Reviews

Toshiba 49" 1080p LED TV (49L420U) - Only at Best Buy


Sort

  • Great Value
    by

    from Campbellford, ON on October 30, 2018

    Bought one in 2017 and bought another to go downstairs in 2018, based on our experience with the first. We use them primarily for watching TV through laptops and have the downstairs TV hooked up to Blue-Ray. Excellent picture for such a reasonably priced unit.,


  • Good value
    by

    from Toronto, ON on August 17, 2018

    Purchased the TV online on sale and I am happy with it. I found the preset picture and audio settings out of the box were not great but after about 10 minutes of playing around with adjustments I found the perfect settings for my setup. I’m really happy with it now. Delivered in less than 24 hours and I was able to physically set it up by myself (I weigh 95lbs and that was important to me!).i can’t speak to longevity of the product but honestly, it’s inexpensive comparatively so I’m being realistic. If I can get a few years, I’ll be more than happy.


  • Crappy TV with crappy components
    by

    from Atlanta GA on August 5, 2018

    Owned two of these. Both died in under two years. Can't find tech data or schematics for it either. Very disappointed with Toshiba. Just another overpriced piece of junk that's designed to cost you more money in the end. Stay away.


  • Excellant tv great picture
    by

    from Brantford, ON on June 9, 2018

    Purchased to replace a smaller 40inch, purchased mainly to watch DVD and blueray movies in our basement rec room. Perfect size for the room . Great tv for the price.


  • Great value, great picture and sound
    by

    from Montréal, QC on March 5, 2018

    I was surprised by all the negative reviews on this unit. We've had it for more than a year and it works great. It cost half the price of our 8 year old Panasonic HD TV (which is excellent), and it has a nicer picture. No issues, great picture and sound, especially for the price. I recommend it.


  • Poor quality TV, even worse service from Best Buy
    by

    from Winnipeg, MB on December 19, 2017

    TV failed after 5 months, turns on but does not have a picture. As a previous reviewer said, if you have any issues with your TV, be prepared to spend hours being bounced between Best Buy Canada, Toshiba Canada, Best Buy US and Toshiba US, none of which actually seem to want to let you speak to an actual person. Once you press the magical combination of numbers that summons a human, none of them know what they're talking about, leading to more bouncing around between different phone numbers. Save yourself the time and money, buy a decent TV made by a decent manufacturer, sold by a local TV shop that actually cares about their customers.


  • Not a Smart TV, fine... But I wasn't expecting a DUMB one.
    by

    from Medicine Hat, AB on December 2, 2017

    TVs have been able to play MP4 and DivX video for literally a decade... It doesn't need to be "Smart" to do this - just "normal". ZERO media capabilities apart from pictures... Having a USB input on this is just misleading. I'd return this without question.


  • Don't waste your money and time
    by

    from Thorold ON on November 26, 2017

    Set it up, worked fine. On the third day, we tried to change the channel but it seemed frozen. Turned it off, and could not get it back on with the remote. We unplugged it, waited the customary 3 minutes, then turned it back on using the manual power switch at the side of the tv. The screen was fuzzy, and a "Retail Lock" message was displayed. Since Toshiba does not offer customer support via phone, we had to research how to get it unlocked. Nothing, including the 1-2-3-4 unlock code, worked. Bought this as a Black Friday deal. We have only had it for 3 days and we will be taking it back tomorrow. Should have known that you get what you pay for. Do youself a favor and spend a few extra dollars and get a reliable tv (i.e anything but a Toshiba),


  • Not recommended
    by

    from Toronto, ON on October 28, 2017

    We bought a Toshiba 50L420U TV. It lasted for six months, and then showed overall green color with the video that require warranty repair. It was not easy to get warranty repair, as we did not buy Geek Squad extended warranty or protection plan. Took me 1.5 hours on the phone going back and forth between Best Buy U.S. and Best Buy Canada before I got warranty repair. All along, the TV also sometimes lose channels spontaneously and require re-scanning to regain the channels, and sometimes the audio and video go out-of-sync, requiring switching channel back and forth to make audio and video in-sync again. I bought a Sony TV before from Best Buy. Sony TV also didn't last long (~3 years) before it had problem with the screen being jumpy, but Sony TV showed better picture quality when it was working well, and didn't have problems listed in the second paragraph above. When I buy a TV again, I might go with Sony instead of Toshiba, even though Sony is more expensive.


  • Nice TV
    by

    from Kirkland Lake, ON on September 28, 2017

    Picture is very good. Sound quality is not bad either, although I'll be using a sound bar. Arrived within 24hrs!! Excellent job Bestbuy!