Reviews

WeTek Hub Android Streaming Media Player with Remote


Sort

  • Inferior Product
    by

    from Ontario on January 29, 2020

    Bought on sale and returned it after 3 days. 3 full days of frustration. Netflix, never could get it to work, tried all the Netflix Apps. You-tube, works for about 30 seconds then freezes. Local media on NAS worked but very cumbersome. It did pair up nicely to my blue-toothed Headphones, hence the 1 star. Not much better than a paper weight, don't waste your money or time on this product. Oh ya, the remote sucks too.


  • Not good as I thought
    by

    from Canada on January 28, 2020

    I had over the last few years, a different type of android box. I would say in terms of product quality, this is the best one, as far as the remote control and the quality of the hardware. However, the software is not easy to deal with, and after a few weeks, I had already to reset my box which for me demonstrates something was not working properly. Frozen screens, the program was not responding. For a product that cost more than an average box on Amazon, I was expecting much more.


  • Bad Bad Media Player
    by

    from Oakville, Ontario, Canada on November 11, 2019

    No instructions. Too slow. Bad software. Unusable.


  • Very nice 5 Stars unit working with no problems
    by

    from Coquitlam, BC on February 18, 2019

    This is a nice little box to add to my unsmart tv. I am enjoying it so far. The remote works great for me. I was surprised when I hung the box on the back of my tv without the included IR remote cable and it's finding the remote signal without any problems. The OS runs smooth and fast. No lag at all. I hooked it up to an external Dell DVD rom player with the USB port and put a DVD movie in and again it has no lag whatsoever. The picture quality is awesome and the sound is amazing as well, especially hooked up to my bluetooth headphones. The bluetooth feature was a must for me..I did download the LibreElec OS and put it on an Sd card,so now I can boot to that OS as well if I want to. But I find there is no need as the OS it comes with works just fine and very simple to use. All in all. I'm really having no problems with this unit. I've tried other Android streamers and this one in my opinion is the best. Oh, and my movies play off a flash drive just fine.


  • Déception....déception
    by

    from Mirabel, QC on November 14, 2018

    Netflix doit être réinstallé quotidiennement, l'OS persiste à faire des mises à jours avec une ancienne version! Les vidéos gèlent dans les browsers sauf si on choisit le mode PC, qu'il faut refaire à chaque utilisation. Je vais voir pour LibreElec tel que suggéré dans les commentaires. Suggestion: achetez autre chose. Et...La télécommande est de la daube totale. J'utilise une souris sans-fil, sinon c'est pratiquement impossible de ne pas perdre patience.


  • cheap
    by

    from Waterloo, ON on August 13, 2018

    slow slow slow loop loop loop


  • pretty bad
    by

    from Kitchener, ON on April 14, 2018

    slow slow slow, cheap remote, horrid to setup and if by chance you do, great, wait till the following day when it out of the blue decides to not load up and responed and not play, just goes into a loop mode, I recommend nvida shield, pay a bit more and be happy.


  • Stock OS just OK - reflash to LibreElec
    by

    from Edmonton, AB on January 10, 2018

    The stock operating system is OK - nothing really earth shattering. Take the unit and install LibreElec and you have an excellent home media player (LibreElec is an operating system that has just of an operating system to run KODI). The remote is a bit weaker than the Wetek Play 2 (same chipset, ATSC tuners). For me the remote is much stronger and has more options on the Wetek Play 2 (I have both units) 4K at 60Hz with HEVC media (x265) and does DTS-HD / Dolby-TrueHD / Dolby Atmos pass through flawlessly (with LibreElec)


  • Trash
    by

    from Toronto, ON on December 23, 2017

    Where to begin... The two good point are the size of the unit. its small. And it was pretty easy to do the initial set up (ie selecting language and connecting to the internet) Aside from that not much else is good . The remote is extremely unresponsive and paired with the horrible UI (user interface) make trying to navigate extremely difficult. But wait you can set the remote to act as a mouse... No.. No you certainly cant. again its unresponsive and more frustration that needed. Setting up Kodi was an exercise in futility partially due to the remote being junk. i.e. you would enter into a menu option and never be able to back out. And the difficulty in trying to set it up to connect to my home network to stream media from my system. Basically after an hour or frustration, searching youtube and other resources I was forced to give up (or there would have been a possibility that a remote sized hole would be in my tv screen). and there was pretty much no support form the company. Basically pass on this product.. I had a WDTV before and that was challenging to use at times but this is a whole new level of bad.


  • Very slow!!
    by

    from MontrĂŠal, QC on November 21, 2017

    Very slow it crashes it lags dont get it not recommended