Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7" 8GB Android 5.1 (Lollipop) Tablet with T-Shark 2A Quad-Core Processor - Black


Sort

  • Best Buy
    by

    from Winnipeg on June 16, 2019

    Good basic Android for the price. Use it when I travel. Works well.


  • Touch screen effectiveness
    by

    from Markham on June 1, 2019

    Everything is acceptable except the touch screen is a bit slow to react.


  • Late Delivery
    by

    from Brampton, ON on April 18, 2019

    Was promised the item will come 17 April but just got to know as I was expecting it to be delivered that it will come 1 week later so disappointed.


  • Great starter tablet, or for kids!
    by

    from Victoria, BC on May 11, 2018

    As far as tablets go, this is good for basic tasks. The 1.5GB of RAM makes it actually possible to have more than one app open without issues. 8GB of storage is very lacking however you can add a MicroSDHC card (recommended) to install some programs onto, as well as for camera storage. The tablet is quick enough, just be sure to buy a case and screen protector.


  • Tab A
    by

    from Toronto, ON on May 5, 2018

    Ordered this tablet was to arrive by Friday May 4 2018.Canada post just left a pickup notice.Had to wait another day before it was delivered to a far away post office.Even know there one 5 mins away from my house.Ten I find out the tablet is a 3 year old model.Not a new one as advertised.!!!


  • It's good
    by

    from Abbotsford, BC on April 15, 2018

    Took back a crappy Acer and got this. WAY better tablet for the money. Build quality and looks. Yes it's limited on built in space but for what I need fits the use. Can't go wrong with Samsung for the price on sale.


  • OBSOLETE OPERATING SYSTEM
    by

    from Toronto, ON on April 12, 2018

    Unfortunately this tablet comes with a very old obsolete operating system (Lollipop 5.1) which cannot be updated. As a result, most of the mainstream newer apps will either not run on it, or else will perform very poorly.


  • Decent tablet for the price, may have premature battery failure design flaw.
    by

    from Montreal, QC on December 31, 2017

    I bought the Samsung Tab A 7 from BB about 20 months ago and recently noticed that its screen is coming unstuck from the frame when the home button appeared to be collapsed below the front glass, presumably from the battery swelling. On my 2012 Nexus 7, the battery didn't swell until around the five years mark despite being in daydream (plugged-in) whenever I wasn't carrying despite seeing considerably more (ab)use than my A 7. Assuming that the Tab's built-in battery voltage monitoring is accurate, Samsung is over-charging its cell to 4.34V, which is 140mV over the maximum (4.2V) that lithium-polymer cells should be charged to, which would explain the premature (18-20 months in, not sure exactly how long ago I first noticed the home button no longer being flush with the glass) battery failure compared to the Nexus 7 which only charges its cell to 4.16V DMM-measured. Can't say I am pleased with finding out that my A 7 is mismanaging its cell, possibly endangering people in a bid to force premature replacements as an aftermarket replacement battery costs nearly half as much as a whole new equivalent tablet. I have an SM-T380 on its way to migrate my Android stuff to, hopefully it won't suffer from the same design flaw.


  • very little memory space
    by

    from Newmarket on May 23, 2017

    bought this liked the size. got it home and realized that of the 8gb only 3.8 was available after the features it comes with eat all the GB. I could barely download any apps. tried to stick in a micro usb. good luck as most apps do not allow you to transfer to an external card. very disappointing. would be great if it had 16gb. or if you could use the sd for internal storage.


  • Don't Bother
    by

    from Vancouver, BC on January 23, 2017

    Processor is painfully slow. Dont waste your money on this model.