Reviews

Sunbeam Steam Espresso Maker (BVSBECM160-033) - Stainless Steel


Sort

  • Average
    by

    from  on October 12, 2019

    Makes descent drinks,but my biggest issue is the Absolute POOR Design for both the side selection KNOB (on/off,brew/froth) and the top water container KNOB. No kidding they are VERY slippery to turn,so always have to use 2 hands. They need some sort of groves for better grip. The IDIOT who designed must have been either just stupid or blind. NO KIDDING!


  • Only lasted 2 months.
    by

    from Alberta on June 8, 2019

    I know, I know, it's a cheap espresso maker. But I certainly didn't expect the washable plastic parts to essentially vaporize right before my eyes. First the handle on the carafe broke off - it looked like the plastic around the screws inside just crumbled apart. Then the EXACT SAME THING happened to the handle on the espresso filter. Honestly, it's not worth it, unless you only RARELY drink coffee. This one only made about 75 cups before it was completely unusable.


  • Brews Strong coffee if you follow these steps
    by

    from Toronto, ON on February 6, 2019

    I read many negative reviews from people that the coffee is not hot and not strong after brewing. But still I bought the product. To get hot and strong coffee, the pressure needs to be build up. According to operation manual, it is written to turn the regulator to brew position to brew the coffee. If you turn the regulator to brew postion, the hot water starts flowing through the nozzle before the steam is actually build. So the coffee is not brewed using steam. So to get rid of this issue, what I did was, I started the espresso machine with regulator in steam position and held jug of cold water under the frothing nozzle. Once I hear the loud sound of steam coming out of the frothing nozzle, that means steam pressure has build up a lot. Then I quickly turn the regulator to brew position, so that the steam gets directed to brew nozzle and the coffee starts brewing with steam. This makes a strong and very hot coffee. I am satisfied with the coffee.


  • Brole before i used it.
    by Steph0609

    on January 8, 2019

    It was broke when i opened the box. And now reading the reviews, about terrible tasting coffee, im not sure if i even want to attempt getting a replacement :(

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • Horrible
    by Bumper_7

    on July 28, 2018

    I don't know if most ppl that are thinking of buying this machine ever had a real espresso before. If you had then don't buy this machine.it pretty much is a glorified coffee maker that uses espresso grounds.

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • Love this
    by Greytmom

    on May 12, 2018

    I've only had this for a week now and so glad I treated myself. So nice to be able to make myself a cappuccino at home. Such a treat!

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • Coffee from my new machine tastes terrible!
    by Pamelaaaaaa

    on May 2, 2018

    I had this model espresso maker handed down to me a few years ago, and the coffee was great. Eventually, the carafe handle came off and the grounds holder cracked. So I decided to buy the same model this year since I had been very happy with the older one. However, now this model must be made with plastic parts inside and the coffee tastes absolutely terrible, toxic even! Very disappointed, its in my cupboard not being used. I guess I should have tried to figure this change out ahead of making my purchase, but I just thought the machine would produce the same great tasting coffee. I was wrong.

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • great for the price
    by PD12345

    on March 24, 2017

    This is our third purchase of the cofee maker, over probabbly 10 or more years, it gets used one or more times every day

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • Did not even last 2 years.
    by berngirl

    on December 26, 2016

    Even though this is a very cheap espresso maker, I expected it to last longer than it did. My Mr. Coffee lasted way longer. I use filtered water and even cleaned it regularly.

    Review originally posted on sunbeam.ca


  • Didn't even last 2 years.
    by

    from somewhere on December 26, 2016

    I don't expect appliances to last forever. But this one died shy of 2 years. My Mr. Coffee one that I had lasted for at least 5 years. Machine is easy to use.