We’re here to get you what you need.
Shop online for pickup or delivery, or visit a store for a safe shopping and service experience.Learn more

Customer Reviews

Breville Dose Control Burr Coffee Grinder - Silver

Rating Breakdown

5

13

4

4

3

6

2

2

1

3

Reviewer Recommendation

50%

Of the 6 reviewers who responded, 3 would recommend this product.

Sort

  • Worked well for a few years
    Reviewed by A Good Samaritan - December 22, 2020

    I bought this grinder in Jan '18. Everything was working well. However, a year and a half ago the hopper mechanism that holds it in place broke. A tiny piece of plastic broke off and was never seen again. I believe it was ground up and then espressoed. Fast-forward to earlier this week, now Dec '20, it is grinding to a halt. I have cleaned the machine thoroughly for the years that it was in service. As other have noted, the impeller has worn out and it will no longer push the fine grinds out. I'm unsure of what to do at this point as the warranty has expired and I'm not sure that investing anymore time or money into it is worth the effort.

    Review originally posted on breville.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

  • Will clog in no time
    Reviewed by  - July 20, 2017

    Too bad. Very nice looking product, that gets the job done, easy to use, easy to clean. Looks like the perfect grinder to buy... until you reach approx 50 pounds of coffee ground, which took for me about 1.5 years. The plastic impeller that distributes the coffee in the portafilter gets like sandblasted by the coffee and becomes unable to fulfill his task, which at the end clogs the grinder. changing that week part by something more solid and I would give a 5 star. I guess everybody that puts a 5 star right now did not have the grinder for a over a year.

    Helpful (2)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • great grinder
    Reviewed by  - December 21, 2016

    Love this grinder! It is my second burr grinder. I upgraded from Krupps. I have a Breville espresso machine and an aeropress and like to grind fresh coffee every time. It took me a few days to experiment and figure out the right grind setting and dose for each. I love how it times the dose and I do not need to stand by to turn it off. Nice feature to have. The booklet provides excellent recommendations. Now It is so easy to switch between 2 settings and coffee turns out excellent. I even get crema in aero press! I grind right into portafilter or into aeropress. No mess, no extra dishes. Great job, Breville!

    Helpful (0)

    Not helpful (0)

    Report

  • Breville grinder & its replacement
    Verified BuyerReviewed by A.L.S. Hfx - December 21, 2020

    i got one of these grinders as a Christmas present in 2018. When it stopped working as it should in Fall 2020, after the warranty had expired, I contacted Breville for trouble-shooting help. When the things they suggested didn't solve the problem, they offered to replace it, even though it was no longer under warranty. This was very good customer service. Received the new one, sent back the old one. So far so good.Takes a bit of experimenting to get the dose time and grind just right, but once you do, this will reliably produce good espresso. Hope the new machine lasts more than a year and a half.

    Review originally posted on breville.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Impeller issue - grinder stops working after 1 year
    Reviewed by Alan - January 1, 2020

    Bought my BCG600 Dose Control Pro just over a year ago, and was using it daily for espresso grind till recently when it keeps stopping. Found out in YouTube that it's a common problem with Breville grinders of different models. There's a plastic part called impeller that pushes ground coffee powder out. When that plastic part gets worn off, the powder can't be pushed out and the grinder gets stuck. Because of one small weak part, one Achilles tendon, the whole machine can't work. There's no point using stainless steel in the outside when you can't improve this weakness.

    Review originally posted on breville.com


  • Really good, but must be calibrated for each different coffee brand and roast.
    Reviewed by Graham L. - July 14, 2020

    This is a good home grinder. The issues than can arise come from the moisture/oil content of the different brands and torrefaction levels of the coffee you put through. If the coffee beans have a lovely oily sheen... beware! The grinder can clog up and while you can take it apart to clean, it takes several grinds to clear out the grounds. Even if your coffee is dry, each roast will mean the grind and the time delay will vary. Again it takes a few grinds to get it right. I have used Lavazza, but different levels of torrefaction require different coarseness and time settings. Finally, of course we now know (thanks to the Harvard math faculty) that a smaller, coarser dose gives a better tasting coffee... but at least you can adjust all those parameters with this excellent grinder. Thank you Breville!

    Review originally posted on breville.com


  • Impeller issue fixed now metal but burrs aren't level
    Reviewed by Devin - November 15, 2020

    I bought this grinder yesterday and to my surprise the issue people complain about the plastic feeder has been changed to metal so no more problem. Instead though what I found was that even with inside burr adjustment set to factory #6 that the burrs started grinding each other at 13 on the fine side. Any finer and the burrs actually started slowing down the machine as they grind into each other. This is with no coffee by the way so not the beans slowing it down. When I pulled out the inside burr I notice that about 1/4 of the fine section of the burr has marks where they are touching each other. But the rest does not. This means that not only are the burrs touching but also are not cut evenly. Unfortunately I will have to return tomorrow. So hard to find a reasonable grinder that will grind a decent shot of espresso.

    Review originally posted on breville.com

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

  • Owned for 2 plus years, won't grind in fine settings
    Reviewed by Steve L. - September 12, 2020

    For the first 1+years the grinder worked well. Now it will not grind at the finer settings. I use the drip grind settings between 35-45. The beans seem to jump around in the hopper but will not grind. If I rotate the grinder settings to coarse while it is in use the coffee then grinds but the grind itself now is mixed with fine and coarse coffee. I have cleaned the machine, removed and cleaned and adjusted the conical burr with little success.

    Review originally posted on breville.com


  • Good grinder, even for a Miss Silvia, but impeller worns too quick
    Reviewed by simongb - October 1, 2020

    I love my grinder. It's not perfect but I think it makes a really good job for the price. But I've started having trouble after about 15 months of using it 3 times a day for espresso. The grinder started shutting down (with blinking light). After some research, I found that it was because the impeller was worn and didn't eject all the coffee. I'm hoping for metal replacement parts since the plastic one wears so quickly...

    Review originally posted on breville.com


  • BEWARE!!!
    Reviewed by  - July 14, 2016

    BEWARE OF FALSE PRESENTATION!!! This coffee grinder is actually made in China and not Canada as stated in the spec's

    Helpful (2)

    Not helpful (5)

    Report