hello, i recommend you do all due diligence before purchasing samsung appliances. all my kitchen appliances in the kitchen and laundry are samsung. so far out of 5 appliances 3 failed.

    Review originally posted on samsung.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)