Reviews

TP-LINK Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini (HS105)


Sort

  • HS-105 - Local Only Mode
    by

    from Oakville, ON on March 19, 2019

    They work very well until they change themselves into local mode Once in local only mode the HS-105 can't be controlled remotely anymore. 4 of my 12 modules have changed to local mode on their own so far. There is no documentation on this mode and no advice from TP-Link on how to fix the problem. I have researched the problem and can see that others are having the same issue and that this problem is not limited to TP-Links HS-105. Unfortunately, the 4 units that have changed and can't be controlled are located a 4 hour round trip drive from my home, so this is really inconvenient and renders the product completely useless. If I can't find a solution to fix the problem I will need to replace them all with a more reliable solution. Very disappointing.


  • Time to replace mechanical timers
    by

    from Richmond Hill, ON on March 7, 2019

    Easy to use app, scheduled ON & OFF. Easy wifi set up and always stay connected


  • TP Link
    by

    from Surrey, BC on January 4, 2019

    These are great. Work well with my three Googles and really like that I could turn on/off the tree lights with it and have it come back to the original tree setting (it has 7) every time.


  • So far so good, liking the Kasa products...
    by

    from Grande Prairie, AB on December 5, 2018

    Left review under the 2-pack as well, since that is what we bought, but this 1-piece item is the same product. We bought the 2-pack, have one upstairs and one down, each on a lamp. It's nice as we can have a toggle on/off switch on our phones under the widgets area for each, or create a 'scene' in the app to say turn both of them off with one widget button press. They are also IFTTT compatible so there are other things you could do with them too. We also have a light switch (HS200) and love that as well to schedule porch lights to come on and off automatically.


  • Work Great after set up
    by

    from Chestermere, AB on December 2, 2018

    Once the wifi link was established after learning the KASA process ( a bit cryptic) , all the connections were easy to set up along with Google.


  • Complete Junk
    by

    from Chatham, ON on December 1, 2018

    What a useless, piece of junk. This thing took 10+ attempts to actually get setup. I got this to plug the Christmas tree lights into it, so we can voice control the tree lights. Turned the plug on via the app and then the lights (my tree has a switch built in as the lights stay on the tree), powered the plug off, then turned the plug back on, the tree didn't come on, I still have to press the switch on the Christmas tree light!. Not a practical device for anything that would benefit from a smart wall plug.


  • Good, but........
    by

    from Nanaimo, BC on July 2, 2018

    The plug sets up easily and the control app is simple and intuitive. It's also IFTTT compatible, which was a major selling point for me. In these respects it's all good, but one of it's "features" is misleading at best. It's claimed to be able to monitor energy use. All it seems to do is keep track of the time that the switch is on. What it does not do is monitor power utilisation (kWh), nor does it know if the thing(s) plugged into it are drawing power or not. In my particular case, this is useless. I wanted to track energy use by a dehumidifier in my garage. Since the switch itself is always on, the plug simply reports 24/7 activity while the dehumidifier switches on and off constantly. The same "constant use" is reported if the plug is switched on with nothing plugged into it. Technically true, since the plug itself is drawing power, but not at all what I'd expect from an energy monitoring feature.


  • Same Great performance and quality Like all other TP-Link Products
    by

    from Richmond, BC on April 6, 2018

    I use lots of TP-Link smart bulbs and wi-fi smart plugs. They never gave any issues or hiccups - everything works flawlessly. One reviewer here said they can't find an app for iPad - which is not true. I use both Android and iOS platforms and Kasa app is available on both. Highly recommended product.


  • Is this compatible with iPad?
    by

    from Montréal, QC on January 27, 2018

    If you intend to use it with an ipad, check first if there is an App. I looked over and over and did not find it. on the Apple App Store. With my Android phone I found the app on Google play store. I installed it and for the moment it works. Works at home through wifi or away with phone/internet


  • Fun gadget
    by

    from YomamaHouse, ON on December 29, 2017

    Going to "echo" other reviewers, PLEASE don't leave a negative review coz you not able to find stock. It happens, get over it. I wish I didn't have kids, watcha gonna do? Review the product. Initially set up was super easy, downloaded Kasa app and it worked immediately, however, linking the TP plug to Google mini was a nightmare, after doing some research, found this was a common issue, contacted Google support who confirmed it happens "sometimes". Did a factory reset on Google mini, reinstalled it on Google home and Abra Cadabra it works. In my situation, it was actually Google causing the glitch and not the TP link. I only gave 4 🌟 because I have 2 more plugs to set up in the future and hope I won't have to do the factory reset thing. I will highly recommend this product, if it's on sale.