We’re here to get you what you need.
Shop online for pickup or delivery, or visit a store for a safe shopping and service experience.Learn more

Customer Reviews

Seagate 1TB Storage Expansion Card for Xbox Series X and Series S

Rating Breakdown

5

457

4

113

3

21

2

1

1

7

Reviewer Recommendation

96%

Of the 599 reviewers who responded, 576 would recommend this product.

Key Considerations

Averages based on how reviewers feel this product performs.

Quality:
Value:
Ease of Use:

Sort

  • Wait for prices to come down
    Reviewed by  - September 25, 2020

    This is really expensive for what it is, but if you really don't want to take the 15min's required to move games to and from the internal SSD to a standard external USB drive then by all means buy it now. In my experience gaming generally comes in waves, and at any given time I might have 5 games I touch, once one gets finished or done with for awhile I move it to USB storage, and move something else onto the SSD. I can't think of too many reasons I need 20 games available to play right now at a moments notice, but everyone's different.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (45)

    Not helpful (26)

    Report

  • Fastest storage for Xbox Series
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Arimil - November 20, 2020

    Amazing storage device for the new line of Xbox consoles. Keep on mind that this price is comparible to PCIE Gen 4 PC SSDs. What you are getting with PCIE Gen 4 is a super fast data transfer storage device. This allows the Xbox to do handle quick resume and reduce in game load times drastically. The slight price increase (compared to PC standard components) is due to the proprietary design Microsoft chose for this. The benefit of this design is an extreme ease of installation and portability for the drive itself. Be aware that it may take one or two console restarts (wait at least 30 seconds to a minute) for the drive to be detected for the first time.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Expensive but necessary
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Evan0527 - December 5, 2020

    Really wish these things weren't so expensive after dropping $499 for a console, but I guess that's where we are headed. PS5 has even less storage. This card has a little over 900 gigs and more than doubles the series x storage. From what I have read this is slightly slower than the internal ssd, but if you aren't testing it with a stop watch I highly doubt anyone would be able to tell. Pretty cool Microsoft made a port and you don't have to take apart the console. With how huge games are getting, I highly recommend you save up and get one of these. I highly doubt another option is going to surface until after Microsoft has solved the console shortage issue.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • THE BEST SOLUTION FOR EXPANDABLE SSD
    Reviewed by  - October 14, 2020

    It is a little pricey right now, but it is definitely the best solution out of the next gen consoles. Easy plug and play, automatically configured for Xbox storage. Do NOT have to worry about transferring to slower external drives. This, combined with the internal storage of the XSX, gives you a total of 1.7TB of SSD storage, which is pretty awesome. Basically, use external HDD/SSD for storing all your Xbox One, Xbox 360 and OG Xbox games, as you can run them off of the external platform, and for every game that is 'Optimized" for the Series S/X, or if the game is built only for Series S/X and PC, then use the internal + Expansion. Prices will come down eventually, and other 3rd parties will offer their own SSDs, with 2TB models coming as well.

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

    Helpful (10)

    Not helpful (7)

    Report

  • A Little Pricey, But a Perfect Expansion Card
    Verified BuyerReviewed by wampdog29 - December 11, 2020

    4 stars mainly for price, but at least the price isn't ONLY high because it's proprietary like the Xbox 360 add-on drives were. It's also high because it's a gen 4x2 NVMe drive. It's actually pretty well-priced when comparing to other NVMe drives. But, it could have probably hit that sub $200 price point. Getting that out of the way, this expansion card works just like the internal storage of the Xbox Series S/X and allows you to play next gen games from it. The Xbox console will make a separate install location when inserting this into it. Also, make sure the console is on when inserting the expansion card into the console. Includes a 3 year warranty, which is pretty awesome.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Fast, small and worth it
    Reviewed by psyclopps - December 28, 2020

    Hard to write a lengthy review on this one because it just works and works well. I'll discuss the obvious first... expensive but worth it. In short, you can load games that fully support Xbox Series X/S games on it or older games. Newer games that support Series X/S benefits require the use of a high speed drive so you can't put them on an old style hard drive, you have to use the internal drive or a PCI-E drive such as this expansion card. It plugs in easily, works almost immediately and all you need to do is go to the "manage" menu to transfer your games to it. You can also set it up as the default device. As big as games are getting these days, I highly recommend the added space.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • A must have!
    Reviewed by Ju5tscream - November 14, 2020

    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I’m constantly using all my storage space so having this Xbox Series X/S expansion card gives me some breathing room. It’s a 1TB expansion so I won’t have to worry about deleting games to download another when I have all my storage filled up...at least for now. It doesn’t take very long for the onboard hard drive storage to fill with games normally because they’re large so a 1TB expansion helps out. I definitely don’t like having to re-download a game after initially doing it so this card will be a life saver to me! The expansion card is small and sleek. I like that this plugs into the console and it’s out of the way. So easy! Very happy! A must have in my opinion. I can’t go without it now.

    Review originally posted on seagate.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Easy expansion
    Reviewed by Kbug - November 12, 2020

    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We always run out of storage space on our consoles so fast. We tend to download a lot of games from the online service and it can take up a lot of room. This was an incredibly easy way to add tons of storage. It is basically plug and play. My husband set it up and was already playing. He said there weren't any issues with it, it preformed jusr as it should. It doesn't take a lot of room, it's a small card. Much easier than bulky expansions that you have to find room for. Over all great product. My husband is happily downloading without worry of storage space and no issues with lag

    Review originally posted on seagate.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Fast and simple to use but a bit pricey
    Verified BuyerReviewed by HabaBone - November 22, 2020

    Great option to expand storage, but a tad pricey given it's a standard micro nvme drive from Seagate. I only paid $137 after applying $90 in gift cards so it didn't break the bank. If I didn't have gift cards I wouldn't have purchased this expanded storage for the price. The main reason why I don't think it's a great value, it cost as much as Samsung 980 pro and WD Black 850SN models which are twice as fast. This drive should be more less $170 tops. In terms of performance it's every bit as fast as my internal drive on my XSX, and it's simple to connect, just takes seconds and it's ready. Unlike Youtubers this card has never felt hot, neither has the XSX so that's plus knowing heat reduces electronic life span.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Very good, but pricey
    Verified BuyerReviewed by Greg - November 29, 2020

    Only 4 stars because of the cost. Otherwise a perfectly functioning drive. It’s incredibly simple. Open package, insert into back of Xbox series X That’s it, done. No configurations or settings. Turn on your console, it auto recognizes it and adjusts your storage percentage. Of note, you get 930Gb usable space on your 1Tb purchase. A terabyte is actually 1024Gb, so I’m not sure where/why the other 94Gb is lost, but that’s 10% less storage than advertised. And at 229$, which is almost half the console price, a bit high in my opinion. However, it works seamlessly and simply, so I’d still recommend this upgrade as it will make your experience better once your system storage fills up, which doesn’t take long at all.

    Review originally posted on bestbuy.com

    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.