Reviews

TP-LINK Smart Wi-Fi Plug Mini (HS105)


Sort

  • Works great. Happy with the item
    by

    from GTA on September 28, 2019

    I have it in spare Bedroom. The grand kids love it. They control the TV from the google mini.


  • Tp- link smart wifi plug mini
    by

    from Hamilton on September 7, 2019

    Works great and easy setup


  • Works as advertised
    by

    from British Columbia on September 7, 2019

    Works exactly as expected, setup was really easy and there's practically no delay between pressing the button in the app and the switch turning on. As usual with smart home products people have left negative reviews because they can't figure out how to set it up. If you don't know how to setup the device then contact TP-Link or get Geek Squad to come install it for you.


  • HS-105 - Local Only Mode
    by

    from Oakville, ON on March 19, 2019

    They work very well until they change themselves into local mode Once in local only mode the HS-105 can't be controlled remotely anymore. 4 of my 12 modules have changed to local mode on their own so far. There is no documentation on this mode and no advice from TP-Link on how to fix the problem. I have researched the problem and can see that others are having the same issue and that this problem is not limited to TP-Links HS-105. Unfortunately, the 4 units that have changed and can't be controlled are located a 4 hour round trip drive from my home, so this is really inconvenient and renders the product completely useless. If I can't find a solution to fix the problem I will need to replace them all with a more reliable solution. Very disappointing.


  • Time to replace mechanical timers
    by

    from Richmond Hill, ON on March 7, 2019

    Easy to use app, scheduled ON & OFF. Easy wifi set up and always stay connected


  • TP Link
    by

    from Surrey, BC on January 4, 2019

    These are great. Work well with my three Googles and really like that I could turn on/off the tree lights with it and have it come back to the original tree setting (it has 7) every time.


  • So far so good, liking the Kasa products...
    by

    from Grande Prairie, AB on December 5, 2018

    Left review under the 2-pack as well, since that is what we bought, but this 1-piece item is the same product. We bought the 2-pack, have one upstairs and one down, each on a lamp. It's nice as we can have a toggle on/off switch on our phones under the widgets area for each, or create a 'scene' in the app to say turn both of them off with one widget button press. They are also IFTTT compatible so there are other things you could do with them too. We also have a light switch (HS200) and love that as well to schedule porch lights to come on and off automatically.


  • Work Great after set up
    by

    from Chestermere, AB on December 2, 2018

    Once the wifi link was established after learning the KASA process ( a bit cryptic) , all the connections were easy to set up along with Google.


  • Complete Junk
    by

    from Chatham, ON on December 1, 2018

    What a useless, piece of junk. This thing took 10+ attempts to actually get setup. I got this to plug the Christmas tree lights into it, so we can voice control the tree lights. Turned the plug on via the app and then the lights (my tree has a switch built in as the lights stay on the tree), powered the plug off, then turned the plug back on, the tree didn't come on, I still have to press the switch on the Christmas tree light!. Not a practical device for anything that would benefit from a smart wall plug.


  • Good, but........
    by

    from Nanaimo, BC on July 2, 2018

    The plug sets up easily and the control app is simple and intuitive. It's also IFTTT compatible, which was a major selling point for me. In these respects it's all good, but one of it's "features" is misleading at best. It's claimed to be able to monitor energy use. All it seems to do is keep track of the time that the switch is on. What it does not do is monitor power utilisation (kWh), nor does it know if the thing(s) plugged into it are drawing power or not. In my particular case, this is useless. I wanted to track energy use by a dehumidifier in my garage. Since the switch itself is always on, the plug simply reports 24/7 activity while the dehumidifier switches on and off constantly. The same "constant use" is reported if the plug is switched on with nothing plugged into it. Technically true, since the plug itself is drawing power, but not at all what I'd expect from an energy monitoring feature.