Reviews

WD My Cloud Home Duo 8TB Personal Cloud


Sort

  • Good concept poor performance
    by clapper

    on December 29, 2019

    Love the cloud concept but can only move data over the network which was horribly slow. I could easily sync my phone but any data from computer was worthless to attempt to move. Tried to backup my hard drive and it never completed, projected to take more than 24 hours. If you could just use the usb 3.0 port for a direct connect to the computer for speedy transfer this would be a good device. Without that it's useless. Had to return it.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Nice for backups and sharing but not for streaming
    by MarcusD

    on September 10, 2019

    I bought this with the intention of storing digital movie files (legally) and streaming them to Plex on the same home network. WD + Plex make it ridiculously easy to set this all up. However, despite some users saying that their WD NAS could keep up with streaming and transcoding, mine could not. I tried a few settings and nothing worked; it took too long to load up the movie and start playing it. I WOULD NOT recommend this as a media server. I WOULD definitely recommend this for storage outside of media streaming. Set up is super nice and easy. Cost per GB is good. Software, sharing, and the interface is user friendly.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Easy to follow directions and set up.
    by RetiringEngineer

    on March 9, 2019

    We have both Apple and PC equipment and it works with both. Our IPhones automatically backs up pictures taken and it looks like another drive on our HP laptops.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Great product
    by Amanda

    on February 28, 2019

    I bought this WD My Cloud Home Duo 8TB to have the option to store videos and pictures from my cell phone to prevent using apples icloud storage for privacy reasons and to prevent from paying apples monthly storage charge of $2.99 for 200GB or their $9.99 monthly storage charge for 2TB. ugh.. This is a great product. I bought the 8TB and use the 4TB function so the exact same data is mirrored on the other 4TB drive in case one drive crashes. I may never use the entire 4TBs but that's okay as I'd rather have too much available storage space than not enough. The first concern I have is I don't believe that my pictures are automatically backing up (even though I have chosen an automatic backup) to the WD cloud unless I open the My Cloud app and begin a manual upload and then I notice pictures start moving on over. Another concern about this product is: while in the My Cloud app, I've notice that for some reason I am unable to play or it takes a while to load my videos that are stored on my WD My Cloud Home Duo from the My Cloud app..

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Excellent
    by TigerTitan

    on January 3, 2019

    Easy to set up and works great, love the dual drive

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • easy set up
    by ptljel

    on November 17, 2018

    very easy to set up. we back up our computer and all thress cell phones to this

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Could not get to work on network
    by BusinessMan

    on November 2, 2018

    Already have the single My Cloud and really like it. We bought this one for automatic mirror option but you cannot see the other drive to know it is backing it up. Also all the devices on our network would not recognize this device. Guess you cannot have two of them running at the same time.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Installs easily
    by George

    on October 5, 2018

    The unit work well, however I have a problem connecting from some computers on my network.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Just shy of perfect!
    by stevrod

    on September 9, 2018

    I bought this so I could stream movies and have piece of mind that they're backed up between the two drives in the device. The default is raid 1 (mirrored) so I didn't need to configure it for that. I wouldn't want to go through the process of ripping my Blu-Ray collection again. You can set it up to use the full 8TB, but then if a drive goes bad all of it goes bad. The device itself cannot really do the streaming for you so you'll want to map the drive on your computer and then use the PLEX server software. It'll work perfectly then. If I had to give a downside is that you'll only really get 3.5TB useable instead of something a lot closer to 4TB as was expected. I knew they'd be overhead, but that still takes away about 200-300GB of space that I cannot account for and haven't tried to figure out. Not exactly sure what the space is being used for. Surely the raid software doesn't take nearly that much space and the device itself doesn't provide a whole lot of software to write home about. It's rather minimal, though that's fine. Just doesn't compute as to where the space went. Just remember not to buy this thinking it'll work like an external hard-drive. That's not at all what its for.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com


  • Love it!
    by MommaH

    on April 11, 2018

    I’m not sure how I ever got along without this device! I’m a photographer, and need to be able to access my images across multiple devices, and this allows me to do just that! All the while keeping everything backed up on the second drive. (Mirror mode) I’ve been using the my cloud home duo for a little over 6 months now, and I couldn’t recommend it enough!

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com