Reviews

Sony HTCT290 300-Watt 2.1 Channel Bluetooth Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer


Sort

  • Nice product
    by

    from Brampton Ontario on April 27, 2019

    Excellent sound bar and effect


  • Dont Buy
    by

    from Anacster on April 24, 2019

    Do not buy this speaker system. Had mine for about 16 months and the subwoofer stopped working. Searched the web and found this to be a known problem for this unit. Called Sony and got no support. Will likely not buy Sony again.


  • Not build for living room.
    by

    from Calgary, AB on April 23, 2019

    I had the old style and loved it, Bought another new style for the 2nd tv and it is 100 times worse than the other one. No bass from the subwoofer. It is pretty loud but not not good enough. Quality of the sound is poor as well.


  • Subwoofer concern
    by

    from Toronto, ON on April 10, 2019

    DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! I should have paid attention to the reviews, but I did not and sure enough the subwoofer died in 6 months. You go through too many phone calls to Sony to get a mailing label and it is just not worth the aggravation.


  • Sony HTCT290 300-Watt 2.1 Channel
    by

    from Calgary, AB on March 25, 2019

    This sound bar has well over the power most people need for small rooms, easy to hook up, but please read the instruction for HDMI (ARC) not all are plug and play, for most tv and sound bars you will need to turn on the (ARC) HDMI in settings on the tv and this sound bar if you are using an (ARC) HDMI cable. The wireless sub works great!, but if you are a sound junky do not get this bar you will not be able to control the lows, mids, and highs well not unless your tv has the setting controls, but this is only a 2 channel. As for the bluetooth works flawlessly but do not use bluetooth (if your tv has bluetooth) to watch movies or gaming the lag is brutal, the bluetooth for this sound bar is made for audio files from your smart phone. This Sony HTCT290 300-Watt 2.1 Channel is an excellent entire level or small room sound bar to replace your 5-10 watt in tv speakers.


  • meh
    by

    from Smiths Falls, ON on January 13, 2019

    well the sound is good I find for my small room. the big problem is the audio sync. i have the sharp roku 55 inch TV and its got a slight audio delay with this sound bar and even with a samsung sound bar i had bought from walmart. but now with this one i'm over my 30 days I just was hoping it would get better with different settings but alas I am going to be stuck with it. if it wasn't for the problem with the audio sync delay/lag I would give this a higher rating as it would be perfect for my space but i can't


  • Awful Product
    by

    from Toronto, ON on January 4, 2019

    Would give this a 0 if that was possible. Bought it and experienced sound lag a few months in. After 6 months the subwoofer stopped working so I brought it into best buy to exchange since I paid for a 9 year warranty. That used up my warranty, so I had a new replacement given to me. Only 1 year later, the subwoofer power stopped working again. Sony would not offer anything, even being 1 month out of warranty. In just 1.5 years, it has broken 2 times. Worst manufacturer, never purchasing anything from Sony.


  • Returned after 1 day
    by

    from Kelowna, BC on December 31, 2018

    This soundbar was just ok. We listened to it for only 1 day and decided that it was just a glorified tv speaker, and not really a good one at that. The highs were extremely high and there was no way to adjust it. The Base was ok, but no way to adjust that either. I would not recommend buying this if you are looking for a decent sound system. Spend the extra couple hundred dollars to upgrade. If your looking to add another TV speaker... then this set might impress you. Mind you, take into consideration we are used to listening to a surround sound system. There is no comparison. I will keep searching.


  • Too many issues
    by

    from Halifax, NS on December 27, 2018

    Sound is ok, but too many issues. Will be returning it tomorrow. Could not get sound to work from TV through HDMI ARC. Only thru optical cable. Could not get it to work with new Harmony remote. Will not turn on or off from remote. Volume worked, but would onlt decrease volume all the way or increase it all the way. Will find a better sound bar!


  • Failed
    by

    from Sylvan Lake, AB on December 20, 2018

    Mids and highs were decent, weak bass. However, subwoofer has stopped working...google more reviews on this model, it's prone to problems. Polk MagniFi One is a better choice, better sound, better bass for the price (on sale as of this writing).