Reviews

Sony Cyber-shot HX400 20.4MP 50X Optical Zoom Digital Camera with Wi-Fi - Black


Sort

  • Good magnification
    by Anonymous reviewer

    on November 6, 2019

    I got this a month ago. Clear lense, good speed, plenty of memory.

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • Easy To Use
    by HkyPapa22

    on October 25, 2019

    I bought this a month ago based on a recommendation of a friend. Very pleased with the zoom features

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • Great camera
    by CUPREZ

    on October 7, 2019

    Just received it as a gift but need to take a class on how to use it

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • love the camera
    by capt craig

    on August 12, 2019

    i love this camera , great zoom and takes beautiful pictures. I am a little confused by all the setting but i am sure i will figure it out. I do not like the photo program , it up loaded my other pictures and and unsure how to put hem in a file format. If i delete a picture from the Sony file it also deleted from my main file. so i deleted the Sony program.

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • Has everything I need and more
    by Notlimah

    on August 2, 2019

    Does everything an amateur like me wants to do, and does it well.

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • Great features
    by Hullcrafter

    on July 28, 2019

    I have had it for 2 years great camera batteries last good flash

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • great feature and picture quality
    by dave100a

    on July 15, 2019

    This camera has everything I need for my level of experience with photography and video. I use it for my travel log while traveling in my RV though out Canada and the USA. It has many features that require a steep learning curve that I really can use for various photo and video shots. Also I don't need photo shop or video software to clean up the results like I did with my previous camera. Great camera.

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • great camera
    by grampajim005

    on June 17, 2019

    Great camera , easy to use, yet lots of features to try, love tyhe zoom

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • Great travel camera
    by Old Jim

    on May 14, 2019

    I bought the DSCHX400B to take on a trip to Scotland, as I didn't want to lug around a DSL with multiple lenses. I have been using it at home to get familiar with it, and have not been disappointed with it's features and the quality of the photos I've taken.

    Review originally posted on sony.com


  • A Great Camera....For a While...
    by Steuman

    on March 9, 2019

    New buyers considering this camera, please do not discount the people complaining about E62:10 issues. This camera is great and I loved mine until this error occurred, but now that it has my wonderful 50x optical zoom is useless. Chances are VERY high yours will ultimately have the same issue--just research the 62:10 error and see. Mine lasted just over 2 years. The easy work-around power-on/power-off solutions either do not work for long or do not work at all. If they fail your only options are trying to replace the image stabilization cable deep inside the lens assembly or replacing the entire lens assembly which costs about half the price of the camera. For those who think they'll try the cable (which is every inexpensive), beware that the replacements sold online lack two tiny electronic components soldered to the pads on the end. I don't know what they are but I suspect they are the source of the error more often than the cable itself. You'll have to disassemble the camera all the way down to the end of the lens assembly AND take the stabilizer apart just to free up the old cable. Threading it back together is not easy, but I managed to do it only to discover the error remained. Before the error effectively ruined my camera I really loved it. The zoom and image stabilization were magnificent for a camera in this price range but what does it matter if it runs such a high failure risk after just 2-3 years? Once it fails forget using zoom without a tripod. You can't hold it steady enough to get a clean shot even at high shutter speeds. Autofocus also struggles to work. I've missed far too many shots as it faded endlessly in and out trying to lock on. Pictures using even a small amount of zoom appear muddy and blurry. You can still get reasonable snapshots without zoom--but I can take comparable pictures at that level with a MUCH less expensive camera. I once recommended this camera. I regretfully must change my opinion. Do not waste your money on this if you want a camera that lasts more than 2-3 years.

    Review originally posted on sony.com