Disney Infinity

End of results

FAQ About Disney Infinity

What is Disney Infinity?

Disney Infinity is a "toys to life" gaming playset, based around an action-adventure video game, featuring collectible figures that sync with the game to unlock corresponding characters. There are 3 generations of the game released so far, available for Nintendo, PlayStation, and Xbox consoles, as well as PC and Mac platforms. There are also iOS and Android apps. You'll need a console, or computer, and compatible game to get started.

How do you use Disney Infinity?

The starter pack includes the game, an Infinity Base, several figures, and Play Set Pieces. These are placed on the Infinity Base, which syncs data via NFC technology. This allows you to play as each figure's character in the game, in the level or setting unlocked by the Play Set Piece. There are two different modes:

Play Set mode

A story-based campaign that uses a Play Set piece to unlock a universe or setting, and allows you to use figures from that universe to play as those characters in the game.

Toy Box mode

An open world arena that allows you to mix and match characters from different worlds, and to essentially create your own adventure. You can even play Toy Box mode on an iPad or Android tablet with a free app.

You can purchase additional characters, Play Sets, and Power Discs, which add new elements to the game, enhancing either the character or environment.

How many players does Disney Infinity support?

You can use two figures per base for simultaneous co-op play in Play Set mode. In Toy Box mode, you have the option of on-line co-op play with people from all over the world.

How many Disney Infinity characters are there?

As of the release of Disney Infinity 3.0 there are dozens of characters available over 3 different game generations. Some figures work with multiple games, others with only 1 generation of Disney Infinity. The official Disney Infinity website has a comprehensive list of compatibility.

What are the differences between each platform?

Though the game itself is console-specific, the figures, Play Set Pieces, and Power Discs are cross-compatible. So you may have the Disney Infinity for Wii video game, and a friend may have Disney Infinity for Xbox, but you can still use your figures to unlock characters to play in their game.

What are the main differences between Disney Infinity 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0?

The original Disney Infinity game (Disney Infinity 1.0 Edition) features characters and gameplay based on several Disney movies, including The Incredibles, Monsters University, Cars, The Lone Ranger, Toy Story, and Pirates of the Caribbean. Additional figures have also been released, based on a variety of Disney characters, which are playable in Toy Box mode.

Disney Infinity 2.0 Edition (Marvel Super Heroes) introduces gameplay and characters from The Avengers, Spider-Man, Guardians of the Galaxy, and includes additional Disney figures. If features a bigger Toy Box world with more Play Sets. The game is available for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, iOS, Android, and PlayStation Vita, in addition to the previous platforms.

Disney Infinity 3.0 Edition adds the Star Wars universe, with characters and Play Sets based on the beloved sci-fi franchise. 3.0 also introduces a Play Set based on the Disney Pixar movie Inside Out. New Disney and Marvel characters are also available, and new Play Sets are anticipated.

Want more info on Disney Infinity? Check out these helpful resources: