We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive (STHP4000400) - Black

Rating Breakdown

5

20

4

6

3

2

2

3

1

0

Reviewer Recommendation

85%

Of the 26 reviewers who responded, 22 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality: Excellent

Value: Good

Ease of Use: Excellent

Sort By
  • New Hard Drive
    Reviewed by  - February 18, 2020

    Was super easy to set up. It always concerns me when hard drives are compatible with PC and Mac but this one was easily formatted to my Mac with no problems.

    Helpful (2)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • It's okay
    Reviewed by  - June 2, 2019

    I mean yeah it's a hard drive, how bad can it be? Well, the software that you have to install to use it is annoying as hell, and now has the fun habit of telling me every single day that I need to update it, then when I try to, it tells me that it's up to date. So that's fun.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (1)
    Report

  • Lots of space
    Verified BuyerReviewed by ElCapitan - June 20, 2020

    I bought this to extend the hard drive for my ps4 and it works great. The loading time is better as well!.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Good, but it didn't come in perfect condition.
    Verified BuyerReviewed by fhdghjk - June 20, 2020

    The end of the cable that connects to the drive was out of shape. I had to bend it to get it to fit into the drive.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • So Far, So Good
    Verified BuyerReviewed by spoiledmilk - June 19, 2020

    Initially, I purchased this hard drive for my Mac and to backup my photography. I've never owned an external hard drive before and for the short period of time that I've owned this one, there haven't been any issues. It runs rather smoothy and is overall easy to setup.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Perfect storage option
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Jorge - June 17, 2020

    Worked well to transfer our files over from Windows to Mac and is now our time machine back up.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • great idea for storage
    Verified BuyerReviewed by lion2020 - June 6, 2020

    great idea for storage the data for backup your information.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • runs awfully hot
    Reviewed by PaulK - May 29, 2020

    Doing a large backup, this box gets uncomfortably warm -- hot enough that I ended up giving it an extended pause in the middle of the backup in order to cool down. This makes the use of a plastic case look like a poor choice, and doesn't bode well for how many years we can expect it to be reliable. Also, as others have mentioned, the online product registration tries to force you to download bloatware and consent to spam. (At least with the bloatware you can download it and delete it without installing.)

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)

  • Hard Dive works Great
    Reviewed by  - May 27, 2020

    I have 3 Seagate hard drives this 4tb is my smallest one i use.Its easy to hookup to my laptop dont need a power supply.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Does the job
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Jimmy - May 23, 2020

    Solid external device. The software is very over bearing, including adding itself to the computer’s start up menu. Not a fan of that! Less intrusive software and easier installation steps would make this a much better device . I wound up not Completing the installation and I don’t use the software at all

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)