We’re here to get you what you need.
Shop online for pickup or delivery, or visit a store for a safe shopping and service experience.Learn more

Customer Reviews

Seagate Expansion 5TB Portable External Hard Drive (STEA5000402) - Black - Only at Best Buy

Rating Breakdown

5

59

4

8

3

4

2

2

1

3

Reviewer Recommendation

92%

Of the 26 reviewers who responded, 24 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality: Good

Value: Good

Ease of Use: Good

Sort

  • Great drive, great value!
    Reviewed by  - 30 avril 2020

    I have two of these. I use one to backup my NAS, and the other is currently attached to my work laptop for mass storage of virtual machines and software development sandboxes. Not as fast as an SSD, of course, but the capacity per dollar ratio is excellent, and it's roughly the size of an old-time pack of cigarettes. I love the fact that it does not need an external power source. It's silent, and only vaguely warm to the touch when running.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (8)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Connected to PS4
    Reviewed by  - 5 mars 2020

    Used this to expand the PS4 memory. Followed an online video on to how to move games from the internal drive to this. Quick and easy.

    Helpful (14)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Good value, but be careful plugging into a TV
    Reviewed by  - 10 octobre 2020

    Lots of storage for little cost. One 5TB unit allowed me to get rid of a few mechanical hard drives I was using with a dock. It seems to require quite a bit more power than a mechanical drive, though. When I plugged it into a USB port on my Panasonic plasma TV to watch a movie I stored on the drive, the TV displayed a message that said it could not supply the necessary power on the USB port. Now when I plug a mechanical drive into the TV that used to work fine, it now no longer works. The mechanical drive just clicks away but still works okay when plugged into a computer. So the TV's USB port was apparently damaged by the SS hard drive.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (0)

    Not helpful (1)

    Report

  • Great large portable drive for an excellent price
    Reviewed by  - 25 septembre 2020

    5 TB for such a great price, I combined all the data from 3 other external drives into one. The speed of copying was good and powered by USB so it can be used anywhere with your laptop.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (10)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Awesome External Hard Drive
    Reviewed by  - 15 septembre 2020

    No external power supply needed and super small! Way better than the externally powered 6TB and 8TB versions in my opinion.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (8)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Seagate Expansion 5 TB
    Reviewed by  - 9 avril 2020

    Really solid and fast drive. My write speed is 130 MB/s which I am really happy with. Use the drive to store media externally as i only have a 512 GB SSD in my laptop.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (7)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Works, but very slow... not USB3 speed
    Reviewed by  - 18 janvier 2020

    The size, weight, and capacity are right. It has a USB 3 connector. But its transfer speed is USB 2. it transfers at 13 MB/S, while a true USB3 transfers at 65 (proven on my machine) MB/S. The data transfer to it ought to have been finished in about 5 hours. Now I'm on my second day non-stop transfer, and it still has 16 hours to go. This is a bit of a let down, not horrible, but still. Misleading, and disappointing.

    Helpful (3)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Seagate 5TB
    Reviewed by  - 24 avril 2020

    This is my second purchase of this unit. I've found that it is very dependable and rugged. I have a Karaoke and DJ business so there is a lot of travel involved with my drives. I've never had any issue at all with this product

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (4)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Works great for Consoles.
    Reviewed by  - 12 février 2020

    Bought this for my PS4 a few weeks ago, after formatting it through the PS4 it has so far worked perfectly. I was able to store over 70 big games onto this Hard Drive, which has taken up a little less than 2TB. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing extra storage space, the price is reasonable, but it's even better if you can get it while it's on sale.

    Helpful (3)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Seagate Expansion 5TB
    Reviewed by  - 4 mars 2020

    The external hard drive works perfectly. Data seems secure and file transfer seems quick. The price was excellent and Best Buy shipped the product quickly. I would have given this product 5 stars- note: The protective shell/case is not as sturdy as my Verbatim 1TB external hard drive.

    Helpful (3)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report