FAQ About LEGO Dimensions

LEGO Dimensions uses magic to bring Toys to Life. At least that's the way it might seem if you’re as mystified by the whole thing as most parents are. Fret not, we’re here to help. Read on to get a sense of the who, what, where, when, and how of LEGO Dimensions.

What is LEGO Dimensions?

LEGO Dimensions consists of a central storyline, core video game, physical LEGO toys, a Toy Pad, and a Gateway. The physical LEGO toys can each be built in several different variations then placed on the Toy Pad, along with toy characters, where they're beamed into the on-screen video game action. The player can then use that newly built LEGO toy or character in the video game story missions.

How does LEGO Dimensions work?

Through the touch-and-tap magic of NFC (near field communication), each LEGO toy, character, and item that can be brought to life on screen features NFC technology, as does the Toy Pad. Different parts of the Toy Pad can be used to create different effects in the game. For example, if you place a character on the shrinking section of the Toy Pad that character will appear in the game shrunken in size.

Who are the playable characters in LEGO Dimensions?

This is where the real fun starts. LEGO Dimensions includes multiple LEGO franchises, including DC Super Heroes, Lord of the Rings, Back to the Future, Jurassic World, The Simpsons, Doctor Who, Ghostbusters, and the Wizard of Oz. Characters from all of these franchises will not only be available to bring to life on screen, they can be mixed and matched. That means you can create a team of Batman, Gandalf, and Marty McFly to save the day. It's your choice!

What platforms can I play LEGO Dimensions on?

LEGO Dimensions is available for all of the major consoles, including PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and Nintendo Wii U. Characters and items can be used across platforms, but video game discs will be platform specific.

How do I get started?

LEGO Dimensions Starter Packs for each console system include the video game, Toy Pad, bricks to build the Gateway (part of the Toy Pad), 3 toy figures, and a Batmobile toy. This gives you everything you need to begin your LEGO Dimensions adventure. Additional Fun Packs, Level Packs, and Team Packs can be used to add new characters, gadgets, vehicles, and story levels to your game.

Want more info about LEGO Dimensions? Check out some of our resources: