We’re evolving how to get you what you need.
Visit us in-store for a safe shopping and service experience, or shop online for pickup or delivery.Learn more

Reviews

Seagate Backup Plus Slim 1.5TB 2.5" USB 3.0 External Portable Hard Drive (STDR1500101) - Silver

Rating Breakdown

5

61

4

22

3

2

2

3

1

11

Sort By
  • Failed within 1.5 years - DO NOT BUY
    Reviewed by  - March 17, 2020

    I purchased this item from Best Buy on July 1st, 2018. It stopped working as of January, 2020. I barely used it. I always kept it in a protective case. Of course it failed just after the 1 year manufacturer warranty period. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY on this hard drive. Buy a solid state drive. I've lost all of my important data. Thanks, Seagate!

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • The Perfect Storage Size
    Reviewed by  - October 27, 2019

    It has the perfect storage space for all of my husbands favorite movies and series with room to spare.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • 1.5TB Seagate USB Hard Drive
    Reviewed by  - July 26, 2019

    Easy to use, portable, good price

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Terrible External hard drive
    Reviewed by  - April 11, 2019

    Used it ones worked. Plugged it in a second time started making noise and would not read in any computer any more. Took it in for repairs and was told its broken and can't be fixed. Money wasted

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • fail
    Reviewed by  - November 17, 2018

    bought the 1TB version of that drive because it was cheap. failed after 4 days,clicking noises and could not connect to the laptop. total waste of money. don't buy this.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Worst HDD ever
    Reviewed by  - November 17, 2018

    I use my devices very carefully. but after 6 months of usage this HDD gives error and does not connect to the Windows PC . I am not the only one who is getting this error. I have seen many complains in multiple forums regarding same issue . Avoid Seagate even if it is on sale! you will regret it when you lose all of your data

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Extremely noisy
    Reviewed by  - March 17, 2018

    Using Decibel X on a phone, it clocks at 68dB / inside a car (another external mechanical drive I have is 32db / quiet whisper).

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Failed after two weeks of use
    Reviewed by  - December 7, 2017

    Bought it few months ago and just started using it. It failed after two weeks of usage. Sent it in for warranty, lets see what happens. Lost my trust on seagate drives...

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • PLEASE DONT BUY
    Reviewed by  - August 29, 2017

    HELLO GOT TOTALLY FAILED HARD DRIVE FROM MECHANICAL ISSUE. WEND TO BEST BUY AND TOLD THAT CANT HELP JUST GO TO SEAGATE. SEAGATE CUSTOMER SERVICE NOT UNDERSTANDING AND WAS HUMILIATING AND DIDN'T HELP ME OUT AT ALL. ATTITUDE WAS LIKE WILL SPEAK JUST SCRIPT AND CANT HELP AND WE DON'T CARE. I ACTUALLY GAVE AS GIFT AND IT WAS MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT FOR ME AND THAT'S THE REASON I AM WRITING REVIEW. SORRY BEST BUY AND SORRY SEAGATE (NOT WORTH COMPANY) THANKS. REGARDS.

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report

  • Mechanical Issue After 2 Weeks of Light Use - Photos Unrecoverable
    Reviewed by  - March 27, 2017

    As a photographer, I am devastated that my Seagate Backup Plus Slim drive suffered from mechanical issues after only 2 weeks of use. I used my brand new drive to store thousands of dollars worth of work on a recent trip. If you want to use this drive for files that hold any sort of value, I would strongly advise NOT to buy this product. The drive was always ejected properly and stored in a cool, dry place. The mechanical issues were unavoidable and caused by a manufacturer's faulty product. *DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOUR DATA HOLDS ANY SORT OF VALUE TO YOU*

    Helpful (0)
    Not helpful (0)
    Report