How It Works

Bring your previously played games to the Customer Service desk at any participating Best Buy location. The blue shirts will let you know the value of your games at the Trade-in Station. Receive the trade-in amount in the form of a Best Buy store gift card and use your store credit to purchase anything in the store.*

Instant trade-in available on over 2,500+ current game titles.

You can also purchase popular Previously Played titles for less than the cost of a new version of the game. Previously Played games are 100% guaranteed to work and backed by Best Buy's 30 Day Return Policy.

*Trade-in values change regularly. Trade-in must be in working condition and include boxes. No duplicate titles accepted. No dealers please. See in-store for details. Trade-in program may not be available in all stores.

FAQs

Are all Best Buy stores offering previously played games for trade-in and sale?

Presently, Best Buy offers our trade-in gaming program in most store locations. View applicable stores in the "Participating Stores" tab. We will continue to add trade-in gaming to other stores as we obtain licenses. Check back often for updates!

What type of previously played games can be traded in at Best Buy?

Video games from the following consoles are valid for sale or trade-in: Nintendo DS & DSi, Nintendo Wii, PlayStation 3, Playstation 4, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360, Xbox One. Please note acceptance of game specific titles is subject to change based on inventory.

Can you trade in previously played games not purchased at Best Buy?

We accept games whether purchased at Best Buy or at another retailer.

What type of warranty comes with a purchased previously played game?

Best Buy provides a 30-day guarantee on previously played games. Customers can be assured that all previously played games are inspected and re-packaged for customers. If a problem arises, Best Buy will exchange it for the same previously played game or provide an in-store credit.

Is there an expiry date on the store credit?

When customers trade in previously played games they receive a Best Buy "store credit" card which does not have an expiry date and is valid on purchases of any product or service at Best Buy or on BestBuy.ca.*

Is there a limit with how many games can be brought in for trade-in?

Customers can trade in an unlimited number of games per day with the exception of a 1 game maximum per title (same game), per day. Games must be in good, re-playable condition and come with the original case. ID must be presented as required by law.

Can previously played games be purchased online?

No, we do not currently sell previously played games online.

How is the value of previously played game trade-ins assessed?

The trade-in value of the previously played games is determined by our National Inventory Control System. To confirm what the current value is for your trade-in, please go to the customer service desk of participating stores.

How is the sales price of a previously played game trade determined?

It is system priced by our National Inventory Control System. Customers are assured that our previously played games are sold in good condition and are guaranteed to be priced lower than a new purchase price.

Best Buy Previously Played Games Guarantee

There's a 30-day guarantee on all Previously Played games. Previously played games are inspected quality assurance. If there's a problem, we'll exchange it for the same game or provide an in-store credit. See an employee in-store for details.

* Trade-in values change regularly. Trade-in must be in working condition and include boxes. No duplicate titles accepted. No dealers please. See in-store for details. Trade-in program may not be available in all stores.

How to trade-in your used cell phone

Estimate your device’s value

Click here to get an estimate on your device

If your device does not have a value, Best Buy Canada will still offer you $50 off the price when you activate a new device on a select 2-year plan

Back up your device

Please ensure to back up all personal information like contacts, pictures, videos, music, calendars, and notes before you proceed to the next step

Factory reset your device

Complete a Factory Reset on your device to ensure that all personal information has been deleted prior to visiting the store

Apple iPhone

  1. Open your device’s Settings app
  2. Select “General”
  3. Scroll down and select “Reset”
  4. Select “Erase All Content and Settings”
  5. Enter passcode
  6. Select “Erase iPhone” to confirm

Android Phones

  1. Open your device’s Settings app
  2. Select “Google Settings”
  3. Select “Security”
  4. Select “Android Device Manager"
  5. Tap on “Allow remote lock and erase” slider to switch off

Remove external memory cards

Remove any external memory cards (e.g. SD cards) from your device

Visit a Participating Best Buy store

Here are the participating Best Buy stores that accept trade-in devices*

Saskatchewan

Nova Scotia

*In-store only. Due to municipal by-laws, trade-in is not currently available in: Surrey & Kelowna (BC), Winnipeg (MB), Sudbury, Woodbridge, Richmond Hill (ON) Granby & Rosemere (QC). Trade-in hours may vary from store hours.

Trade-in your device for an in-store gift card

See a Blue Shirt to help you with your trade-in and redeem gift cards to use toward the purchase of your new phone

Frequently Asked Questions about Trade-In

What is the Best Buy Canada Trade-in Program?

Best Buy Canada's Trade-In Program offers you a convenient way to bring us your gently used electronics to trade for a Best Buy Canada gift card. Due to legal restrictions, you must be at least 19 years old to take advantage of the program.

What can I Trade-In?

We're constantly evaluating categories where we can offer consumers a great value for electronics they no longer use. At this time, we are only able to accept iPod and MP3s, tablets, cell phones, laptops, Macbook, games and gaming consoles.

How much do I get for my stuff?

The age, condition and the original accessories included will affect the Trade-In value of your items. Best Buy Canada uses our proprietary technology to evaluate your device and provide a competitive offer based on the aforementioned factors.

What do I need to include with my product?

Please include any manuals, accessories and packaging that came with the product. Missing manuals and accessories may impact the Trade-In value offered. Please also note that to accept your item for your Trade-In, it must have a visible serial number. The serial number should not be removed, scratched off or manipulated in any way. You are responsible for removing any data from your device before providing the product to us. Under no circumstances shall Best Buy Canada be liable for any loss of any data or media from products delivered to us for Trade-In or recycling.

What is required to complete a Trade-In transaction in store?

Due to legal restrictions, you must be at least 19 years old and have a government issued photo ID. Furthermore, each store depending on its respective jurisdictional by-laws may be required to record additional information.

What happens to the item I Trade-In?

Your device will be:

  • Sold by Best Buy Canada Secondary Markets channels or other Best Buy Canada resale outlets (resale)
  • Sent to the Service Centers (for parts and refurbished devices sold via the Best Buy Canada outlets online)
  • Responsibly disposed of via our Recycling Program

Do I need to bring the receipt for the item I want to trade in?

No, having a receipt will not make a difference in the Trade-In transaction. Trade-In items may have been purchased from retailers other than Best Buy Canada.

How do you assess the condition of my product?

No, having a receipt will not make a difference in the Trade-In transaction. Trade-In items may have been purchased from retailers other than Best Buy Canada.

  • GOOD - The device is fully functional with no technical problems and is in like new condition.
  • FAIR - The device is fully functional with no technical problems, and only a few scratches due to normal use. If the device has a screen, there are no scratches or burned out pixels.
  • POOR - The device has one or more of these issues: Minor functional damage or product failure that can be easily repaired; and more than normal visible wear and tear, including cracks, dents, scratches, dirt, user-added stickers and other signs of use.
  • NOT WORKING - The device has one or more of these issues: It has functional damage or product failure that affects its ability to perform its function or impairs its use and cannot be easily repaired; it has water damage or damage from other fluids. Items falling in this condition will have NO Trade-In value and will not qualify for this program (unless advertised under specific promotions).

Why do some Best Buy stores allow me to Trade in my Used Games but not other Trade In product?

At this time internal limitations restrict our ability to accept product other than Used Games in a small group of stores.

What type of previously played games can be traded at Best Buy?

Video games from the following consoles are valid for trade-in: Nintendo DS and DSi, Nintendo Wii, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. Please note that acceptance of specific games is subject to change based on inventory.


Best Buy Gift Card
Best Buy Gift Cards
Best Buy Credit Card
Best Buy Credit Cards
Best Buy Reward Zone
Best Buy Reward Zone

Comment cela fonctionne

Apportez vos jeux d'occasion au comptoir du Service à la clientèle dans tout magasin Best Buy participant. Les Polos bleus vous diront la valeur de vos jeux à la station d’échange. Vous recevrez le montant de l’échange sous la forme d’une carte-cadeau dans le magasin Best Buy et utilisez votre crédit en magasin pour acheter tout ce que vous désirez.*

Échange instantané disponible sur plus de 2,500 titres de jeux.

Vous pouvez aussi acheter des titres populaires d'occasion pour un coût inférieur que la nouvelle version du jeu. Les jeux d'occasion sont garantis de fonctionner à 100 % et couverts par la politique de retour de 30 jours de Best Buy.

* Les valeurs d’échange changent régulièrement. Tous les échanges doivent être en état de bon fonctionnement avec son boîtier original. Aucune copie de titres ne sera acceptée.

FAQs

Est-ce que tous les magasins Best Buy proposent notre programme d’échange et de vente de jeux d'occasion?

Actuellement, Best Buy offre notre programme d’échange de jeux dans la plupart des magasins. Voir les magasins participants dans l’onglet « Magasins participants ». Nous continuerons à ajouter l’échange de jeux pendant que nous obtenons des licences. Vérifiez souvent pour les nouvelles!

Quel type de jeux d'occasion peuvent être échangés chez Best Buy?

Les jeux vidéo des consoles suivantes sont valides pour la vente ou l’échange : Nintendo DS et DSi, Nintendo Wii, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360, Xbox One. Veuillez noter que l’acceptation de titres de jeux spécifiques est sujet au changement basé sur l’inventaire.

Pouvez-vous échanger des jeux d'occasion qui n’ont pas été achetés chez Best Buy?

Nous acceptons les jeux qu’ils aient été achetés chez Best Buy ou chez un autre détaillant.

Quel type de garantie vient avec l’achat d’un jeu d'occasion?

Best Buy fournit une garantie de 30 jours sur les jeux d'occasion. Les clients sont assurés que tous les jeux d'occasion sont inspectés et reconditionnés pour les clients. Si un problème survient, Best Buy échangera le jeu pour un jeu d'occasion similaire ou fournira un crédit en magasin.

Y a-t-il une date d’expiration sur le crédit en magasin?

Lorsque les clients échangent des jeux d'occasion, ils reçoivent un « crédit en magasin » de Best Buy qui n’a pas de date d’expiration et qui est valide sur les achats de tout produit ou service chez Best Buy ou sur BestBuy.ca.*

Y a-t-il une limite sur le nombre de jeux qui peuvent être apportés pour échange?

Les clients peuvent échanger sans limite le nombre de jeux par jour sauf avec l’exception d’un jeu maximum par titre (même jeu) par jour. Les jeux doivent être en bonne condition, en état de marche et venir avec le boîtier original. Une pièce d’identité doit être présentée comme la loi l’exige.

Est-ce que les jeux d'occasion joués peuvent être achetés en ligne?

Non, actuellement nous ne vendons pas de jeux d'occasion.

Comment la valeur d’un jeu d'occasion est estimée?

La valeur d’échange des jeux d'occasion est determinée par notre système de contrôle de l’inventaire national. Pour confirmer quelle valeur possède votre échange, veuillez vous adresser au comptoir du service à la clientèle des magasins participants.

Comment le prix de vente d’un jeu d'occasion est-il determiné?

Il est determiné par le système de prix de notre système de contrôle de l’inventaire national. Les clients sont assurés que nos jeux d'occasion sont vendus en bonne condition et sont garantis d’être vendus à un prix plus bas qu’un prix d’un nouvel achat.

Garantie des jeux d'occasion de Best Buy

Il y a une garantie de 30 jours sur tous les jeux d'occasion. Les jeux d'occasion sont inspectés par l’assurance qualité. Si un problème survient, nous l’échangerons pour un jeu similaire ou nous fournirons un crédit en magasin. Consultez un employé en magasin pour les détails.

* - Les valeurs d’échange changent régulièrement. Tous les échanges doivent être en état de bon fonctionnement avec son boîtier original. Aucune copie de titres ne sera acceptée. Un crédit en magasin peut uniquement être utilisé en vue de l’achat de jeux vidéo dans les magasins Best Buy de Calgary.

Magasins participants

Saskatchewan

Nouvelle-Écosse

* - Les valeurs d’échange changent régulièrement. Tous les échanges doivent être en état de bon fonctionnement avec son boîtier original. Aucune copie de titres ne sera acceptée. Un crédit en magasin peut uniquement être utilisé en vue de l’achat de jeux vidéo dans les magasins Best Buy de Calgary.

Comment échanger votre téléphone cellulaire usagé

Estimez la valeur de votre appareil

Cliquez ici pour obtenir une estimation de la valeur d’échange de votre appareil.

Si la valeur associée à votre appareil est nulle, Best Buy Canada vous offrira tout de même un rabais de 50 $ lors de la mise en service d’un nouvel appareil avec forfait sélectionné sur entente de deux ans.

Sauvegardez les données de votre appareil

Assurez-vous de sauvegarder tous vos renseignements personnels comme vos contacts, vos photos, vos vidéos, votre musique, vos événements de calendrier et vos notes avant de passer à la prochaine étape.

Réinitialisez votre appareil aux valeurs d’usine

Réinitialisez votre appareil aux valeurs d’usine pour vous assurer que tous vos renseignements personnels ont été supprimés de votre appareil avant de vous rendre en magasin.

iPhone d’Apple

  1. Ouvrez l’application Réglages de votre appareil.
  2. Sélectionnez « Général ».
  3. Déroulez le menu et sélectionnez « Réinitialiser ».
  4. Choisissez « Effacer contenu et réglages ».
  5. Entrez votre mot de passe.
  6. Sélectionnez « Effacer iPhone » pour confirmer.

Téléphones Android

  1. Ouvrez les paramètres de votre appareil.
  2. Sélectionnez « Google ».
  3. Sélectionnez « Sécurité ».
  4. Sélectionnez « Gestionnaire d’appareils Android ».
  5. Appuyez sur « Autoriser le verrouillage et l’effacement des données à distance ».

Retirez les cartes mémoire externes

Retirez toute carte mémoire externe (p. ex., carte SD) de votre appareil.

Rendez-vous dans un magasin Best Buy participant

Voici les magasins Best Buy qui acceptent l’échange d’appareils*

Saskatchewan

Nova Scotia

*En magasin seulement. En raison de règlements municipaux, les échanges ne sont actuellement pas disponibles à : Surrey et Kelowna (C.-B.), Winnipeg (Man.), Sudbury, Woodbridge et Richmond Hill (Ont.), Granby et Rosemère (Qc). L’horaire du programme d’échange peut être différent de l’horaire des magasins.

Échangez votre appareil contre une carte-cadeau en magasin

Adressez-vous à un chandail bleu pour obtenir de l’aide avec votre échange et pour échanger votre carte-cadeau contre un rabais à l’achat d’un nouveau téléphone.

Foire aux questions sur les échanges

Qu’est-ce que le Programme échange de Best Buy Canada?

Le Programme échange de Best Buy Canada vous offre une façon pratique et avantageuse de vous débarasser de vos appareils électroniques légèrement usagés. Vous n’avez qu’à les échanger en magasin contre une carte-cadeau Best Buy. En raison des restrictions légales, vous devez être âgé d’au moins 19 ans pour pouvoir profiter de ce programme.

Qu’est-ce que je peux échanger?

Nous évaluons constamment les catégories pour lesquelles nous pouvons offrir aux clients une excellente valeur en échange de leurs appareils électroniques. Actuellement, nous ne pouvons accepter que les iPod et les MP3, les tablettes, les téléphones cellulaires, les portables, les jeux usagés et les consoles de jeu.

Quel montant est-ce que je reçois pour mes appareils?

L’année du modèle, l’état et les accessoires originaux inclus détermineront la valeur d’échange de vos articles. Best Buy Canada utilise sa technologie exclusive pour évaluer vos appareils et vous faire une offre avantageuse basée sur les facteurs mentionnés précédemment.

Que dois-je inclure avec mon article?

Veuillez inclure tout manuel, accessoire ou emballage associé au produit. Des manuels ou des accessoires manquants pourraient diminuer la valeur d’échange offerte. Veuillez prendre note que le numéro de série de votre article doit être visible pour que l’échange ait lieu. Il ne doit pas être enlevé, égratigné ou modifié de quelque façon. Vous êtes responsable de supprimer toute donnée de votre appareil avant de nous le confier. Best Buy Canada ne sera en aucun cas tenu responsable de toute perte de données ou de support de stockage venant d’un article nous ayant été confié pour échange ou recyclage.

Est-ce qu'il y a des exigences à respecter pour conclure une transaction d’échange en magasin?

En raison des restrictions légales, vous devez être âgé d’au moins 19 ans et avoir une pièce d’identité gouvernementale avec photo. De plus chaque magasin, selon les règlements propres à sa juridiction, pourrait devoir recueillir des renseignements additionnels.

Que faites-vous des articles échangés?

Les articles échangés seront :

  • Vendus sur les marchés secondaires de Best Buy Canada ou par d’autres points de revente de Best Buy Canada (revente)
  • Envoyés aux centres de service (pour les pièces et les appareils reconditionnés vendus en ligne par l’intermédiaire des points de vente de Best Buy Canada)
  • Recyclés de manière responsable selon les normes de notreprogramme

Est-ce que je dois apporter le reçu de l’article que je veux échanger?

Non, avoir le reçu ne changera rien à l’échange. Les articles échangés ne doivent pas nécessairement avoir été achetés chez Best Buy Canada.

Comment évaluez-vous l’état des articles?

Nos employés effectuent une vérification de l’état de l’appareil à l’aide de notre logiciel exclusif. Cet outil nous permet de mener une évaluation juste basée sur des mesures uniformisées pour chaque produit admissible à l’échange. Les appareils se verront attribuer un des quatre classements suivants, selon lequel nous déterminerons la valeur d’échange :

  • BON - L’appareil est complètement fonctionnel, sans problème technique et est comme neuf
  • PASSABLE - L’appareil est complètement fonctionnel, sans problème technique et présente seulement quelques égratignures dues à l’usage normal. Si l’appareil est muni d’un écran, il n’y a pas d’égratignures ou de pixels manquants.
  • FAIBLE - L’appareil présente un ou plusieurs de ces problèmes : Dommage fonctionnel mineur ou défaillance du produit pouvant facilement être réparé. Des dommages visibles imputables à une usure plus que normale, ce qui comprend les craques, les entailles, les égratignures, la saleté, les autocollants ajoutés et autres signes d’usure..
  • NON FONCTIONNEL - L’appareil présente un ou plusieurs de ces problèmes : Dommage fonctionnel ou défaillance du produit qui l’empêche de remplir ses fonctions ou qui affecte son utilisation et qui est difficile à réparer. Dommage causé par l’eau ou par d’autres fluides. Les articles ainsi classés n’auront AUCUNE valeur d’échange et ne seront pas admissibles pour ce programme (à moins d’être visés par une promotion spécifique).

Pourquoi certains magasins Best Buy me permettent-ils d’échanger mes jeux usagés mais pas d’autres produits?

À l’heure actuelle, des restrictions internes en vigueur dans un petit nombre de magasins nous empêchent d’accepter d’autres produits que les jeux usagés.

Quels types de jeux usagés peut-on échanger chez Best Buy?

Les jeux vidéo pour les consoles suivantes sont admissibles au Programme échange : Nintendo DS et DSi, Nintendo Wii, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360 et Xbox One. Veuillez noter que l'acceptation de jeux spécifiques peut changer en fonction de la disponibilité des stocks.