Reviews

Sony Blu-ray Player (BDP-S1700)


Sort

  • No screen adjustment
    by

    from Gatineau on December 5, 2019

    I haven't used it much since I bought it, but one thing that is not possible is to adjust the screen size. I played a blu-ray and it was a small square on the screen. I could not adjust it to get a better view as I could with my other machine.


  • lots of function
    by

    from  on October 3, 2019

    good value for the price,attaches well to smart TV (Samsung). small and not intrusive in home theater set up. lots of extra function from it's own remote. Allow me to retain a well loved collection of my own CD's,DVDs and Blu-Rays


  • Piece of junk
    by

    from  on September 25, 2019

    I had a Sony dvd player before and lasted me a year and a half then stopped working ! Threw it in the garbage and told myself not to buy Sony dvd anymore but I go to Best Buy and got me this Blue ray as I liked the price and said it had quick start up so I bought it along with a Blue Ray John Wick 3! After 10 days I watched the movie only once then tried to take it out but the tray won't open and the movie got stuck in there ! I tried everything from unplugging for 30 minutes to pressing several buttons like I read on Google but nothing worked ! Good thing I had my receipt! Went down to best buy and thank you for the great customer service they exchanged it and got an LG ! Hope this works better. They even had 2 guys at the store trying to open it with the remote and tried a few tricks but nothing worked as my movie was still stuck in there . Never again will i buy Sony but i blame no one but myself for buying another piece of junk. Even 1 star is too much for this thing that's 10 days old having watched only 1 movie and not being able to open the tray after.


  • This is not region-free
    by

    from Kemptville, ON on July 14, 2019

    I bought this because the same model number is sold as region-free elsewhere. That version has third-party hardware modifications to make it region-free, which explains why it is more expensive. Nevertheless, the device I got worked very well. The only reason I returned it is that I wanted a region-free player.


  • The player may deserve more than 2 stars
    by

    from Winnipeg, MB on March 17, 2019

    It would be nice if the "experts" at Best Buy knew the difference between optical digital sound (which they list on the specs of this player) and coaxial digital sound (which this player actually has). Another item I'm returning to the store without even trying it out. If you're migrating to a online storefront where people are going to have to solely rely on your listings of features, then at least be competent in doing so.


  • Hopefully the 3rd one will work
    by

    from London, ON on June 28, 2018

    I purchased this unit from Best Buy. After 2 months, the unit would freeze on boot-up. It was not possible to do anything with it. Tech support could not resolve the issue. Even worse, it would not release one of our blu-ray discs stuck in the machine. Sony did replace it with a 2nd unit, and I had to re-purchase the blu-ray it took with it when I returned to Sony, but Sony reimbursed me for the purchase after some arguing. The replacement unit arrived quickly. It failed and would not get past the boot-up screen after having it for only 2 days. That unit is now back in Sony's hands and they are sending me a 3rd unit. I wish they would just admit that there is a serious problem with this model and send me another model with the same features that do not have these constant failures.


  • great machine
    by

    from Campbell River, BC on May 16, 2017

    my dvd recorder had a poor playback feature. I bought the sony sight unseen, and was surprised with the small dvd player, I figured out how to make it work on regular 480 dvd , instructions were basic, the sony upgraded with a beautiful picture on my old l.c. sharp aquos tv---flawless, it does not look like much, so small ,but plays low resolution recorded movies 480pg --upgade to 1080 pg and remarkable detail on blueray movies=1080pg. the instuctions suck but the machine I got is excellent.


  • Not compatible with some receivers
    by

    from Acton, ON on April 14, 2017

    Bought this device to replace a Panasonic BluRay player that was purchased five years ago and worked flawlessly until the drawer motor broke. All components connect via HDMI to an Onkyo receiver. This Sony player will not even present a menu when connected to the receiver. It does work when directly connected to the TV, which of course is not the desired configuration. Very sad. Am taking it back.


  • So far, so good
    by

    from MontrĂŠal, QC on February 28, 2017

    Haven't had the player long but it works fairly well so far. Had one instance of hearing a strange rumbling/whirring noise while watching a DVD, only to discover it was the a book that was right next to it on the table causing the machine to make this noise (?). Again, it works well so far. I'm happy with my purchase.


  • Blueray player
    by

    from Toronto, ON on January 10, 2017

    Product works fine so far. update software for blueray player.